We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't want to leave”
other travellers have booked this property
Sunset from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunset from balcony
View of villa from Playa Penca Dining Area with custom carved table and chairs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Sunset from balcony
View of villa from Playa Penca
Dining Area with custom carved table and chairs
Granite countered kitchen and island
First level living room convertible to third bedroom . Curtains pulled for privacy .
Circular stairs from Master level to Living room
King size bed on Master Level
Double Talevera sinks in Master bath
Florentine tiled Master Shower
Master bath soaking tub
View from Master Bedroom
Guest bedroom first level
Outside Dining Area
Rattan palmed fans on all levels
Custom Carved Guanacaste wood doors
Costa Rican Rockers on balcony
Pool on walk out level
Poolside Outside dining area at night
Playa Penca
Guests catching tuna
Arenal Volcano
Hot Springs
Tucan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Barbiethe...
Avon, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great house, very well kept and all the amenities you'd ever need. We loved being able to make our own breakfast and lunches, which we would just pack up with us. The house has several different coolers for you to use so it was perfect for beach days. Several groceries stores are within walking distance and a fresh fruit market too, though go early.

The views from the balconies were beyond words. We loved making pina coladas in the blender and sitting out and watching the sunset over the two bays--Penca and Flamingo--quickly became a nightly ritual. It was also nice because part of our group wanted to go explore the area and my college-age son and his roommate just wanted to walk to the beach or hang out and drink beer by the pool. Everyone was happy! The house is an easy drive to several incredible beaches, Playa Conchal and Playa Danta, both worthy of seeing, and as easy walk to Playa Penca. It was also an easy drive to Rincon National Park, about an hour and a half. Several really good restaurants were very close, tons of great Italian places and Sol de Mar, just down the hill, which has really awesome seafood. Also, don't miss open mike night (Thursday, I think) at The Shack. Super fun, great music.
Also, we loved the neighbors next door and Jack, who was the original builder or the units and is also the person in charge of maintaining the place.
All and all, it's a wonderful house and a great location to explore this beautiful part of Costa Rica. We'll definitely be back>

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spriet2
Brantford Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sunset”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We just got back from our holiday in Costa Rica and decided to stay at Villa Ceilo Mar, We had a really hard time getting out of Canada to start with there being snow storms and flights being cancelled. When we finally got to Costa Rica we went and got our car and headed to the coast. We went to Special places the concierge service that is based in Playa Flamingo. and they where really helpful and we followed them to the house they will also book any excursions that you want to do, or I even called them a couple of times to translate some things for me because my Spanish isn't good at all.

This house is very nice and the sunsets are truly amazing. Jack whom I believe is the grounds keeper at the house is very nice and does a great job. We didn't stay too much at the house because we where out exploring a lot but the time we did spend at the house was awesome. we loved sitting on the deck watching the sun go down, was absolutely stunning!!! All and all I would highly recommend this place to stay at on the coast. Its affordable and clean and it truly feels like home when you are travelling.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pstrus
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxurious, well equipped condo with spectacular sea views in friendly traditional Potrero”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Cielo Mar from August to October and were very sad to leave the spectacular sea views and comfortable condo behind. We loved Potrero, a traditional Tico village with easy access to several beautiful beaches. The home was well equipped with all the conveniences of home. The rental company responded very quickly to any problem we had. I don't hesitate to say this vacation rental is top of the line and I would stay there again anytime.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPSteitze...
Topsham
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy the local lifestyle and the wonderful views...”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our family stayed at Villa Cielo Mar during the week of April 6-13 2014 and found the Villa and its location perfect for exploring the northwest corner of Costa Rica. Landing in Liberia we drove to the coast not knowing what to expect, and after driving by the larger resorts we wound our way into the local environment until we came to the Villa. It was a pleasure to be away from the main tourist hubbub, and to feel like you were part of that local community. The Villa was wonderful, plenty of room for the five of us, and the week we were there the other two units were not being used so we had this special place to ourselves. From early morning swims on the beach ( 5 minute easy walk) or in the pool, to late afternoon perfect sunsets the house could not have been better. The house was fully equipped so that we cooked all our breakfasts and half our evening meals there, while being able to go out and eat at the unique local restaurants the other part of the week. Using the house as a base of operations we were able to easily get to surfing, sailing, fishing, yoga and horseback riding opportunities, along with an easy 1 1/2 hour drive to Rincon del la Vieja national park for a day of hiking, zip lining, and waterfall swimming. While a concierge service was available, we actually found we were able to make all our excursion arrangements ourselves. If any questions did come up about the house, Carol was available via email and answered all our questions quickly. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to just be able to relax and enjoy their vacation while enjoying the unique opportunities this property has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close Proximity to the local environment, but accessable to all activities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ USA
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing