We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
14
23
7
4
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
23
7
4
15
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2017

Beautiful hotel/villa. Good amenities, good location, nice place to stay. I traveled with 9 guests, and We had the best time ever. This hotel is minutes away from beautiful beaches and good places to eat. Such as La Perla Restaurant. And dont forget to visit the Flamingo Adventure tours. best ATV tour ever.

Room Tip: comfortable place
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Dear Jose R
Thanks for writing this important review
We enjoyed to meet you and to meet all your nice family
The managment and our staff work hard to give our guests the best experience ever
Thanks also to give suc an important information about area, beaches, tour operator, etc. This is helpful to other tourist

Hope to see you back soon!

Regards,

Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Very nice staff but no commodities... no water in the rooms. I had little bit of ants in my room. I guess its normal when you have a room at ground level in costa rica ;).
As for the owner he is very nice but the hotel rooms needs improvement. Oh yes bring earplugs its noisy early in the morning because of the cars and rooster ;)

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Receive a warm greeting from all the staff of Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda"

We thank you enormously for taking time of your precious time to write us this important opinion, which as all opinions serve us in great form to correct the errors that we may have and thus provide the best service as deserved all our clients.

It is a pleasure also to know that among the inconveniences the staff has seemed nice

Again we want to thank you for your kind and kind opinion

Best regards

Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Nice place to stay. Clean spacious villas near the beach. Safe and clean. The pool is nice when it is clean but small. Grounds are beautiful. Ownership is mean and grumpy as others have said. Nearby food spots are soda Marcell, and Sol Y Mar

Room Tip: Rooms further away from reception area will not pick up wifi
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear Daniel C, Thanks for your review, all I have to say is that we are sorry and let you know that we have a new owner. Regards, Hotel Bahía Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Stayed from the 13th to 16th of feb 2016. We were a group of 9. So the $160 per night for the suite was a great price. But the whole house was dark. The lighting is horrible. My room had a door that was suppose to open to the patio, but they didn't have a key for it. They could have had better cooking utensils as well. The cleaning ppl may have come in and swept but you would never have known. Apparently they don't do dishes either. Sheets were never changed. One day the towels were never replaced either. We also had to pay extra for electricity, but we knew that ahead of time. The grounds are kept really nice. As well as a nice pool to cool off in. Overall, I would stay here again but the rest of my group would not. oh and if you want wireless in your room, forget about it.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PPacayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear PPacayas,
Thanks for your review!
We are now in a new administratiom, we will take note of your words in order to give the best of us and bring the best experience to all our dear guests.

Regards,

Hotel Bahía Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

We stayed at the suite of the hotel (3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms) for $150USD per night. We considered it a bit overpriced... We looked at the other rooms (one little apartment for $80 and one plain room for $60), but they were too dark, almost no windows and very small for that price. Since we were 5 people (germans and ticos) we decided to pay the $150 for the big suite, which was much more spacious and much better than the tiny dark rooms.
We were the only guests and the pool was OK taking that into consideration. Would there be more guests, the pool would've been way too small. On our last day we were chilling by the pool when the owner sent his staff to clean the pool and pour in chlorine, seeing that we were using the pool! The pool ended up with dirt floating around everywhere and we were not able to go into the pool for the rest of our stay, very disappointing! Upon mentioning it to the italian owner he blamed the wind and made up a bunch of excuses and clearly didn't care at all about our opinion... The hotel has a lot of potential but the owner just doesn't value the customer...
The employed staff was very friendly though and everything is really close by (supermarket, beach, restaurants), the garden is very beautiful and the staff takes good care of it but we wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank LisaW2782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Bahia Esmeralda, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Dear Lisa W
Thanks for your review
We are very sorry to read this, we want you to know that we are with a new administration, and even your review is negative, it is helpful for us to improve in order to give all our guests the best experience

Regards,

Hotel Bahía Esmeralda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews