We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable family resort for great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunwing Kamala Beach
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Looking for a family holiday, 2 kids, one a teen the other under 10 there were few resorts that caught our attention. Sunwing was exactly what we were looking for, a comfortable studio room that was bigger than I expected and easily accounted for our family of four. We did not go stir crazy as there were too many things for the kids to go out and explore. The pools and slides were a bonus, the beach even better when you have had too much of the pool scene and an expansive buffet for breakfast sure to provide something for everyone to eat.
We actually ate at the local restaurant more than we anticipated as the Thai food was good and pizzas made a safe and welcome option for the kids. We did venture out to discover other eateries in kamala, the location of Sunwing next to the main area allowed an effortless walk to purchase take aways, groceries to prepare in the studio and a range of other local attractions. Prices in the mini mart were not too expensive in comparison to local 7-11 but where possible we went to Big C shop for our drinks and nibbles.
Initially we thought we would be busy with all the activities on offer and in the end we just relaxed, took our time and managed to have a chilled holiday, yes in a resort full of kids.
Regards to room comfort, we had no issues, the king beds were comfortable and the two couches/beds were more than acceptable for the kids. Only complaint was the rowdy kids outside our room but that is more due to remote control parenting and not so much the resort management.
Worth doing again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MelbDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear MelbDave,

It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to host your vacation. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We were amazed knowing that your overall stay was beyond your expectations!

Our good location is indeed something we take a real great pride. Apart from its very accessible Kamala beach, restaurants and shops there is also a thai cultural show and local attractions just opposite our resort which is the Phuket Fantasea.

We will definitely wait til your next visit!
See you soon!




Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
There are newer reviews for Sunwing Kamala Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

I would like to commend Kharen at your front desk. Although she is a trainee, she remembered our room number the entire time of our recent stay and was obviously well organised and in full control of her job. I wish her well in her future with your organisation.

Similarly, Duang who hosted our cocktail making class was extremely polite, informative and interesting in how he did his job.

Too often, people do not express their appreciation for a job well done. I hope you will pass these comments onto each of Kharen and Duang.

Kind Regards,

Murray Crawford,

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Murray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Murray C,

Thank you for making our resort your choice of stay during your family trip in Phuket! And thank you again for sharing us your very encouraging feedback! Indeed, our team always go out of their way to ensure a superior service is being provided to all our guests. Kharen from the reception and Duang from the bar will surely be pleased with your kind appraisal and it will certainly be passed on to them!

We shall then look forward to welcoming you back here, soon!




Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

Our second visit (last time 3 years ago). Fantastic for kids with 3 slides, 7 pools and the beach close by.
Kids club with a few activities where you can leave the kids.
Kids eat free when adults dine, with movies showing to keep the kids entertained.
Family rooms are great - second bedroom for the kids to hide.
Only negative is the food (especially the Thai dishes) isn't the best, but there are some great restaurants a short walk away.

We will be back

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Hkmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Hkmoo,

It was again a pleasure to have you as our returning guest here! Thank you for sharing your good feedback about our resort! We are pleased that you found our place to your satisfaction especially to your kids!

Thank you again and appreciate your feedback regarding our food.

We will then look forward to welcoming you back, very soon!




Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

We booked for 8 nights but left after 5.
The staff were definitely not rude but were far from friendly either. There was no atmosphere for us.

Our room was huge but the beds were rock hard. And the two large beds (bigger than king size) had 2 separate doona's - strangest bedding I've come across.

There are 7 pools which is great but getting out was hard work as there was about 1 ladder per pool.

The property is huge and there is nothing nearby. Walking from our room to the beach was quite a distance and then to get restaurants and shops you need to walk along the beach (on the sand), over a creek and through a park. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from our room to the street shops / restaurants.
There is no day spa. We had massage vouchers and the only place to use them is at an open hut style massage. A full body massage is far from relaxing as everyone can see you. Foot massage is fine as you aren't basically naked for that.
Breakfast is noisy, bulk style food. Not pleasant. Only 1 staff member in the restaurant appeared happy.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Family_Cat_of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Family_Cat_of 2,

Thank you for staying in our resort!

We are sorry for not living up to your expectation!
All our guests satisfaction is very important and we appreciate that you shared us your constructive feedback. This will help us understand how we can improve and serve you and our other guests better in the near future. Rest assured that we will look into your given remarks.

Once again, thank you for staying with us!




Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

I was a little hesitant about sunwing just being an overrun kid resort.but know it wasn't and to boot it was a great resort. Great staff, service, facilities, food options and service at la tasca were really good. And all walking distance to mkt, beach, other shops and restaurants.
Definitely recommend and would stay again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank samanthasJ8247VW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edissa R, Customer Relations at Sunwing Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear samanthasJ8247VW,

We are happy that we had the opportunity to host your family here despite your hesitation and its good that you had a great stay and that we were able to earn your positive recommendation!

We look forward then to welcoming you back here soon!



Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
0.1 km away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
1.3 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.1 km away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
598 reviews
7.2 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phuket
1.1 km away
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunwing Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunwing Kamala Beach

Address: 96/66 Moo 3 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#7 Family Hotel in Kamala
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: €70 - €218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunwing Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully contained family resort with its own restaurants, entertainment programs and a host of activities for all ages. The resort includes all the fun, adventure, and luxury that families want most, elevating the family vacation to world-class standards on the unspoiled Kamala beach of Phuket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunwing Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunwing Resort - Kamala Beach Hotel Kamala
Sunwing Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing