We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andara Resort and Villas
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The hotel overall is very good hotel, location, style, design, restaurant, but the services in the rooms is unacceptable

1) a empty bottle of coke lying on table ore one week
2) chips, crakers on the floor during all our stay
3) the terasse has not been cleaning every day
4) the sheet bed has not been changed every 3 days
5) at begining we had some nice design on the bed but after three days no more attention
6) no attention on the night like a chocoalte of something
7) cotton cleaning for ladies not refilled
8) for quitips not refilling

On top of that I would like to advise that normally a service for cleaning must be minimum two or three times per day. We had only one visit per day of the staff.

I will not recommend the hotel and I am very disappointed of the previous coments by the clients, but we have not been to the same hotel ?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pascalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
I am extremely dismayed to hear of problems with your recent stay at our resort. What you mention is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologise for what appears to be a definite lack of proper housekeeping mainly. I have spoken to my head of department bringing to her attention what you mentioned, and please rest assured steps are in place for there to be no repeat of such incidences. I again offer my sincere apologies for these oversights and am sorry I was not aware of this during your stay, as I would have dealt with it directly; I thank you however for you comments, which will greatly assist us to improve where we not only meet but excel guests expectations. Best regards Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    54
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
218
186
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We went in November of 2011 for a short family excape with our children (13 and 4), and extended to stay for a full week. We're seasoned travelers and have stayed in luxury hotels and resorts around the world, yet we left feeling it will be very hard to ever find a place like this again - from the service, to the villas to the food.. everything was exceptional. Andara combines abundance with very high quality, all way beyond expectations. Highy recommendable!

Room Tip: I reckon pool villas should all be perfect. We had #9 and it had great views and seclusion. We also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raboschs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear your stay including villas and residences so you were truly able to experience our accomodation completely, and so glad it was a great escape for you and your family. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Our experience shows that many hotels charge a lot for any extras whenever possible. This is NOT the case here. Free Wifi throughout the Hotel. Free water (might sound basic) replaced on a daily basis across the Hotel and our Villa. Free transport to beach which by the way is just 4 minutes away. Free towels, water, toys for kids, chairs and umbrella at the beach club. Free daily activities such as Yoga, Pilates and activities for kids.

I had to place a quick local call and they've charged 5THB, yes only 5THB!!!

Outstanding service with very pleasant, educated and helpful staff. Location wise close to the beach, 10 minutes away from Surin and Patong - you can't ask for more. Silk Restaurant for breakfast was not cheap (THB350 per person for Continental) but worthwhile with fresh fruits and lots of varieties

Overall a very pleasant stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rsbeninatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We strive to continue improving with all our services and amenities, and are pleased these were all well received by you. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My family of three wanted to go for a relaxing holiday. We decided on Phuket because hubby and I have been there before. It was however, our first time in Andara, and definitely many more to come.

We booked the resort mainly based on recommendations by the travel agent from Fascinating Holidays. We did not regret our choice.

We were given VIP treatment the moment we alighted from the plane. We were pleasantly surprised to see my hubby's name on a placard. The staff then ushered through an express queue to clear the customs. Definitely a plus for us with my 15 months old girl in toll. The return flight was even better. We were once again brought through the express queue and then to the coral lounge to rest and relax while waiting for our plane. We did not have to worry about our girl being restless as there were enough toys and storybooks to keep her occupied for the two hours wait.

We had booked the 1 bedroom pool suite with private pool but was upgraded to their 2 bedrooms penthouse suite private pool. Seeing the room made us want to just spend the rest of the holidays within the four walls. The view from the room was breathtaking!

We did not want to leave the resort so we chose to have our meals at the Silk Restaurant and at times, room service. The food was good! We were initially quite worried that my little girl who is quite a fussy eater, would not be able to find any food to her liking but the opposite was true…She loved the food! The staff at the restaurant were great as well, making every effort to make you feel comfortable.

We are already making plans to come back here for the next holidays.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelLover306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
We are so pleased to here that VIP treatment started the moment you stepped off the plane, and continued right throughout your entire stay. And we are especially pleased to hear about your little one with her eating, where we were able to cater to her needs. Both myself and the team look forward to welcoming you and your famliy on your next visit. Warmest regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Back at Andara for a return visit and it keeps getting better. Service levels have definitely moved up a notch, as has the quality of spoken English, which has moved from acceptable to good.

The rooms are obviously still massive, well specified and elegant and the gym, pool and recreation staff are simply fantastic. I believe nearly every unit has it's own pool, ranging from plunge-pool sized to the 13m pools in the 4-bed units. I think the villa pools are even bigger.

They now have a fantastic tennis court with very high-quality partners to play with. Short of being an ATP player, I think these guys will keep you busy on the courts.

Silk, the main restaurant, has always served great Thai food (vindicated by the award they display at reception for best restaurant in Thailand by Thailand Tatler) but there European offering has improved considerably now they have slimmed down the offering to the basics. But to be honest, except for the occasional craving for a club sandwich or burger, you're really here to eat Thai food, aren't you?

New small touches such as wifi at the beach and in their cars are thoughtful and welcome.

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank reallyreallyfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
It was wonderful to receive your most positive review, especially as return guests. We will continue to go from strength to strength with reviews like this where this helps keep staff motivation at an all time high and ensures expectations of all guests are not only met, but exceeded. We very much look forward to welcoming you Andara for your next visit. Warmest regards. Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
3.2 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
16.6 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
877 reviews
23.1 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 96 in Thalang District
790 reviews
7.1 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
5,515 reviews
16.5 km away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andara Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andara Resort and Villas

Property: Andara Resort and Villas
Address: 15 Moo 6 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#1 Family Hotel in Kamala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#1 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Andara Resort and Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andara is an ultra-deluxe villa and residences resort at Kamala Beach (Phuket) set on a hill rising gentle from the Andaman Sea offering stunning ocean views. Minutes away are Phuket’s best restaurants, boutiques, world-class golf resorts and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Andara Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andara Resort And Villas Hotel Kamala
Andara Resort And Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing