We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of The Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Many TV channels like HBO, Moviestar, MTV. Room is clean. Kitchen is equipped. Beds are quite comfortable. Air-conditioning is working fine. Kids like the pool a lot. It's just outside the balcony. They swam everyday.

Note that they only clean the unit once before you check-in. Drinking water is also supplied once per stay - 4 bottles. There is no parking space at the front for you. You have to drive another 5~10mins to the back. Back gate is lock at late night, so you have to walk one big round to go the front then to your unit.

Location wise, you need to pass by near Patong area to go to the town. Traffic condition at Patong is terrible. It is very near to Phuket Fantasia.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnthoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    42
    10
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Fantastic value for money, very central in kamala village, a minutes walk to gorgeous clean beach, many great restaurants and bars within 2 mins walk. The apartment was spacious, clean, well furnished and excellent value. Great pool too right outside the French windows. Everyone very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCMC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Pros: Good location - just 5 minutes walk from Kamala beach which was not too crowded. Also easy to get to Patong by taxi/tuk tuk (about 300 B). Lots of good restaurants and convenience stores (7/11) nearby. The apartment was a good size, modern, with good facilities (although a microwave would have been nice) and kept clean. The resort was very quiet when we were there (July) so most afternoons we had the pool to ourselves. The staff were great with our 10 month old and she really enjoyed playing in the pool which had some nice low areas for her to stand in the water whilst holding on to the side. Overall, this is a lovely resort for families with young children - quiet, safe and friendly.

Cons: On one day the usual waitress was not available for breakfast and we had a bit of a farce with getting our food! They were very apologetic and the manager came to try to help but we had to leave before we got all of our food. On the whole though, breakfast was great. The cot that was provided for our daughter had very wide slats in in and we were worried that she'd get her arms or legs caught in them. We put a duvet draped over the sides to avoid this but if you have a travel cot of your own you may want to consider bringing it for peace of mind.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iceberg-Slim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed five days at The Palms with our children 14 and 17. The apartment was on the first floor (ground level) with direct access to the pool. The apartment was large, comfortable, quiet and a 2 minute walk to the beach. It is also a 3 min walk to the center of the Kamala where we did some of the food shopping. The rooms were clean , with comfortable beds, a large living room/dining room. The master bedroom had a king bed and the 2nd bedroom had 3 beds. We had two bathrooms but we used only one since it was the only one with a shower, the other had a bath tub.
The internet in the room was not reliable, it would connect only for a few minutes at a time. After half a day of frustration, we end up buying access to a local hotspot (cheap $5 for a week) ran by a young local, high speed 2Mb/s vs 250kb at the hotel.
What we like most is the hotel staff which was genuinely honest and helpful. Most hotels we stayed in Thailand, the bell boys always tried to get to hook you with someone they knew that would charge you extra.
At the Palms, it was never the case. In most cases we relied on the hotel manager “May”. She was always available and went the extra mile to help us, she even called us from her home to make sure our concerns were addressed. In all my travels overseas I have never seen that.
We can't speak for the restaurant, we wanted to try the local Thai food which by the way is excellent, particularly the one you buy from the carts on the main road.
We'll be back.

Room Tip: If you need a great deal try to contact May, the hotel manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fbc22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here after having to move from a different hotel that had messed us around,

We walked passed the Palms thinking that we would never be able to afford this hotel, but we were very wrong!!.

We was shown a 2 bedroom suite that we shared with our friends, it was clean, a lot of living space and had 2 bathrooms including an en-suite to the master bedroom.
The facilities are fantastic also, the pools are beautifully presented and has a gym (not that I used it!!),

The breakfast was buffet style but there was lots to choose from,

The hotel is ideal for families but would say that the balconies are not really that safe for families with young children so would recommend the poolside suites!!,

It is also ideally located, you are near everything and the beach is literally accross the road!!

I have nothing but praise for this hotel for helping out in a desperate situation,

I will definately be staying at this hotel again in the future,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
1.5 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.5 km away
Sunprime Kamala Beach
0.4 km away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
1.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Property: The Palms Resort
Address: 88 / 6, Moo 3 | Kamala Beach Road, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Family Resort is the perfect family holiday resort. It is ideally situated in the heart of Kamala Beach, with the beautiful beach being only metres from The Palms entrance; with shops, bars and restaurants all very near. The Palms has two large swimming pools, Fitness Centre, great restaurant, friendly staff, 24 hour reception, and has a selection of 1, 2, and 3 bedroom units to choose from. Select either hotel rooms, two bedrooms apartments, or three bedroom Penthouses. All are fully air conditioned, and en-suite bathrooms. Apartments and Penthouses come with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, and own balcony, or roof terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Resort Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing