We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$136
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alishan Tea Homestay(Alishan)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tea Cloud B&B(Alishan)
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wankou Hotel(Alishan)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dafeng Hotel(Alishan)
US$75
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Hamoana(Alishan)
US$423
US$410
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveller rating
139
153
69
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
153
69
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew wingshuttle busbreakfast and dinnervisitor centerwingsobservation deckcherry blossomseasy accesshistorical wingold buildinghotel restaurantcoffee shopprime locationseparate toiletegg stationentrance feenational park
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 394 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Most of my comments remain the same since my first review but my perspective has changed a bit during my second visit. This time, there were 6 of us (adults) and 1 toddler. Traveling with a toddler is obviously different from traveling with all adults...

While the hotel still offers a breathtaking view and exceptional services, I must say the hotel needs to improve on their food choices. Since we stayed here for two nights this time, we tried their dinner buffet, breakfast buffet, and room service but in the end, we enjoyed our instant noodles the most...

For obvious reason, we didn't want to feed our toddler instant noodles, so I wish the food selection can be as enjoyable as our hotel stay!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

So we booked two nights in the Alishan House in the wonderful Alishan area. When you arrive in this spectacular location you see how beautiful Taiwan is.
The hotel itself seems to be the best option in the area. But its far away from luxury or high class as they want to be. The prices are high but the quality of services Is average.

When we arrived the checkin was not as friendly as we know it from other hotels in Taiwan. But thats ok. The room itself a double room in the newer building was already a bit dated and not very well maintained. For example the toilet seat heating wasn't working - and Alishan can become very cold in the winter.

The complete design of the room wasn't that nice maybe an 3 star hotel style but nothing more.

Worst part of the hotel is the food. I have really never seen a low quality breakfast and dinner buffer like this. The quality of the food was at most average even below. The room where the buffet is served feels like a train or bus station waiting room. The acoustic is miserable and you don't feel welcome at all.

So we decided to checkout one day earlier and leave this wonderful mountain area. But the food was so bad that we don't want to enjoy it one more night.

But as mentioned before its one of the only hotels - and the location is really so beautiful with the awesome view from the hotel rooftop.

Would I recommend the hotel? Yes I do have to recommend it because there are no alternatives and you really have to visit Alishan when you are in Taiwan. But the hotel itself needs a lot of improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank arneworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The room we booked was a Double Room in the “Modern House” part of the hotel at level 7 for one night which was kindly upgraded by hotel staff (Tom) to a Quadruple Room.
Location (5/5) is unique. You must park your car in public car park near the shopping area of Alishan and take hotel shuttle bus for about 1km to go to hotel.
Accessibility (5/5) was very good. There is only one road going to Alishan and you can’t miss it. The road is amazing to drive and don’t rush. Enjoy the spectacular views. Amazing walking tracks near the hotel.
Hotel Condition (4/5) is good but soon will be needed some renovations. Hotel was built in 2004 and bed frames and doors are dated. Make sure to check viewing deck on level 8 and even better views of herb garden on level 10.
Room Cleanliness (4/5) is good. The toilet didn’t look very clean.
Room Comfort (5/5) is good. Very comfortable bed, small size bathtub with amazing view, but not very quiet, specially we wanted to sleep early to wake up 3am for sunrise view which is why this area is famous for.
Room View (5/5) is great. The room window and balcony was facing west, looking down to a beautiful garden and having mountain view in the far side.
Customer Service (5/5) is very good at hotel reception. Very friendly staff.
Internet (5/5) was very good, just like everywhere in Taiwan.
Breakfast (5/5) was good but too crowded. The restaurant area is spacious though. The hotel also offers dinner because there is literally no option around the hotel to buy food. The breakfast and dinner buffet menu are maybe 85% the same.
Value for Money (3/5): No. With price of $375 AUD even included the buffet breakfast and dinner, still feels expensive. Also late check-in at 4PM and early check-out by 11AM, means you have the room only for 19 hours.
Overall (4.6/5) great location, amazing walking tracks and spectacular views.

Room Tip: The modern house is the one to ask for.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParshinV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

This is hotel is in a great location because it is located inside of the Alishan National Park. However, it is definitely an older hotel. There is a small cafe in the front lobby where you can order food, in addition to coffee and tea. I had a room with two double beds. Four our bathroom, the sink, toilet, and shower were all separated so that made it convenient since I was sharing the room with two other people. For dinner, we had the buffet at the hotel restaurant. The food was okay. We also had the breakfast buffet which was just average as well. The hotel has a convenient shuttle that takes you to the main village area where there are more shops and a 7-11. Overall, I think the best part of the hotel is the location.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank VLoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Room is not clean, toilet got stains and need rearrange cleaning service for the room.
The all-you-can-eat dinning is below standard, food quality and taste not good enough. Location is not convenience, need to transit by shuttle bus.

Stayed: November 2016
2  Thank ng c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews