We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staing 3 nights for working in the area”
Review of Le Saint Georges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Saint Georges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vivonne
Reviewed 13 September 2015

Rooms comfortable, the better are on the garden. The others in the main building are a little old fashion, but anyway all of them are quiet in the night.
The restaurant has very good food, unfortunatly it closes rather early in the evening ( max 9 p.m.).
Breakfast is o.k., but you don't find any cooked. Staff are really ok, friendly and always available ( they speak english! That's not so easy to find in France!).
Wifi work S well everywhere. Portiera airport is not far (20 min drive). I reccomend it.

Room Tip: All are good but i suggest to ask for room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paolo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2015

We stayed at this lovely hotel Aug 26th on our way to Spain and what a wonderful start to our holiday this was
This hotel was more than adequate with the staff going over the top to to help you in a pleasant way
On leaving we noticed that the town and surrounding area was very nice and would liked to have stayed longer but as we had a long way to go this wasn,t possible Would definitely go back to this hotel

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Derekforeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night on the way to visit friends. The hotel is in a pleasant town with a large park and stream. From the moment we arrived the owners were so friendly and accommodating. The room although small was very clean and ideal for a nights stop. What we didn't expect when we booked into dinner was the fabulous restaurant which you walk to across the road. Unlike the hotel it is superbly decorated with a fantastic menu and wine list. The food was fabulous, as was the service. It was a real treat when we weren't expecting it ! It was also full even though it was a Monday evening ! It was one of the best meals that I have had for a long time and makes the hotel well worth a visit !

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank amanda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Lovely hotel in nice little village with great market saturday morning and lots to do nearby. Staff were very helpful and friendly, epecially Stella. Restaurant had great ambience, great menu selection and food was superb. Awesome salade perigourdine (don't go for the large one, the small is huge).

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank digimarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

I phoned ahead and got a nice large room in historic annexe building where their restaurant is. Their car park was full so he had to park on main square which we try to avoid when travelling with fully loaded car. We arrived at 7.45pm so went to dinner almost immediately.

Restaurant looked great, we had a lovely table. Menu is about 30€, but the food was very basic. My main of monk fish and scallop brochette with a seafood, had the most overcooked scallops - literally hard! served with awful chestnut mashed potato which was a terrible match and there was no promised sauce. When I questionned this I was told it had run out! Another table of 10 near us, several ordered the same and there was a discussion re missing sauce although being french ( and locals) no-one complained to the staff directly. Wine list was expensive and not very good- a really basic bottle was about 25€.

We subsequently discovered we could have eaten in the brassiere and there was a cheaper day menu but this was not offered to us. The staff seemed to rush us and everyone else. I paid for the room and dinner at 10pm as we planned to get on the road early the next morning.

The room had only 1 towel even though it was a family room and I had booked for 2 adults- no extra pillows and no hotel info in the room. I wanted to get onto the internet and I discovered I needed a code which was not in the room so went back downstairs less than 25mins later to find the building locked up, everything closed, no-one at all. I could not believe how they had achieved this.

OVERALL The room was fine, the decor of restauarnt lovely but food pretty dreadful and certainly not we expect from a logis de hotel.

Bakery on square in the morning was fab.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine- bring your own towels, eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank asterix_et_oblelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Saint Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Saint Georges

Address: 12 Grand rue, 86370 Vivonne, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Vivonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vivonne
Price Range: €52 - €58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Saint Georges 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A resplendent dwelling set in the heart of the historic centre of a handsome village in the Poitou region. The stunning atmosphere and refined comfort are enchantingly irresistible. 31 rooms (some air-conditioned, others for families), 3 meeting rooms, bar, fireside lounge, terraces. Two restaurants, one featuring traditional cuisine, the other bistro-style fare, are an open invitation to the pleasures of family or business dining, banquets and seminars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Saint Georges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing