We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
4
9
9
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
9
9
11
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Had intended to stay in Miltenberg or Amorbach but both were fully booked due to Michaelismesse, so we landed in Freudenberg. On a positive note, the staff at the hotel were helpful and not unpleasant and the breakfast was adequate so not all negative but obligated to make a couple of comments for others considering this: 1. this isn't really a hotel more like a Pensione in that there is no front desk and staff leaves after business hours, 2. located directly next to a well traveled bridge across river so traffic passing by within feet of rooms, 3. no air conditioning so if traveling in summer months, need to open window which increases noises/smells from cars/trucks passing, 4. beds are average at best (this after spending 8 days around Germany in other similarly priced hotels); lastly rooms weren't the cleanest we'd come across. If available, seek options in Miltenberg or Amorbach (train station has railcars converted into hotel for very reasonable price)

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Inhaber at Hotel Goldenes Fass, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015
Google Translation

Guten tag lieber Gast,

danke für Ihre ehrlichen Worte. Da wir sehr auf Umwelt und auf Öko System heraus arbeiten, werden die massiven Eichemöbel und die anderen Möbel auch in der Zukunft unsere Gäste zur Erholung beitragen.
Rolläden sidn zum Teil vorhanden und können bedenkenlos angehoben werden. Das Frühstück servieren wir als Büfett und es wird immer wieder nachgelegt, so dass jeder Hunger und Durst befriedigt wird.
Danke zur Info wegen der Verjüngungskur, dies haben wir bereits erledigt, mit der Schulung der Mitarbeiter und freune uns wieder auf Ihren Test und neue Gäste.
Da wir das Thema Mittelalter lieben setzen wir auch immer mehr in diesem Thema und in unserfem Hotel entschleunigente und regionale Aspekte. z.B. setzen wir reginale Produkte, wie Honig und Kräuter ein und investieren immer mehr in diesen Bereichen.

Herzlichen dank und liebe Grüeß vom ganzen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The Hotel is decorated with typical knightly items - well, you have to like it. All very clean and a great view to the river Main. The mattress is not 'king-size' but very well after a day-trip on a bike. Go and have a last drink at the terrace.

Room Tip: View to the river Main
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A superb location right over looking the river. The food was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean. The only problem we had was that there was no internet connection at all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel was our first stop from UK. Very comfortable beds, good shower good size room, Down side - Quite expensive 99euros...Bedroom next to road and bridge - traffic noisy, this was not a problem for us as we were tired. No WIFI, and lots of steps...Dinner- creamy garlic soup was delicious, we would not choose the meat you cook on a small hot stone again, as you also have to cook the vegetables!!,. ... However delicious breakfast plenty of choice, and lovely staff who offered us the use of their PC.

Room Tip: Request a room away from bridge.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveJin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Manager at Hotel Goldenes Fass, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hello Dave,

Thank you for your time that you have to share the evaluation with Andren.
We have different rooms in different categories and prices.
We are pleased to offer rooms with a quiet location and if so, which of the above date yet which were free. Unfortunately, we have no WiFi for this we offer our own home computer with Internet. Because of the food from the hot Stone, you could contact the operator would have liked to help you naturally continue.
We are pleased that you have been with us.

Greetings

Hotel Golden Barrel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews