We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$137
US$129
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$137
US$129
View deal
Expedia.comUS$137
CheapTicketsUS$137
eDreamsUS$129
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
36
14
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
14
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews husky sledding main hall snow suits and boots frozen lake reindeer farm lake inari soup glove liners weather conditions travel company bear in mind minute drive northern lights log cabin buffet breakfast two nights campfire
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

Where to star, they promised a small adults only luxurious experience for 24 adults when they took our money, but a year later when we arrived they had markedly increased the number of rooms without increasing the service areas to accomodate.
The staff where at best disinterested and no explanation, and the response was always that’s not possible, or the activities where full , despite having paid for them. We asked for explanations of what was happening untitled I got quite firm then some one did explain the processes but I was made to feel it was a huge it was imposition.

Just pointed to where the rooms where were no clear direction, no explanation of the rooms etc.
The food provided was variable but at this cost I would Cleary expect at least a small choice but no it was like being at a distant relatives bad wedding reception. The quality of the food Varied from quite nice to inedible. It always felt that they were trying to get money out of you.
The worst though was one of my party had a medical emergency and we had to leave early, not only not one discussion of refund etc, I didn’t ask, I received absolutely no assistance from any staff when attempting to sort it all out ( someone did give me a scrap piece of paper to write notes whilst I was making a thousand calls trying to sort it out).
Overall without the emergency it was like and I am quoting another guest , “ an expensive school camp” , not a luxurious adults wilderness experience.
I feel totally ripped off.
I will say the driver who picked us up and dropped us off was delightful , the most helpful and sympathetic of all the staff.
In short look elsewhere, where they treat their guests with dignity and at those prices a bit of luxury !

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank DrBrettC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirita993, Guest relations at Wilderness Hotel Nangu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2020

Dear DrBrettC,

thank you for your review regarding your stay with us.

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us.

The hotel was built two years ago and in the beginning we had 24 rooms. This year we got few cabins more. Nangu is our adults only destination during the winter season and also smallest of our destinations.
We appreciate the time you gave to us when writing this review. We are improving our services all the time and it is important for us to know how the guests have felt during their visit. We hope that the situation with the medical emergency is better now and we hope all the best for you and for your family for the New Year.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time spent with the driver and we will tell the greetings to him!

With the best regards,
Pirita
Nellim Wilderness Hotels & Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights in a standard double room. Everything is still relatively new and very nicely curated, with beautiful woods, fur throws etc. The main reception/dining room is especially impressive and welcoming with views over Lake Inari. The food was delicious and the staff always friendly and helpful.

We were lucky and experienced an amazing display of the Northern Lights but, even if we had not done so, the activities would have made it a wonderful break - especially the husky sledding and snowmobiling. We would love to come back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clark_family99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirita993, Guest relations at Wilderness Hotel Nangu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Dear Clark_family99,

thank you for your review regarding your stay with us.

It's such a pleasure to hear that you liked the interior at the hotel and accommodation.
We are also happy to hear that you liked the food which you had staying with us and also found our staff to be friendly and there for you.

Great news are also that the lady aurora appeared for you!

You are warmly welcome to visit us in future if coming to Lapland again.

On the behalf of the staff,
Pirita
Wilderness Hotels and Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2019

We spent a lovely 4 days in Nangu,we couldn't fault anything in the 4 days there, from our room (the one with the sauna) to the meals and the ambiance of the restaurant, we give Nungu top marks.
This was the second year coming to Finland (last year we stayed at Moutka) we mainly came to see the lights as we didn't get to see them last year, but boy did we see them this time, on our last night trying to get packed for an early start we were still outside at 1:00 am taking photos and looking at at the light show, and what a show it was.
Just to mention, we found it very funny me being breathalysed on the snowmobile in the middle of lake Inari, I think the 3 policemen we saw on the lake were the only people we saw all that day!

Room tip: We had a room with our own sauna
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Inaframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2019

Had a three night stay here to hopefully see the Northern Lights and the hotel is as lovely as the photographs on the website, in a picturesque and very quiet location. Also booked husky ride, snowmobiling, Aurora camp, reindeer farm and snow shoe walks. We were incredibly lucky and the lights appeared every night directly above our hotel and they were spectacular. The activities were fabulous, staff and guides friendly and knowledgeable, food excellent. One night the temperature went down to - 28 so plenty of layers under the provided outer clothing was vital. If you are a first time cold holiday traveller, as we were, then bring at least 4 layers of clothing, glove liners, a balaclava and extra socks! Thermal tops and bottoms essential! There is no need for elegant clothing, it’s very relaxed and informal. Our iphones froze regularly so if you have a good, temperature resistant camera bring that too. The location of the hotel was perfect for Auora viewing and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Gorgeous303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirita993, Guest relations at Wilderness Hotel Nangu, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2019

Dear Gorgeous303,

thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest.
We appreciate that you gave us your time by reviewing your staying.

It's nice to hear that you liked the activities, you found our staff friendly and the food was good.
We are also happy for you that you saw the northern lights during your visit to us!

It's also nice to hear some tips from traveller to another traveller about the things what should be pointed out when travelling to Lapland.

Thank you for visiting us.

You are warmly welcome again!

On the behalf of the whole staff,
Pirita
Wilderness Hotels & Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

We had a wonderful six night-stay. Great remote location, along the frozen Inari lake. Good food, great activities, cosy atmosphere with lounge music and magazine decoration. Plus we were lucky to see many Northern Lights just outside the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 958j_r_mep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirita993, Guest relations at Wilderness Hotel Nangu, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2019

Dear 958j_r_mep,

thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time as our guest.
We appreciate that you gave us your time by reviewing your staying.

It's nice to hear that you liked the location, activities, accommodation, food etc. For sure it is important for us to know how the guest felt during their stay.
We are also happy for you that you saw the northern lights during your visit to us!

Thank you for visiting us.

You are warmly welcome to visit us again!

With the best regards,
Pirita
Wilderness Hotels & Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews