We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Official Hotel
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
36
14
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
14
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews husky sledding main hall snow suits and boots frozen lake reindeer farm lake inari soup glove liners weather conditions travel company bear in mind minute drive northern lights log cabin buffet breakfast two nights campfire
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2019

We stayed seven nights in a “superior” room, and enjoyed every minute of our time at Nangu. Our room was large and comfortable, well-equipped, and very quiet. All rooms are strictly non-smoking, and there's a 500 Euro penalty charge for smoking indoors.

We tried cross-country skiing, snow shoeing, dog sledding, and snowmobiling. Our guides were excellent, and cheerfully adjusted our activities to suit the weather conditions and the personal capabilities of the guests. For example, on the day we set out for cross-country skiing on the lake, a recent period of warm air had turned the snow into slush. Some in our group were unable to manage that comfortably, so we returned to the lodge.

Cloud cover during much of our visit reduced our opportunity to view the Northern Lights, which was obviously beyond anyone’s control. However, because we stayed an entire week, we did get to see the aurora several times.

I took one entire day off from the activities, and spent my time reading. With almost everyone else engaged outdoors, the place was wonderfully peaceful and quiet. Another day, we took a taxi into the town of Ivalo. We visited a couple of tourist shops, scouted out the local supermarket, and had lunch in a local restaurant. It was not an inexpensive excursion, since the taxi fare is about 50 Euros each way, but the resort is quite remote and we felt it worthwhile to get a small taste of Finnish village life.

The food was excellent. Breakfast is an ample self-service buffet, while lunch and dinner are set meals (although the management are mindful of food allergies). Every dinner began with a soup, and the soups were wonderful (I’m not usually a fan of sweet potatoes, but even the sweet potato soup was delicious).

All in all, it was a wonderful experience.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KH198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 February 2019 via mobile

Nice Hotel, friendly and helpful staff.
We were lucky to see the northern lights, staff came knocking on door to alert us.
Trips, like Aurora borealis tours and others are planned from hotel if you wish to.
Sauna is in the price and can be reserved for one hour, which will give you private access.
Breakfast was really good with a variety of things, like fruit, musli, croissants, bread, cheese, cold cuts and salmon.
Dinner package includes soup, main course and dessert. As far as I am aware of, you can't order food, everyone gets the same. You can order drinks of you choice. Make sure you mention before hand if you have any dietary requirements. Dinner was ok, not exceptional but the scenery is very romantic.
Wifi is available only in reception area, which is also dining area and the place to hang around in front of fireplace.
It is about 30 minutes by car from the airport, but feels like a place lost in nowhere!
A place recommended for couples for a romantic get away...

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank tara2319
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 February 2019

The main purpose of this trip was to see the Northern Lights and luckily this was achieved on the last night. The 'holiday' included 3 types of winter activities, snowmobiling, snowshoe walking and driving your own team of huskies. The snowmobiling was fun for first 30/40 minutes but it was minus 30° something and the second half was so uncomfortable...cold even with the many layers of clothing and generally many people found this, and other activities, too long. For snowshoe walking you need to be fit...and avoid the night time walking. Driving huskies was great fun and the visit to reindeer farm was made very interesting by the Sami reindeer herder who told us something of his people's culture and struggles.
The hotel itself is a marvellous construction and our rooms in the log cabin outside the main building were small but comfortable and clean. The food at the hotel was average...and the drinks expensive by UK standards. However, the staff were all lovely, helpful people and the guides excellent.
For me the worst aspect of the break was getting in and out of the 'padded boiler suit' you are given to wear and I was relieved to take it off for the last time. In my opinion it is not a holiday for anyone over 65yrs unless you are fit.

Date of stay: February 2019
2  Thank belladonna12015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pirita993, Guest relations at Wilderness Hotel Nangu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2019

Dear belladonna12015,

thank you for your review regarding your stay.
It is always really important to us hear what kind of thoughts visit left to you and what you liked and what could be done differently.

It is difficult to tell about the activities suitability since every one is used to different things and are excpecting different things. Someone might think that it was fun and didn't last enough and for someone it is enough for that. Huskies are surely one of the most liked one activities what we arrange and it is surely fun! It's also true that when the temperatures are low it is quite a challenge to wear enough clothing to stay warm but our staff is happy to help you with the tips. Many many layers and the thick overalls are the things what keeps you warm.

We are happy to hear that you liked your accommodation and that the staff were there for you. Thank you for the feedback regarding the food also. We will take a better look to that one.

We want to thank you for visiting us and wish you got nice new memories from Lapland. We are happy for you that the Mother Nature showed her special show for you during your visit to us.

On the behalf of the staff,
Pirita
Wilderness Hotels & Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2019

This is wonderful hotel which is small, warm and cosy with friendly staff and is set above a frozen lake. We stayed in superior rooms which are very warm with great showers and have double beds each with two individual duvets. Breakfast is good but dinner although lovely food is a set menu which would be better with a choice The best part of this holiday were the activities available. We spent a lot of time on snowmobile safaris over the frozen lake and also had a great time driving husky sledges at the sister hotel in Nellin about a 50 minute drive away. The hotel guides who take you on the activities and on the evening aurora camps are very entertaining and brew a great hot chocolate and hot berry juice to keep you warm around the camp fire. Jukka was brilliant with some great stories. The winter clothing and boots provided by the hotel are very warm and with our own base layers we were comfortable in -18 temps

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MaxwellYR20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2019

My boyfriend travelled from Mexico and I stayed there for four nights after having a hard time getting there due to frustrating flight cancellations at Gatwick airport. The staff at the hotel knew about this and they made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived (Pia, Rita, Kirsten, Saana, thank you!). Their warm treatment toward us made us feel at home. The hotel is beautiful, the food they serve is delicious and the rooms were kept very neat. We had a wonderful time and would definitely return.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews