We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
22
34
6
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
34
6
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We only ate here, so can't comment on the hotel. But the dinner we had was truly awful. Most of it was way over-cooked, the fish dish smelt awful, the veg was mostly inedible. The strawberry mousse had split and was a runny mess.
It is a shame, because the staff were very pleasant, hopefully it was just an off-night for them. But it was the worst meal I had had for a very very long time.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubosq_P, Gérant at La Longue Vue, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Dear Sir,
we are sincerely sorry your dinner was not up to your expectations. Our customers are, in their vast majority, very happy with what we serve.
The restaurant staff has clear instructions to inquire about how customers feel about dishes during their dinner.
Had we known there was a problem with your main course or desert, we would have taken appropriate action and offered alternatives.
We hope you had a pleasant stay in the region and that you will consider giving us a second chance during your next visit.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Arrived to be told we were a day late. We produced the booking printout which showed we had arrived on the correct day but we received no apology. Our garden view room was motel style with the door opening to the outside and although clean and comfortable was we consider overpriced because the restaurant was not in operation and looked as though it had not been in use for a while and the swimming pool was also closed. Breakfast was OK. It became clear there was only one other set of guests staying in the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Labradoodle51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015

A vaguely strange hotel set above the small village of Gennes.
1970s brutalist concrete building and slightly jaded interior. The bedroom clean and comfortable, with a nice bathroom with both shower and bath. There is an outdoor pool but we did not use it as it was raining.
Breakfast (9€) was a little minimalist for the price. Bikes were parked in the garage but we were not sure if this was locked at night.
At 72€ per night was more expensive than similar places we had stayed in, but it was OK and there isn't much choice in the immediate area.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DadaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Phillipe Dubosq and his team offer the warmest of welcomes at this hilltop family hotel overlooking the Loire and the charming town of Gennes. The rooms are clean and comfortable; the restaurant offers a reasonably priced evening meal (although there are other bistro type eateries within walking distance). We enjoyed the well stocked buffet breakfast on the terrace with views for miles over the surrounding countryside.
As a keen cyclist I noted that the Longue Vue is popular with cyclists doing the Loire valley tour, and bike rental is available in Gennes.
We were attending a nearby wedding, and in spite of the hotel being full of fellow guests arriving back in the small hours, we slept soundly thanks to the well insulated rooms.

Room tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view over the valley.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jdgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2014

We were travelling to Chinon for a week's stay at a Gite and booked into La Longue Vue over the internet for 1 night and on arrival, found that the room was small and had no view which was disappointing as we later had drinks on the terrace which faces west and had a great view over Gennes and a fabulous sunset. Later had dinner at the restaurant but the steak was over-cooked and the vegetables were average. There is a pool below the terrace and grounds to walk around. The staff were good and English was spoken by several staff which is always very helpful. The Room Rate was 67 Euros but with dinner, a few drinks, a hearty breakfast and taxes it came to 140.00 Euros which is not cheap. But overall, I would recommend a stay.

Room tip: If booking ask for a room overlooking the Terrace and/or the pool.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNPOTTER1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews