We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
21
26
9
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
21
26
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner restaurant area pacific coast birders tennis court hill sunset hiking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2019

The staff tried hard to make our stay comfortable and upgraded us to a bigger room as the original was a postage stamp, hard bed and no hot water in the sink. Not much to do here. The staff speaks English but not fluent. Dining area is very nice and the food OK. We shortened our stay and checked out a day early.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank 386ernesth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2019

We've been coming to this lodge for over 10 years. We love it's location and natural setting on the General River just after the confluence of the Chirripo and Buena Vista rivers. The property is filled with birds and is one of our favorite birding spots. But another major draw for us is the lodge itself with great food, staff and comfort. The owner is wonderfully attentive and a great conversationalist. Highly recommend it as a place to stay, bird, dine and just enjoy nature.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cualcosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2019

Hi guys
If you want to take pictures of birds.
This is the place to be.
Carlos is a very friendly host.
The food is very tasteful.
The deck is a gem.
The bathroom was not clean. Carlos do something about it.
The rooms are noisy.
We had room 16. Spacious, equipped with a fridge and a coffeemaker.
Above us room 19. It had a cracking floor. Very noisy.
So, if you do not want to hear the noise of your neighbours, take room 18 or 19, they are upstairs.
Rooms 1....8 are budget rooms. the have a fridge. About a coffemaker, I am not sure.
The garden is fantastic. a lot of birds in the garden.
regards
schliek

Room tip: room 18 and 19 are upstairs.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2019 via mobile

If you love birding, this could be the place for you! Nice rooms, but nothing fancy. A few updates would be nice. Ceiling fan, but no A.C. outstanding food served on a deck overlooking fruit feeders. Very nice service and owner was very congenial.Large enclosed tennis courts and beautiful pool. Hot tub was cool. You can be greeted by a common paraque as you walk to breakfast. Honeycreepers abound. Many beautiful species waiting to be observed.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank stevenmB9421LC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

As described in previous reviews this hotel has a great location for seeing birds, set in extensive grounds. But the previous proprietress seems to have left, and the remaining owner has let the place badly go: you would not go near the filthy pool, worn out hammocks are threadbare, the food is tinned, the staff’s attention is cursory, etc. The shabbiness does not justify the price and he seems to be just milking the previous glories. But the bedrooms were OK, beds comfortable, bathrooms functional, and the grounds unspoilt

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank spitalfields_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews