We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra special tour and guide”

Palo Verde Boat Tours
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Ortega
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Palo Verde last week from Riu Palace. It was approximately under 2 hours to get there. Our tour guide Franko was exceptional! He is a wealth of knowledge about nature and the area. We got to see crocks, white faced and howler monkeys close up as well as bats and birds. It was a fantastic half day out!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Chantal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the river"
in 114 reviews
"costa rica"
in 79 reviews
"white faced monkeys"
in 48 reviews
"howler monkeys"
in 48 reviews
"palo verde"
in 38 reviews
"great tour"
in 19 reviews
"salad"
in 17 reviews
"rice"
in 17 reviews
"gas station"
in 14 reviews
"tortillas"
in 12 reviews
"beautiful birds"
in 12 reviews
"per person"
in 11 reviews
"two hours"
in 10 reviews
"fruit"
in 10 reviews
"different types"
in 9 reviews
"riu palace"
in 9 reviews
"bird species"
in 8 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2018

Did a Palo Verde river excursion on March 25th and it was a great experience. We booked the tour through Sunwing tours and they provided a great tour guide who was very knowledgeable and was able to point out animals that it would have been very hard to see for the inexperienced eye.
Some of the animals you can expect to see on this tour are : crocodiles , iguanas , lizards , multiple bird species ( we were very fortunate to even see an owl).
Highly recommended tour.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank kayak_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

If you love nature this is a MUST DO. It is so amazing to see monkeys just out on the trees. We also saw so many beautiful birds and tons of HUGE crocodiles. It was VERY COOL!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Halye D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Our family loved every minute of our boat tour today (2 adults and 2 children 10 & 12) We had some difficulty getting there due to our sat nav loosing signal and were quite stressed about being late for our 11am boat ride. Everyone was very kind and welcoming and we soon relaxed. The guide was incredibly helpful and patient (we were lucky enough to be the only ones on our tour which meant we could clamber around the whole boat taking photos) We saw a troupe of capuchin monkeys just a few feet away from us, a huge range of birds and much to my son’s excitement about 10 crocodiles also at close range. The tour lasted about 90 minutes which was perfect. We then went back to the head office/restaurant in Ortega and had a DELICIOUS lunch which my kids (both quite fussy eaters) scoffed. I would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Clarrykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was our second time on this trip and it was just as exciting as the first! Our 8 year old daughter loves seeing the crocs and monkeys. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank CoopToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palo Verde Boat Tours also viewed

Province of Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Matapalo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Palo Verde Boat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing