We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
3
5
5
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
5
5
12
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great place and friendly staff! It was clean, had a nice pool, pool table, and felt very safe inside the compound. I'd definitely stay here again my next time in San Jose. Lots of buses pass outside the front doors and you are in walking distance of a lot of cool places in the city. However, I personally didn't feel safe going outside the compound at night alone. But I think that the entire city is like that and not necessarily the place where the hostel is.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyleGman9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The hostel is ridiculously creepy - when rooms are empty they look like something from paranormal activity, so old fashioned. It's super eerie throughout the whole hostel.

We were only staying in Costa Rica one night and had to suffer the horrendous experience of San Jose, so we tried to find a remotely okay hostel to relieve the experience a little. this is not the place. We changed USD currency to local Costa Rica currency especially to pay for this hostel, they ended up refusing to accept their own local currency - accepting only USD instead. When we told them this was ridiculous, the staff got super rude and unhelpful.

Horrendous horrendous horrendous train goes past the windows every 5-10 mins and toots an unbelievably loud horn every time into the early hours of the morning. Horrific.

Arrived at 7pm, left as early as we could at 4am. Enough said.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcw2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We booked a room with a double bed and without private bat at this hostel. We paid the full price at arrival. After that, we found out that the onlz room fitting to our booking had a broken light. The girl at the front desk and the owner o the hostel on the phone refused to either give us our money back or give us a different room with a double bed even though the hostel was almost empty. Istead, we had to wait for the maintenance guy to come and fix the light. Even after that, the light (a fluorescent tube) kept flickering horribly. Finally we were given another room. But even that one was not worth the money and in no way as described in the Lonely Planet.

Do not trust older reviews. Nowadays the hostel is a rundown place at the comfort level of a youth hostel but with no facilities except for spyware infected computers. Also, there is a new train going by the ostel which is extremely loud and adds to the already high noise level. There is laundry service, but it is $9.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The downtown pangea hostel with its by nice ambience was booked out my first night so I got a free transfer out to Toruma. The avienda next door has lots of heavy traffic of buses and trucks rumbling by so its a bit noisy in the rooms on the east side. Room was also a bit dusty and scuffed looking and in need of a good dust down and the lamp needed a plug. Staff friendly enough but it lacks the location and ambience of pangea and you may end up feeling lonely and isolated out on the town outskirts at Toruma were the facilities are not as good

Room Tip: West rooms further from noisy road
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidhughtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A President's former residence, I'm sure this place was cool once, but no longer. The staff were rude/apathetic, the key rarely worked in locks, we were charged $5 extra to check in 3-4 hrs early when they had plenty of room, the pool was ice cold, there is NOTHING around the hostel outside, and they don't have a functioning bar or restaurant of any kind as advertised (they try and send you to another hostel Pangea 3 kms down the road). The place feels dead. Don't book here. Go with a brand.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnoobyGreenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews