We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little tearoom”

Abbey Stores and Tea Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Description: UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP OCTOBER 2017 Abbey Stores & Tearoom is a dog friendly family run business set in the heart of the North Yorkshire National Park. Now serving Breakfasts using best local butchers finest bacon and sausages, homemade cakes and scones all made fresh on the premises, cream teas and afternoon tea, light lunches etc all made fresh to order, eat in or take out available. We also have a useful little shop selling groceries, local bakery bread, milk, newspapers, maps and local area information, gifts, greetings cards, stamps, cigarettes and confectionery and much more! Parking is available on street right outside and the surrounding areas and we are wheelchair friendly. We are also the local information center for the North Yorkshire Moors National Park.
Restaurant details
Description: UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP OCTOBER 2017 Abbey Stores & Tearoom is a dog friendly family run business set in the heart of the North Yorkshire National Park. Now serving Breakfasts using best local butchers finest bacon and sausages, homemade cakes and scones all made fresh on the premises, cream teas and afternoon tea, light lunches etc all made fresh to order, eat in or take out available. We also have a useful little shop selling groceries, local bakery bread, milk, newspapers, maps and local area information, gifts, greetings cards, stamps, cigarettes and confectionery and much more! Parking is available on street right outside and the surrounding areas and we are wheelchair friendly. We are also the local information center for the North Yorkshire Moors National Park.
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Me and my partner camped at Rosedale Abbey this weekend. We popped into Abbey's on Saturday for some lunch. For our food, we both had the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, on brown bread. To drink I had some fruit squash (£1.25) The food was filling and tasty. It would have been nice to have some little butter sachets on the side though. My only negative comment is the young waitress who fetched the food over was quite serious.

There is also a little shop, selling various food items, such as pastries, as well as souvenirs and household items.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Princess-Tashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, Owner at Abbey Stores and Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback. We have now acted on your comments and added butter sachets to the toast when served with smoked salmon, we would have been more than happy to supply if we had realised you would have liked some, maybe in the future if you return we can rectify this.
Our young waitress is a new starter with us this year and being just 14, she is starting out in the working world and is a little shy, yes, but she is a very helpful and adaptable member of staff who is highly valued and is learning a lot as she goes along. Your comments are appreciated but I feel we cannot act on them in this instance as only time will help our waitress develop and grow in confidence.
We would as always be more than happy to welcome you again should you be in the area for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

This is the first time I have visited this tea room under the new management and was not disappointed. Both my wife and myself had a very good lite bite snack well prepared and served. A small bonus was a chat with Craig on our mutual interest in railways. The café is totally non pretentious and is certainly worth a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank O9181YYrichardm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, Owner at Abbey Stores and Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit here and would be happy to welcome you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Helen, Craig and their team were welcoming and friendly - I couldn't have asked for better hospitality when first arriving in Rosedale Abbey alone before meeting friends for the weekend. We booked for a group of 11 on the Sunday and they cooked our breakfasts to order - delicious, home-cooked and locally-sourced food. I will definitely be returning on my next visit to the village.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, Owner at Abbey Stores and Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for a lovely review, it was our pleasure and it was lovely meeting and talking with you before your friends arrived. Thank you for organizing the group to visit us for breakfast and we are pleased you all enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you again one day maybe. Thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Nice shop to right hand side & tea room area to left hand side.

Shop has normal food & gift items & some travel leaflets too.

Staff very helpful.

Food can be eaten outside on the tables too.

Car park on road before the sort of village green area.

Toilets at back of café.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sportybirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C, Owner at Abbey Stores and Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Thank you for your comments and we would be pleased to welcome you again if you are ever in the area again. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

The cafe staff were friendly and welcoming however the ‘manager’ was not, he was hostile and rude to his staff in front of a cafe full of customers. The embarrassment of staff and customers made for an uncomfortable visit on Rosedale Show afternoon.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank discerningdiner511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abbey Stores and Tea Rooms also viewed

Rosedale Abbey, Pickering
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Pickering, North Yorkshire
 
Pickering, North Yorkshire
Hutton le Hole, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Abbey Stores and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing