We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,522)
Filter reviews
1,522 results
Traveller rating
1,351
141
22
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,351
141
22
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange countycoracle rideinfinity pooljeep safarireading roomprivate jacuzzitribal dancenature walknagarhole national parkcoorg propertybullock cartluxury resortspotted deerwild elephantsflora and faunariver viewayurvedic spa
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 1,522 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This is an excellent property with excellent management as exemplified by the consistently outstanding service from everyone - the restaurant waiters, the safari guides, even the chefs. To give an example of the type of service, when we commented that the tomato soup was delicious, the chef offered to show us how to make it and arranged a wonderful cooking demonstration the next evening. The service here compares to that in the best Oberoi hotels, and is quite an achievement considering how difficult it is to achieve consistent service standards in this part of the world.

The rooms are very good in a rustic way, and we had a cottage with a river view and a private pool. The water in the pool was too cold at the time we were there, but the river view was nice with a small balcony overlooking it.

For those who have been on safaris in Africa, especially in the private reserves, please note that the national parks in this part of India do not at this time have any private safaris. Instead, all vehicle safaris have to be through a nearby government resort and Evolve Back is usually allocated a mini bus type vehicle for all their guests. Not very nice. On the other hand, the boat safari is quite stunning with national parks on both sides of the river, and comparable to some of our best safari experiences in Africa.

Room Tip: Choose the river view cottages with private pool
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VC142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Everything was wonderful: the huts, the staff, the food, the safari, loved every second of it!

Food was superb for breakfast and dinner, safari guides know lots, staff is very friendly and the huts were ou of this world: small garden inside, private pool, amazing bed and lovely ammenities.

One of the best places I have been.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own private pool or jacuzzi!
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rousi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Evolve back, formerly known as orange County was the destination for our family trip (8 incl 2 kids)
A luxurious resort with top notch facilities and service. booked one pool house and one Jacuzzi house. The name suggests the house has a private pool/jacuzzi. kids absolutely loved it.
Food is very good. The package includes all meals.
Safaris and other activities are well organised.
All in all a must visit.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank PremP378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a place to take our 10 yo and 3 yo kids to a place with excellent hospitality and luxury resort with natural surroundings...And how true wasevolve back kabini..best part was sitting near the infinity pool and see the kabini river flowing with a superb picture backdrop..No cars no horn no pollution it was just us and nature..

We were two couples and 3 kidsand enjoyed thoroughly..

Food:
They have a very good set of Chefs and they serve all type of dishes except chinese..But whatever they do they serve top notch food! You must eat at their kruba grill resturant..it us fine dining at its best..only problem they take time to serve their but its understandable as they prepare fresh and serve!!

Pool hut:
Highly recommended as it is larger and more spacious when compared to jacuzzi hut! Decor is earthy with 5 star facilities..

I would recommend to go first to kabini and then coorg..As coorgis their flagship property and its more bigger and oppulent!

Anyone thinking of going to kabini then dont think twice just go for Evolve back!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank vishal2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

This is our second visit to the Evolve back Kabini property. Since we had already visited once we were a bit hesitant to try the same again.. But wanted to do so since this would be the first with our 3.5 yr old daughter.. Well we didn't regret our decision one bit...

She thoroughly enjoyed every bit of the tribal and jungle experience .. The water levels being quite high can't say we spotted too many predators but did get a chance to appreciate the elephant ; deer ; sambhars and plenty of birds... Guess we would have to come back in the summers to catch a glimpse of the predators ...

The courtesy and hospitality of the staff were great... specially Mr Bidappa (Resident GM - who did his best to fulfill all our requests ; Arushi ; Sundra ( coracle ride)).

As an improvement specially for those desiring a superior safari experience; wish there could be an option to allow a more personalised tour in a smaller vehicle... When we first came in 2011 the rules were different and hence our experience with the safari was also much superior. I understand the limitations on your part on having to work with the government rules on this one.. but if that can be made available atleast for responsible nature loving operators such as yourselves ;the experience would be really comparable to none ...

Would be an injustice to conclude without mentioning the spa.. the massage here was the best me and my husband ever experience....

We enjoyed every bit of our second trip back here and definitely can't get enough of the experience tourism you so uniquely offer... Hampi remains to be experienced and we are sure as hell eager to make it there as soon as possible..:)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank AnuRohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews