We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
156
34
12
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
34
12
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eagle rays remote island fish rice mosquito net marine life feel at home deluxe room hot shower diving experience togean islands remote location big thanks open water course spent wonderful days great instructor always felt safe
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We had a good time here due to very good dives and guides. The diving equipment was good. A familiar atmosphere, all guests eating together.
BUT our room was very dirty. We had a surperior room and the last guests left his toothpaste spit in the zink and also left us some used cotton buds... the rooms are very very basic so don"t excpect more than that.
Breakfast was not the best, some days only rice and bread and 2 million flyes... dinner not so much better, just covered in pepper...
They blamed the poor food on the remote location but it's not right, there's a home stay on the island serving great food and also the other remote islands in Togians are able to serve great food.
Tables at the eating area was only wiped clean with a dry table cloth causing plenty of flyes. They need proper cleaning equipment.
This place is really run-down and need heaps of maintanace, the recepton area, or what could have been a nice place for that was a smelly, dark filthy area, it could have been a perfect place for a "trust bar"...
Garden is also very runed down, various broken things left laying around. A view point with two umbrellas and a broken table didn't make anyone happy!
This place has so much potential...

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Siv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmi h, Owner at Sanctum Una Una Eco Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear Siv,

I thank you for your time to writing this feedback for our property and services.
We are sorry if we could not meet your expectation.
We strive everyday to make sure our guest has a pleasant stay.
We are sorry for overlooking the toothpaste in the toilet basin, it wont happen again.
Diving is our main idea and getting luxurious stuff here in unauna is quite problematic.
Mostly our guest understand that the price we offer is 18 euros for 3 meals, including rooms and everything.
Since we are still upgrading building and inventories we will make sure all basic need is fullfilled.
We are also struggling to fighting the natural forces like mosquitos, sea flies, and flies. Sometimes there is huge rain and it brought all this forest animals to life. But rest assured its very healthy here people dont get sick.
We feel really wrong since all our food comes from local peasant and some food come as far as 200 kms from where we are. It takes great effort and work to be able to provide food.
Next time we will make it up to you

Andri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I spent a week here at this eco resort and did 17 out of 18 planned dives. For diving experiences, most coral is still in good shapes, healthy but some of them bleached due to el nino. Bumphead easily spotted, barracuda schooling on jam dive spot (did 3 dives there), harlequin shrimps, trigger fish, and eagle rays (though i have no luck, but most of other group encountered them). The water is warm between 28 to 30 celcius degree. Unlike what you have get from internet or indonesia dive directory which only mention three dive sites, the islands have almost twenty. Most of them was found by the sanctum dive centre i guess. For diving experience, i can say, i'm quite satisfied. At my time of visit, we were guided by US (Allie) and UK (Liam) dive guide, strict and very concern about environment, nothing to complain, they are the best.
For the resort, we know that they are doing their best managing things on a small remote island which have limitations on clean water and electricity. We have no problem about the water for shower though the availability is depend on the electricity which is randomly turn on, but most of the time is off from 11.00 pm till morning. And off again from day till 5.00 pm.
The food is OK, still need a bit improvements on variety (we bring some of our own food).
No room service to clean the room. And remember, no phone signal there, they have internet connection but limited for important purpose only, please ask them if you require it but in my one week experience, i survived enjoying this island without the need of signal. Thanks Andri and team for doing their best during our stay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Delon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

This is really hard review to write. Some things are really good, but some things really need improve. Let's start good things first :

- athmosphire is really nice. It's good idea that all quests sit in same table. That
makes people talking with each other.

-food is really home made, spicy but good. Ok, you may get bored that you have rice at every meal, but you can live with that.

-drinking water is free, but you should take own bottle with you to refill.

-about diving, if you want see lot of fishes, you wont't get disapointed.
But corals was not so good shape. Parts of reefs was bleeching and lost their
colours.

-Lucas is one of bests dive guides I have ever meet. He's are really strict about safety, know's currents and you feel really safe when diving with him.

But some things they could do better :

-fresh water runs only when generator is on, so you have to remember refill your own bottle often.

-seems that there is not housekeeping, so room could be quite dirty after one week. It would be nice, that they clean room at least twice at week and change towels.

-in room there is not toilet paper, you have to ask it. And sometimes it's hard to get, because they keep it behind locked door in office.

-mold in pillow. Ok, humidy is quite high, but it's not nice to sleep with smelling pillow.

-divingboats are quite unstable, and ladders are not so good.

Overall we like to stay in island, and I would go there again. But with little inprovments they could make that place even better.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank VilleVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Really nice place to stay..really nice place to have a time just with your own friends or fams...really nice dive sites...great food...friendly crew...really funny dogs @bombom..and of course REALLY NICE VIEW

For diving...professional dive leader/guide...awesome sites...my fav dive sites (ihana...batu gila...Hong Kong...and house reef)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

Thank you guys for amazing time in Una Una!! =) I spent there almost two weeks and really enjoyed my stay. Really beautiful island, cosy and relaxing atmosphere, nice diving and of course fantastic staff, that made me feel like one of the family! Thank u!!!
I will come again!
...and YOU should go too!!! =)

Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews