We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - What an Anniversary treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanctum Una Una Eco Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Una Una Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We knew that it would be a mission to get to...but it was definitely worth it!!

My husband & I celebrated our 10th Wedding Anniversary at Una Una and we had a fabulous time.

We also live on a South East Asian island so understand how difficult it can be to get supplies etc. Considering how remote Una Una is, Andri & his team are doing a great job.

We took a nice bottle of wine with us to celebrate, knowing they wouldn't have any! They made a heart shaped cake for us on the day & evryone was always really helpful, friendly & smiley :)

We came via Gorontalo....so a 12hr ferry to Wakai & then a 3 hr boat ride to get to Una Una - it's a shame the public boats don't coincide with the days the ferry arrives as a charter boat to the island is quite expensive!!

Once there, we were made to feel very welcome, bags were carried from the boat for us & Andri gave us a warm welcome (he was a fantastic host the whole week), lunch was ready, so we got our first taste of simple, but fresh & delicious island food. Yes, rice & fish (many different varieties) featured on the menu regularly throughout the week, but we also enjoyed noodles, chicken, pumpkin, green veg, aubergine, fresh coconut juice, homemade cakes, breakfasts of rice, pancakes, fruit, homemade bread (more like corn bread than western style) & pineapple jam (delicious)...we never went hungry...even fried chicken, coleslaw & mashed potato one night as a treat!!

We stayed in a superior room that had an amazing view, was very spacious, had an amazing mattress (best on any island we've slept on!!) & was simply, but beautifully decorated/designed...we particularly loved the 'walk in closet' so we could unpack properly AND the fact that the tap water was drinkable as the water comes direct from the Volcano....amazing! As we were out diving every day, we barely used the room & for an Eco resort, were quite happy that the room was NOT cleaned/sheets/towels changed while we were there....we knew that IF we'd wanted these things seen to, we could have just asked & it would have been no problem. Also, the issue of loo roll... ANYone travelling in Asia should be aware that the plumbing & systems they have don't support loo roll, so embrace the water jet/water scoop....it's much cleaner & more environmentally friendly!

The diving...equipment all seemed very new & well kept (we had our own with us, so only an observation) the guides/instructors (Allie, Lucas & Andri) were fabulous. We felt that our trip was tailor made....always asked what we wanted to see the next day & suggestions made for dive spots that would be suitable. We even did 2 trips with Andri to some further dive spots that he enjoys & the boat was equipped with tea, coffee, water & snacks to enjoy on a nearby beach for our surface interval! The coral reefs were in great condition, with only a bit of bleaching at the top of some dive sites due to El Nino....water temp on the surface between 29 & 31C! The sponges & fans were of EPIC size & the giant schools of jacks & barracudas were fabulous!

We weren't expecting to see much macro....but were pleasantly surprised. Wonderpus octopus & shawn the sheep nudibranch amongst the highlights! but also a fab pair of harlequin shrimp, ornate ghost pipefish, leafy scorpion fish, frogfish, cuttlefish, orangutan crabs, bumpheads, eagle rays,
What was really great was how professional, yet relaxed the guides were, so they pointed out some amazing things, but also allowed us to search for things ourselves...it was like going diving with friends!

We truly enjoyed our remote island escape, a big thank you to all the team there, we definitely recommend Sanctum Una Una....don't expect 5* western standards....go with an open mind & enjoy 5* Asian hospitality & experience a bit of local flavour ;)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SamBordt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We had a good time here due to very good dives and guides. The diving equipment was good. A familiar atmosphere, all guests eating together.
BUT our room was very dirty. We had a surperior room and the last guests left his toothpaste spit in the zink and also left us some used cotton buds... the rooms are very very basic so don"t excpect more than that.
Breakfast was not the best, some days only rice and bread and 2 million flyes... dinner not so much better, just covered in pepper...
They blamed the poor food on the remote location but it's not right, there's a home stay on the island serving great food and also the other remote islands in Togians are able to serve great food.
Tables at the eating area was only wiped clean with a dry table cloth causing plenty of flyes. They need proper cleaning equipment.
This place is really run-down and need heaps of maintanace, the recepton area, or what could have been a nice place for that was a smelly, dark filthy area, it could have been a perfect place for a "trust bar"...
Garden is also very runed down, various broken things left laying around. A view point with two umbrellas and a broken table didn't make anyone happy!
This place has so much potential...

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Siv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmi h, Owner at Sanctum Una Una Eco Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2016

Dear Siv,

I thank you for your time to writing this feedback for our property and services.
We are sorry if we could not meet your expectation.
We strive everyday to make sure our guest has a pleasant stay.
We are sorry for overlooking the toothpaste in the toilet basin, it wont happen again.
Diving is our main idea and getting luxurious stuff here in unauna is quite problematic.
Mostly our guest understand that the price we offer is 18 euros for 3 meals, including rooms and everything.
Since we are still upgrading building and inventories we will make sure all basic need is fullfilled.
We are also struggling to fighting the natural forces like mosquitos, sea flies, and flies. Sometimes there is huge rain and it brought all this forest animals to life. But rest assured its very healthy here people dont get sick.
We feel really wrong since all our food comes from local peasant and some food come as far as 200 kms from where we are. It takes great effort and work to be able to provide food.
Next time we will make it up to you

Andri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I spent a week here at this eco resort and did 17 out of 18 planned dives. For diving experiences, most coral is still in good shapes, healthy but some of them bleached due to el nino. Bumphead easily spotted, barracuda schooling on jam dive spot (did 3 dives there), harlequin shrimps, trigger fish, and eagle rays (though i have no luck, but most of other group encountered them). The water is warm between 28 to 30 celcius degree. Unlike what you have get from internet or indonesia dive directory which only mention three dive sites, the islands have almost twenty. Most of them was found by the sanctum dive centre i guess. For diving experience, i can say, i'm quite satisfied. At my time of visit, we were guided by US (Allie) and UK (Liam) dive guide, strict and very concern about environment, nothing to complain, they are the best.
For the resort, we know that they are doing their best managing things on a small remote island which have limitations on clean water and electricity. We have no problem about the water for shower though the availability is depend on the electricity which is randomly turn on, but most of the time is off from 11.00 pm till morning. And off again from day till 5.00 pm.
The food is OK, still need a bit improvements on variety (we bring some of our own food).
No room service to clean the room. And remember, no phone signal there, they have internet connection but limited for important purpose only, please ask them if you require it but in my one week experience, i survived enjoying this island without the need of signal. Thanks Andri and team for doing their best during our stay.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Delon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

This is really hard review to write. Some things are really good, but some things really need improve. Let's start good things first :

- athmosphire is really nice. It's good idea that all quests sit in same table. That
makes people talking with each other.

-food is really home made, spicy but good. Ok, you may get bored that you have rice at every meal, but you can live with that.

-drinking water is free, but you should take own bottle with you to refill.

-about diving, if you want see lot of fishes, you wont't get disapointed.
But corals was not so good shape. Parts of reefs was bleeching and lost their
colours.

-Lucas is one of bests dive guides I have ever meet. He's are really strict about safety, know's currents and you feel really safe when diving with him.

But some things they could do better :

-fresh water runs only when generator is on, so you have to remember refill your own bottle often.

-seems that there is not housekeeping, so room could be quite dirty after one week. It would be nice, that they clean room at least twice at week and change towels.

-in room there is not toilet paper, you have to ask it. And sometimes it's hard to get, because they keep it behind locked door in office.

-mold in pillow. Ok, humidy is quite high, but it's not nice to sleep with smelling pillow.

-divingboats are quite unstable, and ladders are not so good.

Overall we like to stay in island, and I would go there again. But with little inprovments they could make that place even better.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank VilleVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Really nice place to stay..really nice place to have a time just with your own friends or fams...really nice dive sites...great food...friendly crew...really funny dogs @bombom..and of course REALLY NICE VIEW

For diving...professional dive leader/guide...awesome sites...my fav dive sites (ihana...batu gila...Hong Kong...and house reef)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rudy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Una Una Island
0 km away
Salassa Guest House
30.4 km away
Black Marlin Dive Resort
Black Marlin Dive Resort
#2 of 2 in Kadidiri Island
222 reviews
30.3 km away
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
Kadidiri Paradise Dive Resort
#1 of 2 in Kadidiri Island
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctum Una Una Eco Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctum Una Una Eco Dive Resort

Address: Tojo Una Una, Central Sulawesi 94683, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > Central Sulawesi > Togian Islands > Una Una Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Una Una Island
Price Range: €29 - €54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All PADI dive courses, Trekking, snorkeling, spa (book in advance), 3 meals, food is 100 % eco all products are from Sulawesi. All our staff speaks good English and we have been trained in customer service. , We offer all on one island, We offer descent rooms, safe diving, interesting trekking, amazing local villages, tasty menu, bubble drinks and Indonesian culture for all travellers. WiFi, Hot shower, visa master card available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sanctum Una Una Eco Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing