We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Attraction And Souvenir Shop”

Hackberry General Store
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Hackberry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We specialize in offering a wide variety of Route 66 related gifts and memorabilia for sale. In addition we have a great collection of 1950's and 60's period cars, signs, gas pumps and the like to snap pictures of during your visit. You may even find a license plate or police badge on the wall inside from your country or town. We have over 30 shirts, sweatpants, leather vests, blankets in 8 colors, towels in 15 colors, over 35 tin signs, 10 shield-shaped signs, clocks, used license plates, over 20 replica license plates, locally hand-made damascus and railroad spike knives, handmade soaps, 6 flags, 6 bandanas, 18 caps, 4 do-rags, several charms, pocket watches, sheriff badges, wallets, several pins, 18 books, 6 maps, calendars, 9 mugs, 8 shot glasses, ash trays, cappuccino cups, Coke napkin holders and bottle openers and straw holders, 2 puzzles, dvds, 1 troy ounce.999 silver Route 66 coins, Zippo lighters, several rusted route 66 signs, model cars, and of course, magnets and keychains of all kinds. We are proud to offer many of these items MADE IN THE USA, which you don't find often for sale online. And, by the way, we do sell chips candy, soda, coffee and ice cream, too! We do not sell any of our collectibles because we COLLECT them ourselves. We also do not carry children's clothing.
Reviewed 11 February 2018

I've written about this quaint little store before. Lots of great souvenirs, and a nice stop to browse at memorabilia. We regret that the gentlemen that graced the checkout desk has retired. We miss his corvette parked out front also. Hoping that he's enjoying retirement, and rest assured that we will continue to make this one of our favorite stops on Rte. 66.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hackberryrt66, Owner at Hackberry General Store, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Thank you for remembering John Pritchard, the previous owner of the store. He built what you see today from his vision of nostalgia in the 50's and 60's as he lived it. I am so pleased that you find this place worthy of repeat visits! Having worked for John since 2006, my goal is to retain the historic feel for all to enjoy! Best Regards, Amy, owner since 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"old cars"
in 53 reviews
"gas pumps"
in 28 reviews
"route memorabilia"
in 18 reviews
"license plates"
in 7 reviews
"great memorabilia"
in 4 reviews
"the mother road"
in 18 reviews
"fun place to stop"
in 7 reviews
"driving route"
in 5 reviews
"great place for photos"
in 4 reviews
"stretch your legs"
in 10 reviews
"step back in time"
in 11 reviews
"for sale"
in 15 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 13 reviews
"cool stuff"
in 5 reviews
"old gas station"
in 4 reviews
"soda fountain"
in 4 reviews
"photo ops"
in 9 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

I read about the store in the book Ghost Towns of Route 66. Stopped here when driving from Grand Canyon South Rim to Las Vegas. We chose to take the detour via Route 66. It's worth the stop over and take some pictures. And visit the shop and buy some tourist junk ;)

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 176TomD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hackberryrt66, Owner at Hackberry General Store, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

I am pleased you found opportunities for photos at our store!! Best Regards, Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

This was a fun stop where you can grab a snack and look at all the different things available to buy. We bought playing cards, a jigsaw puzzle and my granddaughter got a sweatshirt.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Cathlyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Just a fun little eclectic store on Route 66 Arizona right before Valentine AZ and Seligman, AZ . Great prices and great service.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Chucknteojamul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2017

You read about places like this in the middle of nowhere and then you come and see it and you understand the meaning of life... These sort of places are always an experience and I'm pleased I took time out to see it

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank HarleyMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hackberry General Store also viewed

 

Been to Hackberry General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing