We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing art gallery

It was an awesome time in the museum. The paintings were amazing. I’m happy for the time. His art... read more

Reviewed 25 January 2022
Lapinkoira
,
Louisville, Colorado
via mobile
Colourful art gallery, atelier and home museum of a Lappish artist

Beautiful and interesting art, beautiful surroundings and old rural architecture! Learned a lot of... read more

Reviewed 30 July 2021
matleenak2014
,
Espoo, Finland
via mobile
Read all 27 reviews
  
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
18
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
18
7
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2020

Really loved this museum! The artworks are just very impressive. They give a wonderful reflection of the Finnish landscape in an abstract way. His colorful paintings made me curious to see the nature once in spring time as well (was there in winter time). Couldn't stop looking at them!

Also the road to get to the museum is a wonderful adventure, since museum lies a bit remotely in the middle of the nature. This really adds to the experience and gives an impression on how Sarestoniemi must have lived his life.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Jorienjohanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2019 via mobile

Museum, atelier and living quarters of one of the most prominent Finnish artists in a picturesque environment. Examples of old and 70’s Finnish architecture. I was pleasantly surprised by the whole experience and we received a warm welcome as the only non-Finnish speaking visitors at that time. Would 100% recommend this place as an alternative to all the outdoor activities here in Lapland.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Inge K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarestoniemi, museum curator at Sarestoniemi Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2019

Thank you for the review Inge! We are pleased to hear the visit was a good surprise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

This museum is literally in the middle of nowhere but it's interesting especially if you're interested in Reidar Säreistöniemi art. I recommend to take a guide because they can tell interesting details of the museum area. There are three separate areas; the old house, the studio-home and the gallery. I'm not a fan of Reidar Säreistöniemi but I do like some of his work.
A nice cafe and museum shop in the area too.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank niinan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 February 2018

I visited this museum & art gallery about 15 years ago. That time I had a guide but this time I was on my own & found it to be magical. I took time to admire the artist's works ,studio & living accomodation. Breathtaking & good for the soul.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank margaretplatt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2017

I keep visiting this place more and more. Once I have visited it with a guide I changed my opinion about it, I liked it before, but now I adore it, I understand more about life of this fantastic painter and his artworks. I really recommend you to have a guide. I value as well this place for its architecture, both old traditional one and monern spacious of the new atelier. It is beautiful in summer but it's just fairytale-like in winter especially during Polar night with the dark pink-blue sky. They change exhibition quite often and organise as well other cultural events in the museum. Surely, recommended to visit.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Kianira
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews