We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Tapas in South Goa!”

Jaali Boutique and Cafe
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Patnem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 February 2016

This is the best place to eat healthy, tasty and filling food in South Goa, a great place to share dishes with friends or family as there are so many great things on the menu, making it hard to choose !
The blacken paneer is to die for and the cauliflower omg yumm!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julzValiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaaliCafe, Owner at Jaali Boutique and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you julzValiant for your wonderfully appreciative review of Jaali. We are really happy that you enjoyed our food so much, the two dishes you mentioned certainly have proven to be firm favourites with most of our customers. We hope that you'll be back in the future to taste some new additions to the menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

It's the little touches that you notice straight away -the design on the wall of the boutique, on the chairs and on the linen napkins...it's a lovely setting, too, with plenty of shade. The coffee is the best in Patnem and Palolem, served in glass and there's complimentary water brought to table as you sit. Breakfast of eggs and chorizo is superb, and I've had a superlative orange and chocolate torte with my afternoon coffee yesterday.
The toilets are beautiful and clean, too. This place sets an example of what can be achieved here to cater for the western tourist , and it's set the bar high. Excellent.

Thank joemcgann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaaliCafe, Owner at Jaali Boutique and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you joemcgann for taking the time to review Jaali here. It's always good to be appreciated and to know that people notice the attention to detail that is so important to us. Thank you and we look forward to having you back here to eat next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

The first thing that comes to mind when visiting Jaali is taste. Everything breaths good taste here. The boutique is lovely, beautiful items, the menu is interesting and super well presented, food is great. It's one of those places that would fit as well in Goa as in Barcelona, Cape Town or any other beautiful city with a good energy.
However, it is incredibly over priced, especially for the ammount of food you will get (which in our case, I have to say, was quite ridiculous); which is the reason I won't give it 5*.
Still, I would definitely come back and recommend it to friends - just don't come if you are starving or you will have to eat the whole menu.

Thank Ines M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaaliCafe, Owner at Jaali Boutique and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear Ines M

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Jaali, we really appreciate it. We are happy to be seen to be world class but are sorry that you found our prices high and the size of our portions small. As our restaurant is a tapas style one, we do serve small plates and indicate on our menu that 2 or 3 dishes makes a meal, not just one. Our prices range quite a bit, and it is possible to eat 3 dishes for around INR 400 - 500 quite easily. We have lived in Goa for years and find that we very rarely leave a restaurant having spent less than INR 400 for a meal (unless it's a local dhaba). We invite you to return to Jaali if you are in Goa next season and we can provide you with a delicious filling meal for a reasonable price. Please introduce yourself to Kate if you do return so we can make sure you have a better experience next time. Thank you, we appreciate all feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2016

This is the best restaurant that I have been to in Goa in the last 2 months here. This restaurant would be noteworthy in San Francisco where I am from. The menu is a flavor fusion cuisine with middle eastern influence. I could easily see people in San Francisco waiting in line for hours to get in here or dialing weeks in advance for a reservation but here it is just a little hidden cafe that is super casual. The flavor combinations are unexpected and delightful. Everything from the food to coffee quality and mixed cocktails are well done here. The attached photo is from brunch where we had the messy eggs with chili jam and toast. The only drawback I have found here is that even with multiple visits I have not yet been able to try everything on the menu!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cloudchloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaaliCafe, Owner at Jaali Boutique and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear cloudchloe

Thank you so much for your lovely appreciative review. Such compliments, comparing us to hit restaurants in SF! But it's great to know that you felt we are on a par with these kind of establishments. We hope to continue to please by adding to and improving our menu and service constantly. Hope we see you again next season when you can continue to work your way through our menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2016

coming across Jaali Cafe was such a find at Patnem. ate there every day as i was so determined to try as much of the menu as i could as it was so so delicious. mediterranean in flavour, the freshness and inventiveness of the menu meant i spent quite a lot of my time there. the cafe is very relaxing, shaded under the trees, very nicely decorated with lovely boutique. Daddu who runs the massage and spa is excellent. it will be a favourite to return to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaaliCafe, Owner at Jaali Boutique and Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear lisa k

Thanks so much for your review. Great to have Daddu mentioned here too, as he is certainly a part of the Jaali experience, offering one of the best massages around. Lovely to have you as a repeat customer and look forward to hosting you again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jaali Boutique and Cafe also viewed

Patnem, Canacona
Patnem, Canacona
 
Palolem, Canacona
Palolem, Canacona
 

Been to Jaali Boutique and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing