We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
24
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a great stay rooms are spacious place to stay monastery nature wifi bonfire
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

There are simply no words to describe our time spent at this retreat. The photos will tell the story.
Thank you to the staff & owners for making our stay magical.
We will never forget the sounds of nature and the spectacular views the bedrooms/terraces offer.
The food which is organic, straight for their garden is delicious! The rooms are spacious & beds are extremely comfortable.
The swimming pool is a real bonus!
Can’t wait to come back!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Eggsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019

Like to thank Mr Kunzang and his entire team at Martam Retreat for making our holiday remarkable. We had one of our best family holiday in this beautiful resort nested in a pristine environment and surrounded by mountains, meadows, valleys and forest reserve. The resort has been beautifully conceived and designed, keeping in mind every aspect of a holiday. The Swimming pool, games area , reading room , a cosy lounge and the restaurant and bar made the entire day eventful. The rooms were spacious with breath taking views and lot of space to move around. All the staff’s were well behaved with an inner commitment to give their best service. Deepak’s 11-year-old daughter made a flower bouquet with wild flowers whose fragrance filled the whole atmosphere and made our anniversary a memorable one. The place and its people have left a lasting impression in our hearts. We have left the place with a feeling to come back soon. My sincere thanks to all the people with golden hearts, who have brightened our stay. Thank You !!!

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank shibnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2019

Martam is perfect, it's a village, a small hamlet deep in a valley known as the rice bowl of Sikkim, with only a few houses of farmers and landowners, a couple of shops, but still just an hour away from Gangtok. and then, coming to Martam Retreat, it's like a fantasy, a quiet and comfortable magic carpet floating in mist and cloud that descends into the valley every evening, from the hills around. Every comfort that one would reasonably require and still feel detached and secluded is present there. Take a walk through the village, walk down the forested trails into the terraced paddy fields below, or just sit in the balcony and let the cloud descend and engulf you in absolute silence. Or if, you are the swimming pool lover, take a dip in the indoor pool. Overall, enjoy all creature comforts in absolute peace and tranquility, and what is better to top the experience when Mr. Kunzang Topden, the owner himself would attend to you personally and make you feel as comfortable as one can be. Loved my stay of five days of small walks and quiet sit outs, and would come back again. For people who love to live in a dreamy village hidden in mist and cloud but still be only an hour from a city.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TheMagicClicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019

i will just share this- checked out from the hotel.went some good 30-35km downhill ( very undulating route). took a u-turn and called back in the hotel to again check in. this is the beauty of this place.
no place as good as this.
the staff took me in the village, purchased a live chicken, cooked it along with the chef in the kichen marrinating in beer.very supportive staff.
the owner Misses Topden and her father make you feel at home taking care of everything.
pool is quite good.view from all rooms is super.rooms are excellent.
bonfire and all is arranged.
you will never have any complain here.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank krvaibhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

It was lovely stay at martam retreat. Beautiful view from the resort. Staffs are very friendly. Speacially the owner, they treated us very nicely. Must visit place. A bit away from gangtok but worth it.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Babul1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews