We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an exceptional place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holmhill Country House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornhill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holmhill Country House
Ranked #1 of 6 Thornhill B&B and Inns
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What an exceptional place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We booked in for two nights on honeymoon and were amazed at the welcome and facilties we found at Holmhill. The rooms were of an exceptionally high standard, the breakfast could not be faulted and the hospitality outstanding. Provision of an iPod docking station in the room was unexpected.
OK, arriving in full wedding dress gave the game away a bit that we had travelled north to get wed and on both nights we sat and talked to Rosie and Stewart and antipodean visitors. What friendly people.
We will be going back to Holmhill to celebrate out first anniversary and revisit the scenery and local attractions. It could not have been a better place for us to spend our first night of married bliss.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesnJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
53
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Just spent 2 wonderful nights at the Holmhill. This gorgeous Georgian house has been superbly refurbished, decorated to a very high specification with luxury touches such as amazingly fluffy towels and bathrobes. The bathroom was a highlight - lashings of hot water at any time of the day and a deep roll top bath and walk in shower. Rosie and Stewart were excellent hosts, with great local knowledge and nothing was ever too much trouble - for example, on arrival, tea was offered by the roaring wood burner in their very lovely lounge and you felt instantly very much part of the family. Breakfast was a treat with a large range of fresh fruit and cereals and the full Scottish breakfast is one of the best cooked breakfasts we have ever had in any hotel we have stayed in, with locally sourced food - the black pudding was a highlight. I can't recommend it enough - it's like staying at a top end hotel but better.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AandJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed 1 night in this lovely guest house with friends from the USA. We were not disappointed. Excellent Scottish hospitality. The large guest rooms are well appointed with magnificient views of the Dumfries countryside. Great breakfast, homemade muesli, marmalade and jam were delicious and the full Scottish breakfast included some tasty haggis.
Fishing on the Nith was arranged for me and is only a 2 minute walk.
Our hosts must do well in this new venture

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingtame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed with my wife for a couple of nights in this newly opened Guest House in Thornhill in Dumfriesshire. The house is fantastic in a wonderful location and Rosie and Stewart have done a great job in converting and decorating the guest quarters into luxurious en-suite bedrooms. Breakfast was excellent. This is a new venture for the hosts and with their kindness and attention to detail the Guest House is sure to be a success.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommyscot56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
0.8 km away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
2.7 km away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
17.0 km away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
29.6 km away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
17.4 km away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmhill Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmhill Country House

Property: Holmhill Country House
Address: Holmhill, Thornhill DG3 4AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Thornhill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Thornhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holmhill Country House is on the edge of the tranquil Dumfries and Galloway village of Thornhill, 20 minutes drive from Dumfries and just over an hour from Glasgow, Edinburgh or Carlisle. The house stands in its own grounds of 7 acres, next to an historic bridge over the River Nith. Holmhill offers you peaceful garden space, woodlands and glorious sunsets over the nearby Keir Hills. The B&B accommodation includes two guest bedrooms with twin/double beds. Both guest bedrooms have south facing views over the garden and hills beyond. Both bedrooms have spacious luxury en suite bathrooms with showers and feature baths. There is also a two bedroom self catering cottage available for rent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing