We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/07/21
Booking.com
Expedia.comUS$82
TravelocityUS$82
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
33
38
14
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
38
14
7
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

I always read the reviews before I book - they were good - so I booked. I can't imagine where these people stayed - it certainly wasn't at Le Grillon. Sad, tired, garish orange striped decor straight out of a 'fifties boarding house. Our 'family' room was two linked rooms, one with twin beds and a table and chair - with the loo in one corner, the other a double bed and table and chair with the bathroom in it - terrible use of space. Some kind of netting at the windows would have been helpful to keep the flies down, we used two cans of fly spray during our 5 days. Breakfast was so poor - a croissant and piece of baguette each, black spotted bananas and cake covered in flies, that bought breakfast from the local supermarket after the first day and ate it in our room - like campting but without the fresh air. The only saving grace was the proximity to two beaches, however, the resort is rather sad and dismal. Don't stay there - stay in Murol and drive to the beach.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank ceel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Small family owned and operated hotel.
Very scenic surroundings, lake, forest and hills.
Rooms and bathrooms are clean and well maintained.
Very quaint and calm.
Good restaurant serving local food from fresh ingridients.
Staff very pleasant.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 842dagw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This hotel is not luxury but offers good basic holiday accommodation in a friendly atmosphere. Our room was very clean with good bed linen. Our bathroom/shower/toilet was cramped and not suitable for over sized people. The meals we had were reasonably priced and the breakfast at a supplement of 10 Euros was ample and excellent affording a good start to a walking day-and the area has wonderful walks and attractions such as Murol castle and the church of St. Nectaire. From previous experience the hotel is probably the best value in the area. A minus point for some rooms is traffic noise if the windows are left open. The dining rooms are very attractive indoors and there is a nice terrace as well.

Room tip: Don't bother with Lake Chambon views as the lake is not directly in front of the hotel.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FREDERICK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

Our second visit, after several years. This is one of our favourite areas in the Auvergne, but not one over-endowed with fine hotels. Le Grillon was undoubtedly good value, quiet, comfortable and with a fine restaurant. Do not expect anything too sophisticated (no aircon), but on its own terms it is admirable, even if the furnishings are probably due for some updating. WiFi and private parking are included in the modest price, and you are just a minute's walk from the lake shore. As before, we stayed just one night, and would return again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015 via mobile

I booked a ground floor room with easy access. On arrival they have no ground floor rooms! We struggled upstairs to find bath not shower as expected. Down again and up another stair to find room with good shower cabinet. We both have mobility problems so this was exhausting. Our friends travelling with us unloaded our luggage. Then at dinner they gave my husband something which made him ill. Despite being told in writing and again verbally that he was dairy intolerant.

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank photolass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews