We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
23
16
2
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
16
2
4
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

We made a booking with them through bookings and wrote an email saying we were traveling with a small dog and if this would be ok. They had our number and email to contact us which we didn't. We were traveling many hours with a small child and arrived in the pouring rain at night. All the lights were off and we could not find the entrance. When we finally found the door, we were told no pets. There was no restaurant or food service, either, which would have been terrible for our child. Our 1 kilo dog in a kennel, my child, and my husband spend two hours looking for another hotel. We were soaked and tired but found a hotel that fed us and treated us with courtesy. Hotel Can Gasparo left us in a crisis and proceeded to charge us for the night we did not spend at their establishment. They never responded to our email request which would have changed our plans instead of making a tired family very, very tired. I was very disappointed and would not recommend them to anyone. Also, they don't have a restaurant like advertised, or least it isn't open and the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so you better take food with you as the road would be treacherous at night. The only good thing was the manager was sweet but she pleaded with the owner and the stingy, greedy person refused us and then charged us.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tori T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

Our GPS gave up trying to find this place so you might need to use other means to get there, down through Planoles then up a wee road through the forest. Note the street signs are close to the ground. But a lovely comfortable hotel run by a nice young couple ( some English spoken). Food good but more limited menu out of season. Huge steak, so order a salad to get your vege fix. Warm snug rooms (we had 'White' with dual aspect view which was great). Quiet and peaceful.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bronwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanGasparo, Gerente at Can Gasparo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thanks for your comment!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Lovely, beautiful, nice, clean place in the middle of nowhere.
Really away of everything. A young starting couple, very kind and very motivated.
A nice, authentic building, original material, cosy rooms with wooden roof, small bathroom but sufficient.
Excellent food and wine with a marvelous view over the valley.
Nice walking tracks around the premises.
Definately a place to go back to!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank veroniekvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanGasparo, Propietario at Can Gasparo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Veroniekvm,
Thank you so much for your nice comments!
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and and liked our Restaurant, food and wines.
Hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I really liked it and the people.

4 of us (2 couples) spent just 1 night here but had a great time in this place. The communal areas are spacious with some funky "objets" about and interesting comfortable furniture. Rooms were good but a little cold. Sandra was very helpful and we had a lovely dinner and breakfast made from local ingredients. Just a short trip up from the train station (although it's up in the mountains) so go by train!

Room tip: ask for a warm one!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We were trekking the GR 11 through the Spanish Pyrenees (see our journal at http://sites.google.com/site/spanishpyrenees/) and on reaching Planoles rang our hosts at the Cal Gasparo guest house. In a few moments a large 4x4 pulled up and our jovial host Eric shook our hands and threw our bags into the car. We were grateful for the lift as it was a 2.5km climb to the guest house, a beautiful renovated old house. The hotel was a delight, full of interesting old items. The rooms are all named after authors, ours was the Hemmingway room with a huge bed and and en-suite with a double shower, a novelty to us! We went down to dinner where the view from the dining room windows was stunning and the wine and food, much of it created from ingredients grown in the owner's eco-garden, were very special and much appreciated by two hungry walkers. We stayed at some nice hotels on our trek in the Pyrenees but nowhere else was as special as Cal Gasparo.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuwTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews