We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL SMILES ...WHEN HERE!!”

Tathagata Kitchen, A Sikkimese Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 6 Restaurants in Ravangla
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 May 2016

I remember the first time i ate here was the moment i knew that i am gonna keep coming back for more. The couple running the place are warm hearted people and that warmth makes the food grea, you see.
I go there for the chef's magical delicacies. She cooks with such grace and is really sweet. The only place where a veg thali is equivalent to non-veg thali in taste. They have an add-on produce kitchen garden right outside.. the fragrance of the fresh celery pulls one inside..:)
The ambience is serene, calm and the interior is made of wood giving it a cozy feel.
Service is superb, the cutlery is A1.
You would be missing a great deal if you dont visit one of the best restaurants in this quaint town. Agya Rinzing and machi ( the best couple/entrepreneurs) ... keep the tasties coming !!!!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sitoshnas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

This joint is around a kilometer from Ravangla Market... the walk to the joint is comfortable , although going for dinner to the place on walk is not recommended as a part of the road does not have light...This is an excellent place for breakfast / lunch , just below the latest sensation of the town Buddha Park... If you want to spend evening here with good food and drinks - not a problem, but do go there early so that you may come back by 8 pm... else talk to the owner to arrange a taxi for you...This is a resto bar kind.. The joint offers the best food in ravangla.. Suggest you may have lunch here while coming back from the Buddha park... although I enjoyed more the few drinks I had here with chilly pork... Suggest you try the Sikkimese delicacies... The lady who owns the joint, cooks herself.. The open kitchen adds to the ambiance of the joint... A must visit in Ravangla...

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JAIDEEP_BANERJEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

The food and ambience is awesome.Service is prompt.superb view.best place to dine out. Extremely neat and clean. Slightly outside Ravangla town so difficult for tourists to have their dinner and walk back to their hotels. Have to hire a cab for the purpose.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank drbiswarups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Best testy food in Ravangla, ambience, cutlery, service superb. Food is testy with Organic home grown vegetables. Price is too affordable ₹150 for Veg thali is the best I have. Spices salad mouth watering. A bit away from main market near to Buddha park but worth.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank bhaskar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Fresh farm plucked vegetables ,home cooked and sooooooooooooooooo tasty !!!

Spinach and French Beans were amazing !

We Mumbai people came to know the original taste of the vegetables here. Otherwise what we taste is the taste of spices we add !

Do visit ti get away from regular tour food (panner and potatoes)

It is also interesting to visit their farm if you have time.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KVKulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tathagata Kitchen, A Sikkimese Restaurant also viewed

Ravangla, South Sikkim
Ravangla, South Sikkim
 
Ravangla, South Sikkim

Been to Tathagata Kitchen, A Sikkimese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.