We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
53
24
8
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
53
24
8
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews remote place nature lovers bird species paper factory smiling faces extra charge peace of mind clear view family trip couple of days mountain range approach road cottage sunbird retreat ambience mt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2020

We 3 friends had been to this place during March 2020. Our main target was bird photography. In one word this place is just Amazing. We photographed lots of Birds including Ms Gould Sunbird. In addition clear view of snow capped mountain range was bonus for us. We stayed in Cottage (Fir). Enough spacious for even 3 adult males. Beautiful trees all around. We got at least 20 species of Birds in our 2 nights stay.
Before reaching I read many reviews, especially the road condition from Ravangla to this Resort. Yes it is true that road condition is not at it's best but I did not find it that much fearsome which is being highlighted in many reviews. One will find this type of road condition at many renowned hill stations.
Food was quite good with sufficient quantity, Staffs were brilliant with smiling faces. Before staying here it has to kept in mind it is located in a remote place in lap of nature. So better not to expect 24x7 service as available in Leisure Resorts by the side of Sea.
Initially I booked for some other dates but anyhow due to some personal reason wanted to cancel it. But Resort authority offered me, if I want I can reschedule my stay in that case they will not deduct a single paise as cancellation charge or I can take back my booking amount after deducting cancellation charge as per rules. When I rescheduled my visit the kept their words and did not charge any extra money.
A dream place for Bird lovers, Nature Lovers and one who like to spend some quality time. Not providing television is a bold decision for the sake of pure nature.

Room tip: For Birders Pine or Fir Cottage
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2019 via mobile

Stayed at the Wild Flower Retreat for a couple of days.Service overall is good and the ambience is excellent.Recommended for people, who like peace of mind.Approach road from Ravangla is at best poor, so it will take time to reach...

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank DipanjanB39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2019

First the distance is very long.the roads are very dangerous n In very bad condition.as after reaching the location if you book cottage you will get dirty walls,dirty tables,broken lights...Food without salt n taste less...No jio connection no wifi connection...Staffs are resigning from jobs...Lots of issues...Extra cost for everything...Baddest experience...In future never go to this resort...Thank-you for making my trip nightmare...

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Mountainmaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icebeards_WildFlower, Director of Sales at Wild Flower Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

We keep repeating in this forum about the distance. It is also marked well in maps and our website.

That jio and wifi do not work here are also mentioned in our website. In fact there is a passage in our website on who should not come here.

Our cottages are wooden cottages and wood gets stained. We respectfully disagree that they are dirty as we deep clean them regularly.

As far less salt and less spice in food is concerned, we we try to keep it healthy and homely.

We are in a forest area, in a silent valley facing Kanchenjunga. Our nearest town is 16 km away. These are all facts well documented in our website.

And finally we are not a resort. Our apologies for your experience but it would really help you if you set your expectations right before you in future.

Last month a group of 80+ year old citizens came and enjoyed their time here for more than a week. It is a matter of what you seek.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2019

From Buddha park, it's around 30 to 40 mins drive. There were no sign board enroute to this resort. When we went they had some issue in their system and made us wait for more than 20 minutes in the cold weather to make an entry. Staff were helpful. At night when we ordered for a room heater even though it's mentioned as extra charge, they got 2 and both were in pathetic condition, when they said they will bring the 3rd one, we lost cool and decided not to get one and have to sleep in cold. They take order and then cook. Even then they misses an item from our order and the quantity was also very little. If you open taps, it will take 30 minutes to get a bucket full. Room was OK. Definitely will not go back again.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_Bng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icebeards_WildFlower, Director of Sales at Wild Flower Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

The place is Sikkim, the month is December, it is a wide open resort and therefore it is cold. Our staff tried to be helpful by changing the heater. All our heaters are just an year old. You have to allow some time to people who are running around trying to help. Instead in such cold you chose to lose your cool :)

Our food is made to order fresh and not cooked earlier and reheated.

We try to make it as comfortable as possible within our means but if you refuse to take the hospitality there is nothing much we can do. Note that the persons who serve are also human beings. Missing an item from an order may happen, for which we apologise.

Please help people who serve you with a smile and they will fall head over heels to serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2019

The resort is 18 kms from Ravangla. A place very close to nature. If lucky, one can see a clear view of Mt. Kanchenjunga from the balcony. The rooms are big, washrooms are super clean, well maintained. The staffs are friendly and helpful. The food served is very tasty, homely food. I will genuinely recommend this place to every nature lover.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SidMazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Icebeards_WildFlower, Director of Sales at Wild Flower Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2019

Respected Sir

Thank you for taking the time to provide a very positive and detailed review. Our staff will be delighted to hear that they have been able to provide you with good memories of Wild Flower Retreat.

With our wide open space and being close to nature makes it quite challenging for our staff to provide service and they try hard to make it all happen.

Thank you once more for recognizing that effort and we all hope that you visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews