We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rainbow won't disappoint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rainbow Holiday Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Holiday Home
kuala lumpur, malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rainbow won't disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

To anyone looking for a getaway in the highlands of Wayanad, the ideal base would be Rainbow Holiday Home. I just spent a stretch from 28th Dec 2011 to 3rd Jan 2012 there and would love to be there again.

Not just for the lovely Kerala food and the very good climate of cool mornings and nights, but also for the central location of this homestay. I covered quite a lot of sights in the district, and made a trip to Mysore too. It was smooth, on time and in sync with your holiday mood.

Mr Livingston, who owns and runs the place, will be happy to make the arrangements for your sightseeing. He arranged my transport and guide, and pointed out sights not to be missed.

Coming back to the food, it was delicious, traditional and very generous in its servings. Mrs Livingston takes the credits for this, a great cook to have on your side, when you want to sample what a land has to offer.

It was memorable, with other guests chatting with you in the mornings and evening, in between their programme for the day. It felt like having a holiday with close friends and family. Definitely going again!

Solomon Morais
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Room Tip: the room i had was spacious and well divided into sleeping and relaxing areas. i think the other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mansolo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    17
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
22
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

In fact I changed my tour plan from Kannur to Wayanad due to some unforeseen development. By that time, all the rooms were booked in Wayanad. At last I got the number of Rainbow Holiday Home throgh one of the contacts.

I put my stay in sum.

Location : The main attraction. Way out of city cramp but yet the city
centre is within walkable distance.

Hospitality : Excellent

Accommodation : Room is spacious but little more care to be given for cleanliness
(though we have to shift from ground to first floor. As per the
host, the first floor was more luxurious. I failed to understand
why. The wash room doesn't have the hangers as in the
ground floor.)

Ambience : Calm & serene

Food : Good. Accommodation was negotiated with breakfast. Charged
nominal for bed /morning / evening tea / coffee

Linen : Needs improvement

Wash rooms : Good

Hosts : Friendly, understanding.

Score : 5.5/10

Remarks : No hesitation to recommend to my friends / relatives.

Thank you & Mrs. Livingston for making our stay as comfortable as you can.

Good Luck!!

Prakash Govindapuram

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGPURAM2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We had a very pleasant and peaceful stay at the Rainbow Holiday Home. All the reviews and feedbacks are true to their core. Mr. and Mrs. Livingston were very cooperative towards all our requirements. The place is neat, situated at a very calm location still accessible being at heart of the town. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATraveller_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I was little skeptical about then place when I read all and only positive reviews in Tripadvisor. But once I reached there and saw the place I understood why people wrote only nice things about this place. It is simply because this place is so incredibly good. I had my reservations only till I opened the doors of the White Cottage. This holiday home is much more than any other Holiday home I have visited.
All rooms are suites. Simple yet aesthetically done up interiors, comfortable bed, clean linen, neat bathroom, it was completely satisfying. It has a very homely feeling to it. The rooms make you feel like you have gone to your friend's or family's place for a stay over. Wide windows across the bed from White Cottage has a stunning view of the hills. There is ample lighting because of the large windows and it is lovely to just draw your curtains and take in the beautiful landscape. There is a living room with a couch which converts into a bed, a TV, a dining table. You will not miss to notice the tiger head on the living room wall, the interesting thing about it is that it is a lamp shade, switch it on to see the glowing tiger head :-) I totally loved it.
The bedroom has large windows, comfortable cane chairs, a dressing table, comfortable bed with side tables and Victorian bedside lamps. Though I have problems using blankets in most of the places, the blankets here looked neat and usable. There are lot of shelves and wood work in the room which makes you feel at home. The bathroom is simple and clean. There is no dry and wet area separation, but it is good enough. The bathroom fittings are all Jaguar and there is lot of attention given to details like these. There are no major compromises made in the way the room is designed, there is ample lighting, several sockets, lots of storage space which is much more than what is required. These are not such big things, but they matter when you see it in such small places. Probably I went with less expectations and I found all these really impressive. There has been some effort taken in the design, creation and maintenance of this place and it definitely shows.
The owners are extremely friendly, very hospitable and really generous. We were a very noisy and loud group of friends, but they were really cool with it. They arranged a bonfire for us. The food was simple home made food. Awesome timely service of everything. They accommodated all the requests we made. Robin was really helpful and kind. The place is very close to the town, there is a 100 meter stretch of road which is bad, otherwise the approach is good. There is enough place to park 4-5 cars and an exclusive place for bonfire. The food was always arranged on time, though you need to let them know in advance if you are planning to eat there. There are restaurants close by and Robin also helped us to get us food from outside. All in all, a superb stay and we enjoyed it to the fullest!

Room Tip: View is best from White Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank starryclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I just love this place. It was just perfect. Clean, maintained, with excellent veg food and great arrangement for site seeing. Also its really makes lot sense for couples as well. Instead of spending big bucks in 5* hotesls, its worth staying here. The place is just perfect. facing forest and city at a time.

Special Thanks to Mr Robin who help us for every thing we need. Who arranged bus tickets dropped back to busstop etc :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunilsbjoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
12.1 km away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
5.3 km away
Coffea Aroma Resort - Wayanad
14.6 km away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
13.0 km away
Rippon Mount Resorts
Rippon Mount Resorts
#11 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 km away
Green Mount Cottage
Green Mount Cottage
#13 of 70 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Holiday Home

Property: Rainbow Holiday Home
Address: Old Market Road, (Opp Post Office), Kalpetta 673121, India
Region: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 70 Speciality Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RAINBOW provides the picture perfect backdrop of WAYANAD heightened by the soothing flow of nature, interspersed with myriad songs of the birds in harmony, whistling winds and whispering palms.. Rainbow Holiday Home located in the place of scenic beauty - Wayanad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rainbow Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Holiday Home Kalpetta, India - Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing