We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Vouilly, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
3idahotra...
Hailey, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Omaha Mansion was a fantastic find in the Normandy countryside. The house was large, well kept, incredibly decorated, and in a perfect location for local activities. Samuelle was a charming hostess - great with communication and help. The house is fully furnished with everything you need and more. The grounds are lovely - enjoy the pond, hot tub, sauna and pool! Vouilly is an ideal spot for visiting the landing beaches, Bayeux, and Mont St. Michel - close to everything.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marnolly
1 review
“Fantastic place for your Normandy get-away!”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our stay at Omaha Mansion has been outstanding in every single aspect.
This wonderful newly renovated building from 1790 played a huge role in our wonderful stay at the Normandy.
The gîte managed to be spacious yet really homey at the same time. Its interior is beautiful with so much love for the little details.

As originated we wanted to discover the historic sites of the surrounding we always couldn't wait to return "home" to spend as much time in the "Clos de Blisse" as possible.
The children were so happy to play soccer in the huge park or go (successfully) fishing in the big pond, we adults enjoyed using the sauna or cooking in the huge well-equipped kitchen, most evenings ended at the big wooden table that easily fit all 9 of us.

The mornings started with fresh Croissants, Pains au Chocolates and Baguettes that were delivered right to the window frame by a local bakery.

Last but not least a big shout-out to the charming house owner, Samuelle!
As soon as there were questions she answered them right away, she provided us with lists of local markets and gave us tips and recommendations when needed.

Thank you so much, Samuelle, we'd love to come back in the future, also to see your newest addition to the "Clos de Blisse", the swimming pool!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
1 review
“Super!”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a great holiday in this beautiful house. The owner was very nice, the location and the house were fantastic. We will probably return another holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nathalie...
Rotterdam
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond expectation!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent an unforgettable week in this newly renovated beautiful gîte . Each and every detail is designed with taste and a great sense of style.
It has all the comfort and luxury of a modern gîte and the charm and character of an old gîte.
Just like in the pictures!
The surroundings are peaceful and a joy to hear birdsong in the morning. The garden, more or less a big parc, is a delight to relax, at the end of a day. The children enjoyed rowing and swimming in the pond, relaxing in the hot tub and sauna.
On top of that we have fresh bread every morning at our window with croissants and pain au chocolat.
It's location is ideal for discovering the D-day landing beaches and its museums, Bayeux, Caen and even Mt Saint Michel (1,5 hour away). We went for a day to one of the Channel Islands, Jersey from Carteret. Very nice place to visit.
Our hosts, Samuelle and Mathias are very friendly and helpful. We received a long list of places to visit in the surroundings, the daily markets and the some more info on restaurants and where we could do our groceries.
They are our neighbors, but very discreet. The communications by email or sms have been very easy with immediate answers.
Mathias and Samuelle invited us for their usual pizza-evening where we baked pizza's with the other guests on the premises (there is also Utah house). It was a wonderful night and the pizza's where wonderful.
Many thanks again Samuelle and Mathias for the wonderful week and we will definitely return!!!
Lieve groet,
Otto, Nathalie, Josephine, Babette, Eduard and Daan.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen1000
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fairy Tale Wedding! Blissful Stay! And that bread!”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

First of all, Samuelle Carlson is an extraordinary hostess. She made us feel as if she were our best friend and couldn't do enough for us. Which, since we live in LA and were organizing a wedding in France, was a ton of work. We married in a church built in the 11th to 13th centuries, about a 7 minute walk from the gite.

Second, opt to stay in the Big House. We stayed in the smaller gite annex, which is lovely with all the modcons plus ancient stonework etc, but she will be renting the Big House for the same price as the annex, starting I believe in August 2016. You automatically double your bathrooms and available space, and it is in the same lovely style as the smaller gite.

I still miss the Freshly Baked Bread that the baker delivered to our kitchen window at 8am every morning! Opt for the Baguette Traditionnel, or the Trad as it's called there. Plus some pains au chocolat. I don't know why, but somehow eating that bread every morning with locally made Normandy butter, I still didn't gain weight. It must be the magic of France! Also the cherries from l'Espagne (Spain) at the traditional grocer in Bayeaux (where they get everything for you, no self serve thank you), are something I still pine for. Best cherries ever!

We went to many fascinating WWII sites. The Norman people love Americans, btw, and celebrate their liberation by the Allies every year.

An enchanting and unforgettable stay!~

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,518
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing