We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveller rating
630
38
6
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
38
6
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach boy vanilla yogurt beach suite octopus fish our honeymoon french polynesia overwater bungalow bora bora coral gardens each morning half board dinner menu perfect end half day tour snorkel trip hermit crabs
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 682 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Dream, fantasize and imagine...you still won't know the magic of this private island unless you have breathed the vanilla air, tasted the fresh coconut from the coconut grove, seen the beauty of the fluorescent underwater coral, listened to the ocean sounds from your bed in the middle of the night, touched the white sand as soon as you step off of your patio to swim in the sea so clear that you can witness the underwater world without even putting on a snorkeling mask. Vahine Island took our breath away every second that we were lucky enough to experience this unbelievable place. My husband is still talking about Chef Pierre's 5 star food...and what a sigh of relief to know he knew all about gluten free eating and I didn't have to worry. Elisabeth and Roi made us feel like we were the only ones on the island and went out of their way multiple times to make our 20th Anniversary one that we will talk about for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank journeemyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, General Manager at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear R&R,

We hope you had a nice flight back.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you on our Island and to take care of every single detail for your 20th wedding anniversary. We hope we managed to make it as special as we really wanted it to be. We are pleased to read that you will remember our Vahine experience for a real long time. You actually really need to come back to visit with the kids. =)

Please take care and we all hope to see again.

With our warmest regards,

Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

We stayed for 3 nights on Vahine Island in a superior beach room as part of a Tahiti, Vahine Island and Four Seasons Bora Bora once in a lifetime trip. If I could only go back to one place Vahine Island would be it--and I'm saying that after the Four Seasons Bora Bora upgraded us to a plunge pool suite with the most premier Mt. Otemanu view.
The intimacy of the Vahine Island and excellent staff make the difference. The manager Elisabeth was great. Landry was our go-to guy and he assisted us with anything and everything we needed. He also served as professional photographer and singer during our vow renewal on the island. Server Moana (sp?) knew us after day one and consistently gave us extra coconut bread. :)
We participated in the daily snorkeling trip, kayaked, snorkeled off of our bungalow and simply walked and explored every corner of the island holding hands and taking pictures. Quietly visiting with others on the island was pleasant, and everyone we spoke with enjoyed Vahine as much as we did.
The food was fantastic---and we are not foodies. I was actually a little concerned about the food as I am mostly vegetarian---but it was easy to make adjustments. We ate at La Villa Mahana in Bora Bora - supposedly best restaurant around- and we both agreed we enjoyed our meals at Vahiine Island more. Hats off to Chef Pierre!
I cried (in joy) when we arrived and were greeted by Elisabeth and I cried (in sadness) when we left.
Maururu Vahine Island---you are a very special place and we hope to return some day.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank hoff3405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear David and Jennifer,

It was a real pleasure to have you here with us and to organise your vow renewal.
Since that day, Landry wants to be a professional photographer instead of beeing my assistant. =)

Thanks a lot for such a nice review .
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay so much and Moea promised she will send you extra coconut bread. =)

We look forward to welcoming you again in a near futur. (No tears this time)

Our warmest regards from our small paradise,

Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent 4 nights of our honeymoon at Vahine Island and it definitely wasn't enough time there! Elisabeth and Pierre were so friendly and welcoming with Pierre cooking THE most fantastic 3 course meals each night. The food was absolutely world class and could easily have been found in a Michelin starred restaurant. The island itself is gorgeous and lends itself to relaxing. We went snorkelling with Roi, a free activity put on each morning by Vahine Island, which was brilliant and another morning we kayaked over to what seemed to be a desert island- bliss. Again the kayaks and other equipment (snorkels, fins, paddle boards etc.) were free of charge. Each afternoon there is an activity organised for those who wish to take part. We couldn't have asked for anything more over the 4 days, we just wish we lived nearer than the UK so we could return again and again!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank CazzaD86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Vahine lovers,

What a pleasure to read a comment like yours! =)
We are happy to read that you had such good time with us and while taking part of our offered acivities.
Thanks a lot for the comparison with the Michelin Starred Restaurants. It is true that the natural warmness of our staff and the mix French/Local fresh food are 2 of our main assets.

Thanks a lot again for having taken the time to write such a lovely comment to us.

Take care and best wishes for the fuure.

Warm regards,


Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We booked our stay here through Pacific for Less in an overwater bungalow for 5 nights and it was the perfect amount of time to enjoy the resort and its amenities while taking advantage of some of the tours.
The island is small and intimate and it provides an experience of Tahiti that cannot be replicated by the larger resorts. It is obvious that the manager, Elisabeth, takes pride in her work and has a genuine desire to make sure that you have an exceptional experience at Vahine.
We loved our bungalow for its spaciousness,our access to the water, the views of the sunset, the hammock, and of course, the glass coffee table that opens up so you can feed the fish. One of the many aspects of this resort that we liked is that it is a small and relatively untouched island so the natural life is thriving around it. Our bungalow was over a small rock that fish used to swim around, this almost guaranteed that you would see something swimming under your bungalow. They also provide bread for you to attract the fish. Yes, black tipped reef sharks are present, but that is a good thing as they have no interest in humans and that is a sign of a healthy ecosystem around the island. We enjoyed great swimming and snorkeling while there. You also have great tour options as well, we did a dive tour and an island jeep/jet ski tour.
The food is out of this world, Pierre treats the guests to amazing and varied cuisine using both local ingredients and items he gets brought in. The staff provide very personalized and warm service.
The resort lets you use kayaks and paddle boards and one of the captains showed me how to use their local paddle boat. We also enjoyed the planned activities such as weaving, nature walk, coconut demo, and the music and dance show. When we were not engaged in an activity, we just relaxed and took in the natural beauty of the island.
We could go on and on about this resort and how much we loved staying there. The staff made sure to make our stay memorable as we were there as part of our honeymoon.
Mauruuru roa Elisabeth, Pierre, and everyone else!

Room Tip: Any of the three over water bugnalows let you climb down the deck and enter a sandy part of the lagoon to go swimming.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Dear Joe and Andrea,

We guess you are now arrived in South of Corea. Hope you had time enough in the US to be with your family and friends for several days.

Thank you so much for your warm comment. It was a real pleasure to have you here with us and to take care of every small detail for your honeymoon.

Asia is not so far from Vahine. Please be sure to take some holidays in several years to come back and visit us again! =)

Take care and best wishes for your future.

Our warmest regards,

Elisabeth & Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Vahine hardly needs another glowing review but they deserve it. We travelled from the UK and agonised about where to stay so we thought this might be helpful for other UK travellers. There are a thousand reasons to stay here but here are our top 3 reasons why you should include Vahine in your trip.
1. It's small. There are only 9 bungalows so you really feel like you're on a desert island rather than just another resort. It's a very special island too.
2. The service is 100% genuine. The team there really care and it shows. This isn't another contrived butler service or huge hotel chain trying to make you feel special, you really are.
3. The food is incredible. The Lagoon restaurant on Bora Bora gets good reviews here and we just finished comparing their tasting menu with the dinners that we had on Vahine. Both use local ingredients so we pretty much had the same dishes in both places. Of the 7 courses, Vahine won 6 of them. The Lagoon is still excellent, but Vahine is another level.

If you travel from the UK to French Polynesia then you have to visit Bora Bora but make sure you go to Vahine first. It really is as good as everyone else says.

Room Tip: The lagoon bungalows offer amazing views, are big and give you access to the best natural swimming pool you could hope for!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skigirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vahine-Island, Directeur général at Vahine Island - Private Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Vahine Island friends,

Thank you so much for your time in writing us such a glowing review. It's always a pleasure to read that our guests felt in love with our small 9-bungalow island.

We hope you had a nice trip back to the UK.

Take care and best wishes for the future.

Elisabeth and Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews