We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$184
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$329/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$150
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$90
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$364
US$231
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$63
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$406
US$325
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,656)
Filter reviews
4,656 results
Traveller rating
3,467
866
205
77
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,467
866
205
77
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslobby barblue barjw marriott phuketsiam delikids clubandaman grilljapanese restaurantcooking schoolginja tastesouth poolmandara spahealth clubturtle villageadult poolbreakfast buffetcooking classtennis courts
Filter
Updating list...
3,485 - 3,490 of 4,656 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the JW. We had 2 connecting rooms for our family of four. The hotel totally exceeded our expectations. We typically do not choose chain hotels but we only had 2 nights and preferred to be both close to the airport to reduce transfer time and also to be away from Patong Beach which isn't our style either. The JW Marriott totally satisfied both needs. We were really impressed with the level of service and the facilities. It was clean and well manicured. The pools were great! We found there to be enough food choices to satisfy a range of budgets. Yes, you can't eat at local Thai prices here on the property but hey, you are at a 5* hotel! I don't think there is a luxury hotel in the entire area that offers cheap food! And besides, an $8 to $10 cocktail is what you would pay at a nice restaurant or bar here in the Northeast where we live! We found the overall value for what you get out of this resort to be very high! We had a great stay and I would highly recommend this place if you want a beautiful spot, great beach, nice facilities, great pools, lots of variety of restaurants and food, proximity to airport and away from all the honky tonk of Phuket!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisdiannefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

We stayed here with Marriott points. Property was gorgeous, with deserted beach. A bit far from restaurants, but we rented a car and had no problem exploring the rest of the island. If you're planning on eating at the resort, be prepared to pay 5 star hotel prices! Don't bother going down the beach to the restaurant shacks- they know what you're paying to eat at the resort, so their prices are jacked up as well. Hit the road and there's good, reasonably priced fresh food and drink!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank froggnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

We stayed at the JW Marriott for a short three nights at the two room villa. With a 22 month old boy, the villa was absolutely amazing with all the space, oversized bed and the little patio that looked over the garden.

The whole purpose of the vacation was to get a few days off from our hectic lives in Seoul and try to prevent our son from catching a cold. (He fell sick during our last vacation to Saipan in Christmas and we spent more time in the room trying to get his fever down.) Luckily he stayed cold free the whole time there and is still cold free.

1. Room accomodations
Outstanding. With the fully equipped kitchen (microwave, pots and pans, wine glasses.. the works), DVD player, total 3 TVs (one in the living room, 1 in each room), washer & dryer (excellent for people with kids), detergents ...

2. Food
We are not very big on Thai food but the food here was GREAT!

We tried both breakfast buffets but preferred the Cucina a bit more (Less expensive at 500bht to the 700bht at the Cafe) as we both are not heavy morning eaters. Assorted fruits, smoothies, egg station, bakery selection, cereals, pancakes, waffles, salads, cold cuts... basically what you would expect at most resorts. The only difference between the two is the variety and the absence of Japanese (rice, miso, kyoja, fish) at the Cucina.

Food at poolside was also excellent. Pizzas are a must and the fried noodles were also good. Fruit platter recommendable. But I would not recommend the hot dog or the kids' chicken nuggets. Happy hour was at 5 or 6 ( i forgot ) but they ring the gong so don't miss out.

3. Grounds
We took our stroller here and there and found many lovely spots. The lotus pond next to the lobby is good in the morning as you can see the lotus actually open up (go before 9 am) and the torch lit scene after dark was also a pretty sight. There are also hammocks on the grounds so check it out.

4. Child care
They do have child care facilities (babysitters at a cost per hour) with separated rooms for different age groups with plenty of toys, books, dvds and activities for the older aged kids. Nicely kept but one downside is that children under 5 need to be accompanied by a parent or a babysitter at all times.

5. Elephants
Only saw them once. They don't appear very frequently. You have to be really lucky to see them.

6. Shopping
We really like Jim Thompson but if you aren't going to buy a whole lot to receive tax refunds, I suggest you check out the store at the airport's duty free shop in Bangkok if you drop by there.

There weren't many downsides to the resort.
Although the prices were a bit high compared to other Thai resorts we were satisfied with the service we received.

If you like to see the town, the shuttle is available at a cost and they do hire taxis. We arranged transportations before hand through a travel agent and that was cheaper (approx. USD45 for 5 hours rent with a driver - but it takes two hours to go and come back from Patong leaving you only enough time to get a bite and a sip of coffee).

Kate (Seoul, Korea)

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luvkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2008

When I booked my stay at the JW Marriott it was for one thing-- tranquility. My experience was exactly what I hoped for and more. My room had a fabulous view, relaxation mats and a fabulous deep bathtub. The tranquility/adult pool was just steps from my room, and the beach was not too much farther. As a self-professed foodie I took one ofthe Ginja cooking classes and thoroughly enjoyed it. From an early morning trip to the maket, spirit ceremony, class and wonderful lunch it was well-worth the cost. I also spent an afternoon at the spa, and again it was well-worth the price. A few weeks previous tot his trip I had visited a CA spa that did not have half of the ambiance but at a much larger cost. As a single woman I always felt that I was treated with much respect and courtesy by the staff. When I decided to eat at one of the more elegant restaurants at dinner I was never seated of to a corner. I always received gracious service, and had a trip of a lifetime.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Bobcat91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

My husband and I have recently returned from this hotel after a two week belated honeymoon, and it is the most amazing place i have ever encountered! I get goosebumps just thinking about it now and have already started saving hard (u need to!) for a return trip. Before we went we did lots of research, read lots of reviews on this site and decided on the trips we were going to take. But nothing prepares you for the experience itself, it is breathtaking and frankly indescribable!
The blue bar was the most romantic, relaxing place I have ever been to, but i feel it is underused and the night that there was an arranged party the place was buzzing and the atmosphere was unreal, fireworks, dancing, the works!! But please, use it! It is fantastic to lie on the huge sala beds looking up at the stars, drinking wonderful cocktails (sometimes playing connect four!!) and having the undivided attention of the staff! One night while we were there we saw two huge white owls flying in the grounds and my husband saw a fire fly, this all just added to the experience!
We enjoyed going to the Rim Nam pool bar for happy hour, after a relaxing day by one of the three beautiful pools, and watching the sunset and the torches that light the pool begin to flicker. This was five till six thirty and even the wine was included in the happy hour menu (finally some reasonably priced wine!!). The wine cost did not seem to be a reflection of the fact that 'they had you due to location' as others have suggested in their reviews, it is simply the cost of importation, the reason i think this is because on the two occasions that we went into Patong the restaurant prices for wine were similar to the Marriotts costing.
Cucina was superb for pizza aroud the pool and the restaurant itself was good too, as was the Andaman Grill where you were always served a huge freshly baked, warm loaf with pate and butter at the beginning of your meal (careful though, it fills you up!!) But the highlight for me was Ginja, wow, the nights that we went were Siam wine journey nights, where you drank as much wine as you wanted for 700bahts each, the staff were so attentive, they topped your glass up frequently and offered you alternatives, depending on your choice of food. The waitress who really stood out for us was Wiparat, a lady whose name means bird in English, she was lovely, recommending dishes and wines without even being asked. I wold definitely recommend the set menu for two, you can swap things around off the other set menu so ask about that (Unless you have Wiparat, who will tell you!)
If you get a bit fed up of the pirices of spirits head off down the beach to your right, and you will see a Thai flag fluttering on one of the trees, set back is a little beach hut, ran by a really friendly family. Their prices are good and so is the Pad Thai!! When we went they showed us a photo album of the turtles that visit the beach early on in the year to lay eggs and they showed us an information book they had collated about the tsunami which was really interesting to read.
We also did the 'romance by design' dinner on the beach and that was such a memorable experience. If you do that make sure you book the table for around 6.00 so that you can watch the sunset, don't be put off by the price, it is definitely worth it!! We watched that day as they painstakingly worked to set up the table and covering, it was like every time was the first time, the amount of care they put into it! Before you book, double check the weather forecast as there tends to be tropical showers in the evening ( this only happened a few times during our stay) you can check this at reception.
Trips- we went on three trips in total. We went to Phang Nga bay and james bond island by speed boat which was excellent, i loved it!! We went on the siam 4 in 1 safari where we rode on an elephant and a water buffalo and saw monkeys trained to pick coconuts, how rubber is taken from rubber trees, how a jungle curry is made and had a lovley lunch overlooking beautiful scenery! We also went to see the lady boys at the simon cabaret, this was 'interesting' not the best show on earth but 'interesting' nonetheless!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Lou15a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews