We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,625)
Filter reviews
3,625 results
Traveller rating
2,807
635
125
41
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,807
635
125
41
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand box loca vore thai restaurant quan spa sandbox restaurant sand bar pool villa deluxe room breakfast buffet turtle village kids pool special thanks mai khao beach thai boxing eggs benedict main pool executive chef
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 3,625 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Our family of four loved our 9 night stay in october. The hotel is a perfect size, big enough to have all you need but yet still feeling intimate.
Our kids loved the kids club and the fantastic staff and range of things to do. The kids pool area also worked really well and was an easy place to hang out with the little ones.
The service was consistently excellent, very friendly and nothing too much trouble. The room was perfect... every night a deep untroubled sleep!
My wife and i had different views on the food... i thought it better than expected for a resort, she thought it ok but could have been better... but overall we loved our stay

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank paulbull06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear paulbull06

Thanks for the great review! We are excited that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is good to know that your kids had fun at the Kids Club and you were able to get a good night sleep...;-)

We look forward welcoming you back a next time again.

Until then

Sander Looijen
General Manager
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Not quite a luxury 'boutique' resort though I feel it wants to sell itself as such to differ from it's bigger sister family oriented resort next door, the JW Marriott. Rooms are decent, comfortable but again, lacking the finer details. Had to air the room out and ask for a change of fresh sheets upon checking in as there was a damp, musty smell in the room and sewer odors in the shower. Tired looking bath towels, worn furniture, not too attractive ponds and water features around the property, all look in need of some attention. Balconies in the rooms could be anything from nice to nasty depending on what floor or wing you're on so beware. Staff were excellent, friendly and helpful and this helped sooth things over. Again, a pool that's more boutique sized and definitely too small to handle a high occupancy, especially when there are more families with young children. While we were able to find ourselves a quiet space away from the pool, it was unfortunate we weren't able to avail ourselves to more time in it.. The beach along this stretch is nice but the relatively steep run down to the water pretty much curtails any kind of activity on the beach itself. With just two stand up paddleboards and a hand full of wakeboards available at the little beach stand, it's hard to rev up the fun meter here unfortunately. The great F & B from their main dining facilty, Loca Vore and their more fine dining style Thai restaurant Takieng and most of the staff do help make up for these other shortcomings.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear bbrhk

Thank you for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor.

We are excited that you have enjoyed our service and food & beverage offerings, I will ensure to share those compliments with the team.

We are sad though to be reading that we have fallen short of meeting your expectations on other fronts. Our rooms should be fresh and certainly not smell unpleasant and if this was the case then I must apologise. I will also reinforce the upkeep of the room and personally inspect this to ensure things are up to our usual 5* standard.

I would love to welcome you back one day to show you the improvements we have made in these areas.

I wish you safe travels.

Sander Looijen
General Manager
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

Stayed at the Renaissance over Christmas 2017 and what an amazing experience. First up the staff at this hotel are amazing - genuinely friendly and always accommodating. My children used the kids club every day and loved it and the decent size pool provided a nice relief from the hot days. There is also a smaller kids pool for younger children which is shaded. The beach which is meters form the property is clean although the waves maybe too large for smaller children. So plenty of options for swimming.

The rooms are very spacious and modern, we had a corner room on an upper floor which was an added bonus

The resort is away from any large towns and I was originally concerned that we'd quickly get bored with hotel food but this was not the case. There was a large choice always on offer, with the hotel running various "themes" most nights. The breakfast was excellent, with a wide global range to suit all tastes.

We used the free bikes most days, either to cycle around the area or to take a quick trip up to the small mall which is about 5-10 minutes ride away (There is a shuttle also). There you will find a few other dining options and some convenience stores.

We didn't rent a car and used taxi's for a few trips, if you haven't been to Phuket before you may want to consider renting a car to give you some more freedom. The taxi's although relatively inexpensive but can add up for longer trips.

There is also a small gym with some cardio machines and some free weights.

In summary a great hotel for family's with truly amazing staff.

Room tip: Upper floor , facing the gardens.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear IrishWorldTraveler

Thank you for the great review! It is wonderful to know that you and the family have enjoyed the time with us.

Also great to know that you have enjoyed the menu different evenings our resort had on offer such as the Night Market, Seafood BBQ, Phuket buffet, fire show and more.

I have forwarded your comments about the food to the kitchen brigade and they are equally excited about your review of the breakfast.

We look forward welcoming you back again a next time

Sander Looijen
General Manager
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Hotel was great. Not too big but has everything you could want. Sits on a really nice beach.
Staff were all superb and really go out of their way to make your stay that little bit better.
Can’t recommend it enough.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank eric1997531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear Eric

Thanks for the review! We are super excited to know that you have enjoyed the resort and its warm Thai hospitality.

We look forward welcoming you back a next time again.

Until then

Sander Looijen
General Manager
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017

Our first time i Phuket ! Guys were really helpful and food was great ! We will definately come back because of Sam, Kluag and Will, thank you huys and we do really look forward to meeting you soon :-)))

Room tip: Garden villa
Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lindylou322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander_Looijen, General Manager at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Dear lindylou322

Thank you for the great review! Great to know that the team at Takieng has taken good care of you

We look forward welcoming you back a next time around.

Until then

Sander Looijen
General Manager
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews