We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel-Restaurant Nougier(Saint-Etienne-de-Fursac)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel de France(Bessines-sur-Gartempe)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rive Gauche Hotel Restaurant(Bessines-sur-Gartempe)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$71
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auclair(Gueret)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$83
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$52
US$47
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
212
93
37
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
93
37
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed here for nightsfantastic experiencelong weekendour room was spaciousbeautiful locationreception staffrural francelonger visitchateaumealescapepromisechefs
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Staying in a Chateau? - yes please!! The building is impressive as you drive up the long drive and our room was very nicely decorated with a big deep claw footed bath and the usual supply of smellies. The hotel, we feel is potentially struggling!! The big development that is advertised - golf, spa, French village, children's play areas, etc is along way from completion and in fact there is no evidence of development at all - so it certainly isn't going to be ready for 2017! The two ladies on reception were very welcoming and friendly but seemed to do everything - run reception, take guests to their rooms, run the bar and serve food. The Head Waiter or Maitre D was surly and rude and did not want us to eat off the menu which was a special offer - I'm sorry but that is not good enough. The food was OK - nothing overly special, generally lacking seasoning and certainly not a fine dining experience. The wine is also extremely expensive with a low quality Chablis at 30 euros a bottle! The cheapest wine was 28 euros a bottle! The hotel website boasts a gym - well it is not. It consists of one treadmill and decrepit exercise bike in what feels like a cupboard in the lower ground floor of the hotel.

A beautiful setting, but will not stay here again. I am sure there are more friendly local hotels and B&Bs to try.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ksusans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We decided to stop here and break the long return drive from the UK to Foix. It was a magical evening. The Chateau itself is very impressive and been beautifully maintained. The room was gorgeous, the meal incredible with the best foire gras I have ever tasted and the staff delightful, especially the waitress from Halifax who amazed us by single handedly serving a full Restaurant totally on her own and doing it in style. We will return and recommend it to our family & friends,

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roxyrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdirection, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear Sir and Madam,

We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us and have passed on your kind words to our Team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here about two year's ago and as we enjoyed it so much we thought we would return. The room was very nice. Went to dinner - a complete disaster! We ordered a la carte ( which isn't cheap) and the starter was acceptable, we ordered one chicken and one 'limousin' beef for our main courses. The chicken was tasteless and the beef, although ordered 'a point' came up 'Sinon'.
We asked if it could be replaced correctly cooked but the same piece of beef was returned so tough it was uneatable. The waitress made no comment at all on collecting our plates. That night there was a 'plopping' noise in our room and on investigation there was water dripping through the spotlight in the ceiling. We tried several times to get some response from reception and housekeeping, but none was forthcoming. The next day we asked to speak to the Manager but was told she would not be there until 11am. The receptionist then arranged for us to change rooms, but there was no word of apology or sorry for the inconvenience. As we were going out for the day we asked to speak to her on our return. We were then told she was at a meeting. At 5.15 we returned to see her only to be told she had gone home. We did manage to speak to Stephanie the next morning who was very understanding and did placate us a little, but the whole experience was disastrous for a hotel of this standard.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdirection, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Brenda,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and Restaurant.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Regarding your disappointment in our restaurant, I can only apologize for the experience you had. Our restaurant and kitchen staff pride themselves in delivering a high quality service and I am personally reviewing the service you received that evening.

We have indeed changed direction since your last visit. In December of last year we decided to no longer aspire to retain the Michelin Star, instead creating beautiful local dishes that valorise the Limousin and Creuse, and that are far more accessible in price to our local audience.

In respect to the leak in your room, I am shocked that no staff members or management were available for you to raise your concerns, we have a full time maintenance team on site for such eventualities thus in my experience we have never not been able to respond to a client on a maintenance issue. This being said your complaint is being actioned and I can assure you I am doing a thorough investigation into the service you received. The leak in your room has now been repaired.
Likewise, your request to speak to a manager not being followed up, is terrible practice and not something we have experienced here before. The reason being is we are a team of three General Managers onsite and there is always one of us present from 8am – 11pm every day of the week.

Stephanie is one of our General Managers and so I am pleased you were able to raise your concerns with her.

I am sorry you didn’t have an agreeable time with us and can only hope one day you wish to return, where we would be delighted to reinstate the confidence you had in us 2 year ago.

We look forward to seeing you again.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Beautiful and impressive building - a little lacking in period features internally, but spacious public room volumes. The bedroom was not large but certainly adequate, and the en-suite bathroom well appointed. In keeping with an old building, there were a few discernible cobwebs and some of the furnishings were a little jaded - but nothing sufficient to detract from what was a very pleasant overnight stop-over. The 42 euro menu - whilst not cheap was not unreasonable value and immensely enjoyable. (there were cheaper options). I do not think there was a spa as such, but spa services were offered in the room. The information pack mentioned that golf was available, but time did not allow us to investigate this further.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdirection, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Sir/ Madame,


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and Restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stop over with us. We were disappointed to here of the cobwebs in your room and have taken immediate action to eliminate this problem. We will pass on your kind words to our Restaurant and Kitchen Staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Chateau de La Cazine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We booked Chateau de la Cazine as a stopover on the way to a wedding. The stay was extremely disappointing and far too expensive for what it was! The Chateau itself is boring, soulless and very tired. There were cobwebs everywhere and the furniture needs updating. The local town 'La Souterraine' is not pretty at all and has nowhere decent to eat.
Do not be fooled by the huge advertisement at Limoges airport that this is a Golf and Spa resort, it is NOT!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank KatyS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdirection, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Sir, first of all thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us.

We take your comments very seriously and know that the satisfaction of our customers remain a priority for us.

On the cobwebs unfortunately out of respect for the environment we are limited in terms of product to limit as much as possible the insects in our facility and we strive to make this less awkward as possible for our clients.

The ads that you may see at the airport are posters of announcement of the domain to work and not the complete domain yet, we apologize in advance if this could be wrong.

The pleasure you receive back to the château de la cazine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews