We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noth
Reviewed 20 December 2016

This hotel is excellent...the staff and the facilities are superb. It has a homely feel and is well worth the visit...cannot wAit to go back for a longer stay. Would recommended this to anyone...excellent

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helpfulleater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdirection, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel and Restaurant. We appreciate your continued support and hope to see you again soon. Wishing you a happy Christmas and wonderful new year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Staying in a Chateau? - yes please!! The building is impressive as you drive up the long drive and our room was very nicely decorated with a big deep claw footed bath and the usual supply of smellies. The hotel, we feel is potentially struggling!! The big development that is advertised - golf, spa, French village, children's play areas, etc is along way from completion and in fact there is no evidence of development at all - so it certainly isn't going to be ready for 2017! The two ladies on reception were very welcoming and friendly but seemed to do everything - run reception, take guests to their rooms, run the bar and serve food. The Head Waiter or Maitre D was surly and rude and did not want us to eat off the menu which was a special offer - I'm sorry but that is not good enough. The food was OK - nothing overly special, generally lacking seasoning and certainly not a fine dining experience. The wine is also extremely expensive with a low quality Chablis at 30 euros a bottle! The cheapest wine was 28 euros a bottle! The hotel website boasts a gym - well it is not. It consists of one treadmill and decrepit exercise bike in what feels like a cupboard in the lower ground floor of the hotel.

A beautiful setting, but will not stay here again. I am sure there are more friendly local hotels and B&Bs to try.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ksusans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We decided to stop here and break the long return drive from the UK to Foix. It was a magical evening. The Chateau itself is very impressive and been beautifully maintained. The room was gorgeous, the meal incredible with the best foire gras I have ever tasted and the staff delightful, especially the waitress from Halifax who amazed us by single handedly serving a full Restaurant totally on her own and doing it in style. We will return and recommend it to our family & friends,

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxyrusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdirection, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear Sir and Madam,

We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us and have passed on your kind words to our Team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here about two year's ago and as we enjoyed it so much we thought we would return. The room was very nice. Went to dinner - a complete disaster! We ordered a la carte ( which isn't cheap) and the starter was acceptable, we ordered one chicken and one 'limousin' beef for our main courses. The chicken was tasteless and the beef, although ordered 'a point' came up 'Sinon'.
We asked if it could be replaced correctly cooked but the same piece of beef was returned so tough it was uneatable. The waitress made no comment at all on collecting our plates. That night there was a 'plopping' noise in our room and on investigation there was water dripping through the spotlight in the ceiling. We tried several times to get some response from reception and housekeeping, but none was forthcoming. The next day we asked to speak to the Manager but was told she would not be there until 11am. The receptionist then arranged for us to change rooms, but there was no word of apology or sorry for the inconvenience. As we were going out for the day we asked to speak to her on our return. We were then told she was at a meeting. At 5.15 we returned to see her only to be told she had gone home. We did manage to speak to Stephanie the next morning who was very understanding and did placate us a little, but the whole experience was disastrous for a hotel of this standard.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdirection, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Dear Brenda,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and Restaurant.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Regarding your disappointment in our restaurant, I can only apologize for the experience you had. Our restaurant and kitchen staff pride themselves in delivering a high quality service and I am personally reviewing the service you received that evening.

We have indeed changed direction since your last visit. In December of last year we decided to no longer aspire to retain the Michelin Star, instead creating beautiful local dishes that valorise the Limousin and Creuse, and that are far more accessible in price to our local audience.

In respect to the leak in your room, I am shocked that no staff members or management were available for you to raise your concerns, we have a full time maintenance team on site for such eventualities thus in my experience we have never not been able to respond to a client on a maintenance issue. This being said your complaint is being actioned and I can assure you I am doing a thorough investigation into the service you received. The leak in your room has now been repaired.
Likewise, your request to speak to a manager not being followed up, is terrible practice and not something we have experienced here before. The reason being is we are a team of three General Managers onsite and there is always one of us present from 8am – 11pm every day of the week.

Stephanie is one of our General Managers and so I am pleased you were able to raise your concerns with her.

I am sorry you didn’t have an agreeable time with us and can only hope one day you wish to return, where we would be delighted to reinstate the confidence you had in us 2 year ago.

We look forward to seeing you again.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Beautiful and impressive building - a little lacking in period features internally, but spacious public room volumes. The bedroom was not large but certainly adequate, and the en-suite bathroom well appointed. In keeping with an old building, there were a few discernible cobwebs and some of the furnishings were a little jaded - but nothing sufficient to detract from what was a very pleasant overnight stop-over. The 42 euro menu - whilst not cheap was not unreasonable value and immensely enjoyable. (there were cheaper options). I do not think there was a spa as such, but spa services were offered in the room. The information pack mentioned that golf was available, but time did not allow us to investigate this further.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerdirection, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Sir/ Madame,


Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and Restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stop over with us. We were disappointed to here of the cobwebs in your room and have taken immediate action to eliminate this problem. We will pass on your kind words to our Restaurant and Kitchen Staff.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Chateau de La Cazine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noth
11 km away
Domaine de Vareilles
Domaine de Vareilles
#1 of 1 in Vareilles
109 reviews
25.4 km away
Kyriad Gueret
Kyriad Gueret
#1 of 5 in Gueret
200 reviews
2.6 km away
Camping La Cazine
Camping La Cazine
#1 of 1 in Noth
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort

Address: la Fot, 23300 Noth, France (Formerly Château de la Cazine)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Creuse > Noth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noth
Price Range: €82 - €348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a place where the beauty of nature blends effortlessly with the opulence of five star living. Where families enjoy spacious accommodation and an outstanding range of facilities centred around a majestic French château, in the heart of France’s Lake District.Welcome to Château de la Cazine.Château de la Cazine has undergone extensive renovation in the past year and is due to open in June 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Cazine Hotel Noth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing