We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
216
95
37
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
95
37
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstayed here for nightsfantastic experiencelong weekendour room was spaciousbeautiful locationreception staffrural francelonger visitchateaumealpromiseescapedetailschefs
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2015

I stayed here for one night on a classic car tour of France.We were greeted by lovely staff and shown to a delightful room overlooking the parkland and lake.The well appointed room had at a higher level screened off a washbasin,shower cubicle and WC cubicle-different but quite acceptable.The only criticism was the lighting.I found it difficult to shave using either of the mirrors in the room as the lighting was too subdued even after adjusting the rheostat.
Going downstairs we were served aperitifs with scrumptious hors d'oeuvres then shown into a private dining room where we had a superb meal served by very nice staff .After a peaceful nights sleep a comprehensive breakfast was served.
I would stay here again anytime I was in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marcus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, General Manager at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Sir,


Thank you for your time and feedback about your stay with us at the Château de la Cazine.

Such comments contribute to help us to maintain and improve our quality.

The light's issue has been well noticed and will be reported accordingly, thank you.

Looking forward welcoming you soon again.

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2015

Our enjoyable stay at this beautiful chateau was ruined by our experience in the Michelin starred restaurant. This had been the reason for choosing Chateau de la Cazine as a stopover. The food was indeed very good, we particularly loved a fish main course with Asian flavours. However our dinner was blighted by being served bread rolls that were raw in the middle, unheard of in France, especially in a Michelin starred restaurant. This was made worse by the staff trying to persuade us that it was to do with the weather. No properly cooked rolls appeared during the course of the meal.

Room Tip: Room 8 overlooking the park was noisy during the night . In the morning we were told the night porter must have been cleaning below us.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jacquilederer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, General Manager at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2015

Dear Sir,


Firstly thank you for your stay at the Chateau de la Cazine and for the time spent on sharing your experience with us.

All comments contribute to keep and improve our quality.

I am extremely surprised about this bread issue as all our bread is freshly cooked in our own bakery of course. This should not happen and for sure at least not be the feeling our guests have about our bread. Thank you for this precise feedback.

Otherwise, I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the rest of your stay and the Michelin starred dinner content.

Looking forward your next visit to the Chateau de la Cazine.

Sincerely yours

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stayed for just the one night as it was my 60th birthday and we had decided to push the boat out. Although we only live twenty minutes away sometimes you have to see how the other half live. We arrived a little early but the duty manager was very welcoming and ensured our room was ready. The room was immaculate, crisp sheets, dressing gowns and all that you would expect in a classy joint. A half bottle of champagne and chocolates were waiting courtesy of the management. A beer on the terrace before a short stay around the pool, bar service at the pool was available at the press of a bell. In the evening we dined in the restaurant following another pre prandial on the terrace. We chose the"carte blanche" at the whim of the chef, which at 62 Euros each for that Michelin star seemed reasonable. Five courses, each individually delicious and the contents carefully explained to us by the maitre d'. The meat dish should have been veal sweetbreads but having a delicate disposition the chef kindly offered pigeon breast as an alternative and it was absolutely delicious. We added the cheese board, a superb variety of French and local cheeses and I must say the "Epoissy" was to die for, an extra 12 Euros each. The waiter recommended the right wine to accompany the meal, a snip at 48 Euros or so. We had both had a massage earlier in the day, 55 Euros, which eased away the aches and pains of a long and busy summer. Of course, nothing is perfect and I have a couple of minor criticisms, which didn't spoil our stay. The bar on arrivall had no Kronenbourg 1664 which limited the choice of beers to some expensive bottles and not really to my palate, although perfectly drinkable. However by the evening there was still none in stock. The room was immaculate but the previous occupant had left their Tescos bacon in the fridge, which had seemed to pass unnoticed. The duty manager was most apologetic if not a little embarrassed. Finally there were a few dead flies on the staircase when we arrived, which were still there when we left, a minor housekeeping point. All in all a fantastic experience coming in a shade under 500 Euros for one night, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HenryHoolihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2015

Thank you for your stay at the Chateau de la Cazine. Yes this week end has been a great party time for all your family, and I have to say that the team of the Chateau also had fun in such a festive atmosphere.

Dear Sir,

I do appreciate the time you spent for your feedback and comments about your stay. This enables us to improve what constantely needs to be improved for our guests' satisfaction.

Your comments are taken into account and positive points as well as points to be improved have been shared with tthe team. My apologizes for these last points that should not be to happen again.

Looking forward you next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Lovely chateau in lush countryside. All the facilities you need including a pool ( too cold to use it sadly ) Friendly staff and really helpful despite the occasional language difficulty.
Rooms are really comfortable and the restaurant has a Michelin star.





  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Sir,


Thank you for your stay at the Chateau de la Cazine and the time spent for your feedback and comments about your stay, really appreciated. This enables us to improve what constantely needs to be improved for our guests' satisfaction.

Sorry for the pool's temperature, weather is now changing fast unfortunately and winter somehow already seems, sometimes, to be pretty close.

Looking forward you next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This is a perfect place to stay if you're traveling from the southwest of France back to Paris (as we were). We spent two nights for our 10th anniversary with very little information to guide us, but were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodations and the attentiveness of the staff.

I would give the hotel itself a "5" while the Michelin starred restaurant I would not rate as highly. The food was delicious but to me it was a little overdone in terms of presentation and not the best i've had at a Michelin. But that's for a separate review. It's important to note, however, that there are not a lot of other dining choices nearby. The chateau itself is well-kept and our room was large and comfortable (Superior Lake View) with a lovely separate bathroom. All of the rooms are named after famous French women which is a really neat touch. Most of all, we enjoyed sitting on the patio in the back having aperitifs before dinner and enjoying the beautiful country setting. We also liked having free bikes available and we took advantage of those to tour around the countryside. We would have ridden horses as well but the weather did not permit.

Front desk staff was impeccable. One of the best I've encountered. They made our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your stay at the Chateau de la Cazine and honored to have been selected for your 10th Anniversary, congratulations on behalf of all the team !

I do appreciate the time you spent for your feedback and comments about your stay. This enables us to improve what constantely needs to be improved for our guests' satisfaction.

Hope to welcome you both next time again.

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews