We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
217
98
39
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
98
39
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here for nights fantastic experience limoges airport long weekend our room was spacious beautiful location reception staff rural france lack of management longer visit chateau meal escape tranquility category promise lives
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 377 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015

We stayed for just the one night as it was my 60th birthday and we had decided to push the boat out. Although we only live twenty minutes away sometimes you have to see how the other half live. We arrived a little early but the duty manager was very welcoming and ensured our room was ready. The room was immaculate, crisp sheets, dressing gowns and all that you would expect in a classy joint. A half bottle of champagne and chocolates were waiting courtesy of the management. A beer on the terrace before a short stay around the pool, bar service at the pool was available at the press of a bell. In the evening we dined in the restaurant following another pre prandial on the terrace. We chose the"carte blanche" at the whim of the chef, which at 62 Euros each for that Michelin star seemed reasonable. Five courses, each individually delicious and the contents carefully explained to us by the maitre d'. The meat dish should have been veal sweetbreads but having a delicate disposition the chef kindly offered pigeon breast as an alternative and it was absolutely delicious. We added the cheese board, a superb variety of French and local cheeses and I must say the "Epoissy" was to die for, an extra 12 Euros each. The waiter recommended the right wine to accompany the meal, a snip at 48 Euros or so. We had both had a massage earlier in the day, 55 Euros, which eased away the aches and pains of a long and busy summer. Of course, nothing is perfect and I have a couple of minor criticisms, which didn't spoil our stay. The bar on arrivall had no Kronenbourg 1664 which limited the choice of beers to some expensive bottles and not really to my palate, although perfectly drinkable. However by the evening there was still none in stock. The room was immaculate but the previous occupant had left their Tescos bacon in the fridge, which had seemed to pass unnoticed. The duty manager was most apologetic if not a little embarrassed. Finally there were a few dead flies on the staircase when we arrived, which were still there when we left, a minor housekeeping point. All in all a fantastic experience coming in a shade under 500 Euros for one night, but worth every penny.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HenryHoolihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2015

Thank you for your stay at the Chateau de la Cazine. Yes this week end has been a great party time for all your family, and I have to say that the team of the Chateau also had fun in such a festive atmosphere.

Dear Sir,

I do appreciate the time you spent for your feedback and comments about your stay. This enables us to improve what constantely needs to be improved for our guests' satisfaction.

Your comments are taken into account and positive points as well as points to be improved have been shared with tthe team. My apologizes for these last points that should not be to happen again.

Looking forward you next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Lovely chateau in lush countryside. All the facilities you need including a pool ( too cold to use it sadly ) Friendly staff and really helpful despite the occasional language difficulty.
Rooms are really comfortable and the restaurant has a Michelin star.




Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Sir,


Thank you for your stay at the Chateau de la Cazine and the time spent for your feedback and comments about your stay, really appreciated. This enables us to improve what constantely needs to be improved for our guests' satisfaction.

Sorry for the pool's temperature, weather is now changing fast unfortunately and winter somehow already seems, sometimes, to be pretty close.

Looking forward you next visit.

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This is a perfect place to stay if you're traveling from the southwest of France back to Paris (as we were). We spent two nights for our 10th anniversary with very little information to guide us, but were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodations and the attentiveness of the staff.

I would give the hotel itself a "5" while the Michelin starred restaurant I would not rate as highly. The food was delicious but to me it was a little overdone in terms of presentation and not the best i've had at a Michelin. But that's for a separate review. It's important to note, however, that there are not a lot of other dining choices nearby. The chateau itself is well-kept and our room was large and comfortable (Superior Lake View) with a lovely separate bathroom. All of the rooms are named after famous French women which is a really neat touch. Most of all, we enjoyed sitting on the patio in the back having aperitifs before dinner and enjoying the beautiful country setting. We also liked having free bikes available and we took advantage of those to tour around the countryside. We would have ridden horses as well but the weather did not permit.

Front desk staff was impeccable. One of the best I've encountered. They made our stay.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your stay at the Chateau de la Cazine and honored to have been selected for your 10th Anniversary, congratulations on behalf of all the team !

I do appreciate the time you spent for your feedback and comments about your stay. This enables us to improve what constantely needs to be improved for our guests' satisfaction.

Hope to welcome you both next time again.

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

This hotel has a great location, good service, creatively done while managing to maintain the original flavor of the building. We stayed in the "penthouse"; in-itself the best ever room available (and we loved it), however the absolute down point was the fact that the windows were small and the view rather limited. The pool was not matching the hotel's ambiance (it was a kind of add-on), however the views were great.

Room tip: first floor rooms have higher ceilings/bigger windows; the penthouse is great however small windows.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vikskio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your stay at the Chateau de la Cazine.

I do appreciate the time you spent for your feedback and comments about your stay. This enables us to improve what constantely needs to be improved for our guests' satisfaction.

Looking forward you next visit..

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Our superior lake view room was comfortable and beautifully decorated. The bed was firm with a soft pillow top. See the pictures regarding the bathroom set up. Some people may be uncomfortable with this set up. We were not. The staff was friendly and attentive. The breakfast buffet was typical with the wonderful exception of eggs and bacon to order. We ate two fabulous tasting dinners in the restaurant. We took a bicycle ride around the lake past cows, horses and through the woods. We enjoyed a 1 hr horseback ride through the countryside set up by the hotel. Our in-room massages were very relaxing. The massage therapist was wonderful. We can't wait to spend another amazing weekend in the country at Chateau de la Cazine!

Room tip: The WC/shower & set up is not the same in all rooms.
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wanttoseetheworld65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinasteveinyiwu, Directeur général at Wyndham Halcyon Golf and Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2015

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your stay at the Chateau de la Cazine and glad you have enjoyed it so much in so many aspects.

I do appreciate the time you spent for your feedback and comments about your stay. This enables us to improve what constantely needs to be improved for our guests' satisfaction.

Looking forward you next visit..

Sincerely yours,

Stéphane SECLET
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews