We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Esperanza
Nearby Hotels
Valentin Playa de Muro(Playa de Muro)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$290
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel(Playa de Muro)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$243
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Prinsotel La Dorada(Playa de Muro)(Great Value!)
US$186
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eix Lagotel(Playa de Muro)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
235
170
48
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
170
48
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardbreakfast and dinnerlounge chairsocean viewchanged immediatelyper dayrosécar rentalevening entertainmentindoor and outdoor poolssmall waveswellness centredirect accessnoise cominglots of sun loungersmarket daysclean sandy beach
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The hotel was chosen the year before we left and we were not wrong. The main reason for choosing this is direct access to the beach (5-6 km to the right and left) - great walks, and it was most important to us - a lot and a long walk.

But today I can say that apart from the proximity of the beach there is another great attraction across the street - Parc Naturel de A'lbufera - a great place to meet nature.

Hotel: The front desk greeted us very warmly (although we arrived around 2am and the receptionist was snatched from the nap) and we probably got a better room (with a side sea view rather than a street view) - great thanks.
Hotel facilities - everything was what should be (indoor and outdoor pools, spa, gym, bike rental, including for more advanced riders - the hotel provided a base for them)

Food: best ever

Maybe someday we will come back

Best regards

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krzys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017


Dear Krzys,
Thank you so much for your great review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and also were able to discover the wonderful Albufera natural park nearby.
The hotel is in a great location for those who enjoy nature, walks or cycling with many routes available in the area.
We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the service from our staff.
We hope you will return to stay with us soon.

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Perfect location: beach on the door step, easy access to many places and local amenities were good. Hotel was fab - lovely interior and very spacious - no maze of corridors and rooms. Hotel grounds were spacious and loads of beds were available for sunbathing - poolside and gardens. Staff were very polite and dealt with any queries/issues efficiently. Room tidying etc. was very good. The restaurant (choice of dining inside or out) offered everything you could possibly want - we were advised to miss the opening times as this could be busy but we never had any issues. Eating breakfast on the terrace with views of the Med was fab. Only disappointment was the entertainment but we were happy to make our own. Special mention to Felix - great service - he was fun! Children weren't all that visible except at the mini disco.

Room Tip: Check sea view rooms or corner balconies - you may not want a room on the same side as the entertainment in the evening or on the road side.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Kathy,
Thank you very much for your positive review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and were pleased with the facilities and services provided.
We shall pass on your comments to Felix, thank you very much.
We look forward to welcoming you again at the Playa Esperanza.

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Stayed at the Playa Esperanza for a long weekend on half board basis, through it was a good, solid hotel. Food was good, well organised (although I would recommend not being there bang on opening times as it is very busy - leave it 30 mins and then go), swimming pools were clean and you can walk straight onto the beach. For what we wanted, it was perfect. There's a supermarket on site and one opposite, not much really within walking distance - just other hotels, so recommend getting a car. All in all, was good for what we wanted from the break.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fdsre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Playa Esperanza hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the facilities on offer and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a Family room (suite). Room was nice, bright and spacious. Had some sea view. But... nothing else is nice in this hotel.
First of all, my request for a higher floor I sent by email two weeks before the arrival was acknowledged but totally ignored at check in. When we arrived to the hotel, no one helped us with the bags and reception staff was really unfriendly.
Second of all there are so many strange rules in the hotel. We were given a specific timing for dinner without even been asked what our preferences were. Table number (!) was also given to us later on at the restaurant and we had to sit at that particular table during all our stay.
Breakfasts and especially dinners were really busy with people queuing for food which wasn't tasty. Restaurant staff was ok but one waitress shouted at me in Spanish looking at her watch, when I arrived for breakfast at 10am (breakfast closes at 10:30). Sorry but I was on holidays and had no intention to wake up at 6am.
More upsetting news - there is no drinking water, no tea or coffee, no kettle, no iron or ironing board in the room. Safe deposit box is there but you have to pay to use it. You would need to pay to use tennis courts. Beach towels and sun beds at the beach are for rent, too. Towel would cost you €15 deposit and you have to keep the ticket to get your money back. Iron would cost €8 per day + €10 deposit and you won't even get an ironing board with it.
Evening entertainment was loud and absolutely not interesting but other hotel guests seemed to like it so it was impossible to get a table outside after dinner.
Another thing is that 90% of hotel guests are Germans. So don't expect to have a conversation with someone by the pool or at dinner. My daughter couldn't play with other kids because they didn't speak any English. And hotel staff speaks either Spanish or German.
So think twice before booking this hotel, it is not what it looks like on the pictures. And please don't forget any clothes at the pool, you will never get it back. I left my denim shorts on the sun bed by the pool, had to ask reception, bar staff and lifeguards for it but it was nowhere to be found. Must have been taken by other hotel guests.
Overall it was quite a disappointing stay considering amount of money paid for it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Olga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review of the Playa Esperanza hotel.
We do always try to accommodate requests from our guests, but in high season this is unfortunately not always possible due to the hotel being fully occupied.
On arrival guests are assigned a time for dinner, and then a table number at the restaurant, this is for organisational reasons to avoid queueing at the buffet or a lack of tables which would be inconvenient for our guests.
As you mention, a kettle and iron are not automatically provided, but are available to hire for a small charge. Sunbeds at the beach are managed by the local council and there is a charge to hire them, however, the hotel does provide plenty of sunbeds around the pool and garden areas for guests to enjoy.
Our staff speak several different languages including English and German, and aim to make all our guests welcome wherever they may be from. If at any time you found a member of staff to be unhelpful or unfriendly, then we apologise and can assure you that it is very unusual.
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Still a week to go at this Hotel and My excitement about the holiday at this place has gone so much down. We have a constant feeling of being unwelcome by the staff (we are two families) and it seems like we are all the time guilty of being here. The staff members are unpleasant (not all, but most) and we are trying to avoid ANY questions. Today was refused to take food to go for a child from a pool bar without a reason, tried to ask why but the gentlemen kept saying 'no'. Yesterday were refused to move a sun umbrella at the breakfast, which nobody else was using. So far the feeling the staff created is unwelcome/unfriendly.
Too sad, as the location is amazing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Anastasia,
Thank you for your comments. The location of the hotel is indeed amazing, right on the Playa de Muro beach, voted the 6th best beach in Spain.
If at any time you found a member of staff to be unhelpful or unfriendly, then we apologise and can assure you that it is very unusual. We always strive to make all of our guests feel welcome at the hotel.
We do not allow food on ceramic plates to be taken away from the pool bar area as they can be dangerous if dropped and broken near the pool.
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and will consider staying at the Playa Esperanza again in the future.

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews