We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
260
189
54
22
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
189
54
22
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board breakfast and dinner sea view lounge chairs per day car rental rosé evening entertainment indoor and outdoor pools wellness centre noise coming direct access clean sandy beach chocolate fountain small supermarket lots of sun loungers opening times
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Stayed at the Playa Esperanza for a long weekend on half board basis, through it was a good, solid hotel. Food was good, well organised (although I would recommend not being there bang on opening times as it is very busy - leave it 30 mins and then go), swimming pools were clean and you can walk straight onto the beach. For what we wanted, it was perfect. There's a supermarket on site and one opposite, not much really within walking distance - just other hotels, so recommend getting a car. All in all, was good for what we wanted from the break.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fdsre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Playa Esperanza hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the facilities on offer and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a Family room (suite). Room was nice, bright and spacious. Had some sea view. But... nothing else is nice in this hotel.
First of all, my request for a higher floor I sent by email two weeks before the arrival was acknowledged but totally ignored at check in. When we arrived to the hotel, no one helped us with the bags and reception staff was really unfriendly.
Second of all there are so many strange rules in the hotel. We were given a specific timing for dinner without even been asked what our preferences were. Table number (!) was also given to us later on at the restaurant and we had to sit at that particular table during all our stay.
Breakfasts and especially dinners were really busy with people queuing for food which wasn't tasty. Restaurant staff was ok but one waitress shouted at me in Spanish looking at her watch, when I arrived for breakfast at 10am (breakfast closes at 10:30). Sorry but I was on holidays and had no intention to wake up at 6am.
More upsetting news - there is no drinking water, no tea or coffee, no kettle, no iron or ironing board in the room. Safe deposit box is there but you have to pay to use it. You would need to pay to use tennis courts. Beach towels and sun beds at the beach are for rent, too. Towel would cost you €15 deposit and you have to keep the ticket to get your money back. Iron would cost €8 per day + €10 deposit and you won't even get an ironing board with it.
Evening entertainment was loud and absolutely not interesting but other hotel guests seemed to like it so it was impossible to get a table outside after dinner.
Another thing is that 90% of hotel guests are Germans. So don't expect to have a conversation with someone by the pool or at dinner. My daughter couldn't play with other kids because they didn't speak any English. And hotel staff speaks either Spanish or German.
So think twice before booking this hotel, it is not what it looks like on the pictures. And please don't forget any clothes at the pool, you will never get it back. I left my denim shorts on the sun bed by the pool, had to ask reception, bar staff and lifeguards for it but it was nowhere to be found. Must have been taken by other hotel guests.
Overall it was quite a disappointing stay considering amount of money paid for it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
5  Thank Olga D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review of the Playa Esperanza hotel.
We do always try to accommodate requests from our guests, but in high season this is unfortunately not always possible due to the hotel being fully occupied.
On arrival guests are assigned a time for dinner, and then a table number at the restaurant, this is for organisational reasons to avoid queueing at the buffet or a lack of tables which would be inconvenient for our guests.
As you mention, a kettle and iron are not automatically provided, but are available to hire for a small charge. Sunbeds at the beach are managed by the local council and there is a charge to hire them, however, the hotel does provide plenty of sunbeds around the pool and garden areas for guests to enjoy.
Our staff speak several different languages including English and German, and aim to make all our guests welcome wherever they may be from. If at any time you found a member of staff to be unhelpful or unfriendly, then we apologise and can assure you that it is very unusual.
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Still a week to go at this Hotel and My excitement about the holiday at this place has gone so much down. We have a constant feeling of being unwelcome by the staff (we are two families) and it seems like we are all the time guilty of being here. The staff members are unpleasant (not all, but most) and we are trying to avoid ANY questions. Today was refused to take food to go for a child from a pool bar without a reason, tried to ask why but the gentlemen kept saying 'no'. Yesterday were refused to move a sun umbrella at the breakfast, which nobody else was using. So far the feeling the staff created is unwelcome/unfriendly.
Too sad, as the location is amazing.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Anastasia,
Thank you for your comments. The location of the hotel is indeed amazing, right on the Playa de Muro beach, voted the 6th best beach in Spain.
If at any time you found a member of staff to be unhelpful or unfriendly, then we apologise and can assure you that it is very unusual. We always strive to make all of our guests feel welcome at the hotel.
We do not allow food on ceramic plates to be taken away from the pool bar area as they can be dangerous if dropped and broken near the pool.
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us and will consider staying at the Playa Esperanza again in the future.

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Hotel is located right next to a clean sandy beach with beautifully warm water. Room had great views of the bay with a nice balcony. Friendly staff, very varied and tasty restaurant food. 3 pools, one pleasantly large. The 11km wetlands right next door were fantastic for birdwatching, remember the insect repellent to avoid bites! Very fun watersport activities available on the beach - wind surfing, kite surfing, stand up boarding, sailing. Good and varied evening hotel entertainment acts and music.

Some helpful instructions - on arrival hire the room safe immediately, this isn't included in the price. You will be handed a leaflet allocating you a restaurant table, remember to take this down to dinner the first time. Queue on the right to register for your table the first time. You will also need to pay to hire the umbrellas and beach chairs on the beach (14 euros per day) but not for the ones on the hotel grounds. You can also hire a safe on the beach umbrella!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Troy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Troy,
Thank you for your kind and helpful review of the Playa Esperanza hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities available at the hotel and activities at the beach and in the surrounding area.
We are very proud of the quality and variety on offer at our restaurant and aim to please everyone with a selection of meat, fish, vegetarian options, salads and desserts and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food.
The Albufera National Park is indeed a fantastic place for birdwatching and enjoying what nature has to offer and we are fortunate to be located close by.
We do hope that you will return to the Playa Esperanza in the near future.

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

I absolutely loved this hotel, I live on the island and went for a couple of days to celebrate my anniversary and was extremely pleased all round. The rooms were bright, modern and airy and with a fabulous sea view. The grounds very pretty and lush green gardens and plenty of space oif you wanted a quiet area. Sunbeds were plentiful and the pools pristine. The food at the pool bar was fantastic & a great price and the drinks measures very generous. All this with a fabulous beach front posoition on perhaps the best beach on the island. Staff were very friendly and helpful and i really could not fault it. I was only there for a short break but didnt even leave the hotel once it was absolutely fabulous and I very much hope to come back.

Room Tip: I had a side sea view room, but this gave a perfect view accross the sweeping bay
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MaryW1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esperanza_Resort, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Playa Esperanza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Mary,
Thank you very much for your fabulous review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything about the hotel and the facilities provided and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us again soon, especially as you live on the island and so we are not so far away.
The beach at Playa de Muro has been voted the 6th best beach in Spain, so it could well be the best beach on the island!

Kind regards,
Management & Service team
Hotel Playa Esperanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews