We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$124
Expedia.comUS$117
eDreamsUS$124
Orbitz.comUS$117
TravelocityUS$117
CheapTicketsUS$117
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
99
102
113
60
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
99
102
113
60
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar clean rooms costa rica good size macaws flying hot water lunch and dinner beautiful beach birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

We went as a family of 14 including 2x 3yr olds and a 7 month old baby.

Facilities : v clean rooms with 1 rubbish bin and 2 recycling bins, aircon, balcony with chairs, coffee maker, bottled water, hot water, tv, glasses and mugs.

Food: Fabulous. Great service at the restaurant, a huge variety of food for all tastes including a chef who prepared pasta and/ or eggs(depending on time of day). There were lots of CR dishes avalaible which was fantastic and lots of fruit, vegetables and fresh bread. (I just wish they had tortillas). Good variety of drinks too.

There was food available at the snack bar and drinks from pool bar where you could also get granizados.

The tables were kept clean and the friendly staff made sure all used plates were removed quickly. There were lots of high chairs for the little ones.

The swimming pool was clean and a good depth for children and adults.

The (amazing) beach was about 600km from the hotel, we saw monkeys etc. At the hotel we saw macaws flying around over the trees and lots of birds.

Entertainment : excellent live music and a magic show for children. The only thing I would change is that the magician would move on with the times and stop using a pigeon and a rabbit in his show. This is just not OK really. But otherwise it was fun.

All in all we had a fantastic time. Its not easy to please lots of ppl with different tastes and needs. We were all really impressed with everything and loved the food which we though was great value for money.

Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 78winstons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2020 via mobile

Staff were very good and friendly. Room was large but basic, bedding wasn’t good. Pillows I think had been filled with cotton wool buds. Bathroom ok with hot water and quite good water pressure. Pool was good size but not much room around pool to sunbathe. Bars ok with national branded spirits and beer. Extra charge for international alcohol. Food around pool looked ok. Food in restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner was not great. Plenty of salads which were ok but the hot food didn’t look good so I didn’t eat apart from the pasta which is made fresh by chef. Only problem is cross contamination of foods as same spoon is used for meats and vegetables and meat were then transferred into vegetables containers. There is no games rooms like pool table or table tennis extra but they do have boardgames at pool bar like connect four, chess etc. Beach is 15 min walk down the road which is ok but not that great. There is another beach slightly better to the left but you need to walk up some rocks and down other side to get to it and there’s not a great deal of sand to lay on. I booked this hotel knowing it wasn’t going to be amazing but it was the best value compared to others around and my budget didn’t stretch that far so I took a chance on hotel arenas. I was there 3 days with my 16 year old son and it was ok for 3 days but I personally wouldn’t want to stay longer. Food just wasn’t good enough, not sure why some reviews are saying food is excellent. Clean hotel with lovely staff.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank d4spg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2020

Good rooms, great food, bars.

Air conditioning in the rooms is a little noisy, central A/C would be better.

Food is good, the buffet has a lot of options of salads, meat, deserts.

The pool bar has very good products, there was not much people during the days we went (Sun-Wed) so the attention was very fast.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian_Sanabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2020

The hotel was placed near a beautiful beach, we had a big very clean room and met in most cases very friendly staff. The food - breakfast, lunch and dinner - was perfect and really tasty. Overall - a good stay

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ubrog680580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2020

The food, service was very very bad. I paid a steep price of $1500 for 3 days in December and we ( family of 4) checked out one day early because it was so bad ! There were 50 big crows on a small tree outside our room who screamed at 4:00 am in the morning and woke us up. In all our 10 days in Costa Rica, the two days in Hotel Arenas were the worst.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PR20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews