We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$131
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$131
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/21
Trip.com
US$156
US$99
View deal
SAVE US$57
Free cancellation until 26/05/21
Expedia.comUS$131
eDreamsUS$131
getaroom.comUS$156
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,156)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveller rating
372
419
187
90
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
372
419
187
90
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica white faced monkeys playa blanca selvamar rooms butterfly garden beautiful beach a la carte scarlet macaws zip line superior room bird tour carabelas restaurant mini golf buffet restaurant rental car shuttle service bird watching
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Variety of accommodations should suit anyone. Several pools and restaurants, butterfly garden, miniature golf and other recreational features. Restaurant we used was always busy/crowded but had very good buffet food. Two different beaches, both clean and very swimmable ocean/bay. Shuttle bus to get around was very necessary and could have more frequent service.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank 680dickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

Our small tour group of 7 stayed at Hotel & Club Punta Leona while touring Costa Rica. The club is a long trek from the main road. It is a sprawling complex ,and I had to check with our local contact that the place we stayed at was the Hotel and Club Punta Leona because I did not recognise anything from the promotional photos on TripAdvisor. The rooms are ok, nothing more nothing less. Place seems over hyped to me. We hired a mini van to and from Jaco for diner and paid an astonishing US$120 for that privilege to go out for a nice dinner in Jaco. Decent breakfast buffet the next morning, then spent some hours on Playa Blanca beach which was fine. Nothing really special here. Overall I was underwhelmed

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 398StephenH398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Gerente at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Stephen H,

We appreciate you have shared your comments about your recent stay. We will take your comments into account to improve and offer the best service possible.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Sales Management Punta Leona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

We were here with a group of 30 people for a wedding. We had booked a AirBNB in Punta Leona with friends staying at the hotel itself and at surrounding villas. They’re very unclear that the hotel is extremely separate from the AirBNB however you need to go through the hotel lots to get to your AirBNB. They charge you $10 for a wristband but don’t make it clear that it’s only for 1 day. Without the wristband they are very strict about letting you in anywhere. In fact, they chased me out of a bar when all of the people I was with had a wristband and I was doing no harm, and was clearly making them money. I also had a friend who tried to buy 1 beer at this shack near the beach and they wouldn’t sell to her because she didn’t have a wristband. The guards at every station gave us a hard time every single time we tried to get to our AirBNB when they had seen us a couple of times a day trying to get in and out. It was extremely rude and outrageous, especially when my friend had her wedding AT THE HOTEL itself. Additionally the bride and groom were staying at the hotel on the wedding night and they couldn’t get into their room at the end of the night because the guards gate was closed so they had to crash at one of our places. Very bad communication. Be very aware that the hotel is super spread out and you need a car or golf cArt to get around. Some of it isn’t walkable unless you want to climb very steep hills. All inclusive food was not good. Overall, don’t recommend this place.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jennie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Gerente at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Jennie K,

We really appreciate your comments about your experience with us, no doubt your comments will be taken into account because our goal is always to improve.
 
We would like to clarify that according to hotel regulations, all customers must wear a hotel and club bracelet so that we can provide the service in the best possible way and our staff has tried to do their job in the best way and according to what they are requested for the good of the service we provide.

We will thoroughly investigate the situation to understand the reasons for your dissatisfaction and make the immediate improvements in order to offer unique and unforgettable experiences.

We thank you very much for your feedback,

Punta Leona Sales Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We traveled to Punta Leona in January 2017. I traveled with a friend and my 2 almost teenagers. I cannot say enough about the stuff to do at this resort. We had great little Casitas in the jungle that were clean and safe and up dated. We were close to the main restaurant and a pool. The rest of the resort was expansive and if you have walking issues you will need to take the shuttles. We loved hiking around the roads and trails to see all the wildlife and birds. The monkeys were are favourites and the kids would visit them daily and we could watch them for hours. The food was great. Ample selection and great ala carte options!!! The night hike was superb my kids will never forget holding a glowing scorpion. The beach was phenomenal you can walk over to Playa Blanca on low tide which I highly suggest. The restaurant at Playa Blanca had the best seafood linguine. The ocean was a bit rough but they do have lifeguards and mark the riptides clearly.
No smoking resort(there are places designated if you need to smoke) which is great for the environment which they really promote. The resort is quite quiet on the weekdays but the weekends are busy as the locals come to relax which adds a great flare and energy to the resort. We had a great stay at Punta Leona...some memories my kids will never forget!! Pura Vida!!!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Coastal607848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Gerente at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear guest,

We appreciate you have shared your comments about your recent stay.
We will take your comments into account to improve and offer the best service possible.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Sales Management Punta Leona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is a VAST property. You need their buses to get around everywhere. It depends on your desires, but I hate crowds! The rooms had television, they were clean, there were funky lizards wandering about, and the property was well-maintained. It was a considerable bus ride to the white sand beach that was less crowded, but it was very pretty. If you don't mind large groups of people everywhere, this just might be the place for your vacation - and the time of year might be a factor. Would never go back to one of their restaurants "The Grill" - it was a disaster!

Room tip: You are assigned a room with an area name, that's when you know it is a big property. The rooms were fine, clean, and had hair dryers.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joyr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara J, Gerente at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Dear joyr10,

First of all, we appreciate the time taken to write your comment. We regret the experience was not positive and good as we know you deserve.

Thank you for helping us improve.

Punta Leona Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews