We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Punta Leona
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Arenas(Punta Leona)
US$282
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Caletas(Jaco District)
US$211
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$332
US$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Pumilio(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$310
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pochote Grande(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$240
US$199
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (921)
Filter reviews
921 results
Traveller rating
276
348
161
68
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
348
161
68
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite faced monkeyscosta ricaplaya blancasan joseselvamar roomsnight walkwhite sand beachthe grillbutterfly gardenscarlet macawsbeautiful beachpura vidasuperior roomjaco beachrental carstar resorttropical forest
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 921 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2015

I and my family had a great stay at this hotel. Its staff were super friendly and helpful and went out of their way to help. We were given an excellent room upon request and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

The room was up to standard, clean and well-maintained. The white-sand beach as owned by the hotel and accessible to its guests was fantastic and we met a family of local ticos, adding to the beauty of the place. We also watched trees packed with parrots; never had we seen so many parrots feeding together. me and my son each were stung by jellyfish, but the property had a clinic with very friendly and competent staff who immediately applied medicine to alleviate the pain - they were very cheerful and competent, in fact, we did not mind the sting, and they made us take differently and somewhat enjoy the unique experience of being stung by jellyfish.

The dinner buffet was wonderful, so was the breakfast, with a lot of varieties. They were very well cooked, and the waiting staff were cheerful, friendly and polite. Indeed, great local food with great local staff - what would've been better!

We want to say thank to the hotel and its staff - you guys are wonderful, and you should be very proud of yourselves representing the great culture of hospitality of the great country of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Guest, thank you so much for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here and thank you so much for your kind words regarding our staff!
We are happy that you liked your room and the amenities we offer. We are sorry to hear that you and your son were stung by jellyfish, but we are glad that our staff were able to help you with that incident . We would love the chance to welcome you back to Hotel & Club Punta Leona and hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

Set way back from the road several miles, it was full of people and noisy. Not our style and the rooms were very, very small. The refrigerator did not work in the room, nor the freezer for making ice. 2 days and never had any ice. The facilities were OK and the beach was great.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
4  Thank bowlcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience with the refrigerator in your room and we regret that we did not meet your expectations. We are glad that you enjoyed the beach and we appreciate your feedback because it helps us to improve the quality of service each day. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Punta Leona is a Great place to visit and join with the Family, with a lot of activities du ring the day and awesome places to visit on the hotel instalations.

Highly recommended if you are looking for a place where to be in Family on the Costa Rican Pacific Coast

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Maynor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are so delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at Hotel & Club Punta Leona and liked our installations and activities. We hope you and your family will return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

Big resort with lots of activities for families. Same menu is served in all restaurant locations and food isn't good. Breakfast buffet is the best meal. Stick to beer at the bar, cocktails weren't made with alcohol.
Lots of animals roaming around the property, keep you camera on you. You can rent snorkeling gear at Playa Blanco beach for $6 an hour definitely worth it, we saw a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time and writing a review about Hotel & Club Punta Leona. As you mention we are hotel oriented to the families, and we try to offer activities for everybody. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy the food but we are making some changes in this regard. We are looking forward to hosting you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

This is a massive complex set in its own section of rain forest with a beautiful couple of beaches. The rooms were comfortable enough, if in need of a little TLC. We felt a little let down by the early closure of the bar and snack bar on the first evening we stayed, and had to go to bed hungry as they closed at 6 rather than the expected 8pm. Breakfast made up for it though. We ventured over to playa blanc the next day and lunched at the snack bar there, which was excellent with good service.

The staff at the complex were helpful when we needed it and the rooms cleaned nice each day.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernarda L, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Punta Leona, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Guest, thank you for staying with us and for writing a review to let us know how we did. We always appreciate hearing from our guests since they are the ones that can let us know where we need to improve. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the service given by our staff was good and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews