We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
40
138
65
40
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
138
65
40
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmobile hometrain ticketsbase for disneyland parisle chene griskids discoexcellent basemay half termbuy a ticketswimming poolfacilities are greatchildren's clubeiffel towereasy access to parissun loungerslooked brand newtoilet showergreat site
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We went on a Sun newspaper holiday this site wasn't our 1st choice, but all we could get, We worried about staying there after reading others reviews. However, we stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet with our 3 kids (12-15 years). The chalet was clean & reasonablly equiped. With a part cover veranda, patio table & chairs, parking space & small grass area The pools were closed due to maintainance of which we were advised before we travelled. The site is being re turfed in places & looks as if more chalets & pitches are being addded & the site being extended. We liked the site although it's a bit quite, the bar wasn't used much & closed at 10pm. Although it has a nice outside terrace which would be lovely to sit out on in the summer. The shop is expensive with very limited hours & stock but there's Fairmountiers village a short drive away which has an adequate supermarket, a bakers & an ATM. Or you can walk to Pommeuse for fresh bread in the mornings. Half the price of the site shop for a bagette Reception staff were very friendly & helpful. The station is just outside the camp gates with a direct line to Paris about an hours journey, The trains run later now the last train back is around 11pm.. Not much for teenagers to do on site ours took a games console & portable TV (as there is no TV in chalets) to keep them occupied in the evenings when we returned from our day trips. there's a restaurant opposite the site & another in Pommeuse also in walking distance. Both seemed to be closed during our visit. Probably because our stay was so early in the season. Would go back there touse as a base to revisit Paris and the areas surrounding the site. Although not sure I would pay full price to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazzieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed at Le Chene Gris from the 5th April 2010 for 5 days, and the pool area was closed for maintenance, didn’t matter too much because it was still a bit chilly.
The shop was very poorly stocked and overpriced, the bar was not open in the evenings, and the snack bar should have closed at 9pm but closed whenever they felt like it.
The nearest supermarket was about 5km away; a small shop is in Farmontier but again a “good walk” away.
Paris is well served by a train that stops outside the camp site, and Eurodisney is 30 mins away by car, no direct train service.
The accommodation was clean and cosy in the cold evenings; we stayed in a Bali chalet and found it suited our needs, with a Cooker, fridge freezer and microwave, but no oven!!
All in all a good value holiday, but you need a car, and a DVD/CD radio as there is nothing to do in the evenings, perhaps we went too early in the season, but if it’s advertised in the brochure it should be there!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PA38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

when we stayed here we did not take a car. althought the trains are good i feel it is important to let people know that its not just a direct train.
if you are staying here and wanted to get to paris it is very easy it is a direct train there and back. however if you wanted to go to disneyland you have to catch a total of 3 trains. firstly you have to catch the train from pommuse to tournan. change to the line that runs through val de fontany then change to the one stating disneyland, it does take an hour and half. this sounds worse than it seems once you get the hang of it. The campsite was a good place to sleep ust remember to take EVERYTHING you need as the nearest (fully stocked) shop is two train stops away. staff were very nice and welcoming! all in all a good holiday for the money.... hope this helps

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelstigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

this is a good site with good pools for the kids. close to disney only 10 to 15 mins by car. the shop is ok and they could do with a bigger menu but not bad anyway

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights on a cheap Sun trip with my husband and parents as part of a wider tour through northern France and Belgium. The area is easy to get to which was good for me as I was the only driver and it was my first attempt at driving abroad. We did get lost near the campsite as there was a diversion but the countryside was flat and the SatNav and AA roadmap soon sorted us out. The campsite is addressed as Pommeuse but the main part of Pommeuse is actually a mile or two away, the site is at the edge of the Faremoutiers village.

As others have mentioned, the camp shop is not open long but the girl serving was very friendly and trying to please - the staff are Dutch and she was concerned that her colleagues came across as rude to us Brits however I thought laidback was a fairer description.

We were allocated an older chalet in a terrible position - facing the terraced hill and overhung by trees, it was dark, cold and in shadow all day. However we intended to be out all day so it made no difference to us. The chalet was comfortable enough but you must be quick in the shower, the tank does not hold enough water for 4 adults. We brought our own bedding but the quilt covers were useless as we were given blankets instead. We also had trouble getting the main heater to work but the small radiators in the rooms worked fine.

We did not use the camp facilities as we spent one day in Paris and other in Disney. The ppols were empty and dirty, despite it being quite warm in October and there wasn't much life on the site. We ate at the restaurant opposite the train station one evening and had a lovely meal. We also walked up the hill to Faremoutiers (past some creepy, horror movie style mansions) and found a few pubs - typically French with a tobacconist in one corner, two pizza places, a cashpoint, a posh restaurant and a small supermarket with a 24 hour self service petrol pump. We used the pump late one night and had trouble with our card but after pressing a random combination of buttons, it then worked! We did get locked out of the campsite as we took so long but we parked in the station car park and used the side gate to walk in.

The train to Paris is slow and infrequent and the platform ticket machine has been vandalised so the instructions can't be read. We put money in, pressed buttons and hoped for the best - we were given tickets which worked for the trip to Paris and one onward metro journey - it was not a travel pass. We were caught out on the way back as the open top tour bus was diverted due to a cycling event so we missed our metro stop and the last train back to the site. The lady at the information desk in Paris did not speak English and my French is basic so I bought a map and determined the best option was to go to Meaux or Disney and get a taxi. We bough tickets to Meaux and on the way I changed my mind and diverted to Crecy la Chappelle. There were no taxis at the station but we found a nice pizza restauarant where we had a meal and the kind waiter called a taxi. It cost €50 but was still cheaper than a taxi from Paris, however the moral is - DO NOT MISS THE LAST TRAIN!

Don't miss Disney either, we had a ball, we were there when it opened and we were one of the last to leave (we were aged, 30, 30, 57 & 58). The Halloween decorations were brilliant. The queues are long at the start of the day but the Studio park emptied between 4.30-6.00 and queue times were down to 20-25 mins. The same was true at the main park from 8pm when we went from one attraction to the other in rapid succession.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyndsey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews