We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base for Disneyland Paris”
Review of Le Chene Gris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pommeuse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chene Gris
Reviewed 4 June 2017

Booked this campsite for 8 of our family as we were going to Disneyland Paris and wanted to keep the cost of our trip down but we were also wanting somewhere close as not have to travel too far each day as well.Le Chene Gris was perfect! Set in a lovely wooded area,so quiet and peaceful we wished we had been able to spend more time at the campsite but the trip was mainly about Disneyland.It was about a 20-25 minute drive away and mainly through small winding roads through the woodland.We found the campsite to be quite empty but the pool/pools area to be just about right in terms of people and space to be able to swim so if in the summer it was full the pool area would be far too small to cope.We arrived at the campsite about 1pm and had to wait until the reception opened at 3pm to check in which was a real pain as we had shopped on the way and had bags of food(chicken etc.) and it was baking hot.Luckily they allowed us to store it in the fridge in their main kitchen for a couple of hours so all was not lost.So beware of the check in times but they are stated in the booking terms to be fair to the campsite.My only other niggle was that there are 2 toilets next to the pool but no soap/basin to wash your hands after which to me was not acceptable.A nice bar and restaurant area overlooks the pool area and the pizzas we had were very good.We had emailed twice to have our 2 static homes close together to which we never received a reply and when we got there they were apart, we complained and as there was 1 empty next to one of ours we finally got the 2 together.(why does everything have to be such hard work?).The wifi was free when we went but has to be paid for in high season.The toilet/shower blocks were spotless on the 1 time that i used them and looked very new.The shop was handy to have but quite pricey so i would recommend the intermarche which is a five minute drive from the campsite.On the whole i would highly recommend this campsite for trips to Disney but not just to stay at the campsite in high season if you are not going to Disney..I would also say it is better for people with younger children and not older teenagers.I would definitely use this campsite again if going to Disney.
Many Thanks Le Chene Gris.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Guernseyjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

I was a little reluctant as i had left this accommodation booking entirely to my wife. As we were only 25mins from Eurodisney i didn't know what to expect. The park is situated in a lovely wooded region and the mobile homes on site were all new and very clean and comfortable. The swimming pools and water play area were the best we had experienced . Pool areas contained limitless amounts of sun loungers and bar and restaurant looks over the pool area. A SuperU supermarket is only 17 mins away which is a must for any traveller. A quite rail track runs adjacent to the site but provides an easy access to Paris. Although many miles from the nearest beach the region is lovely and the park is tucked away for a relaxing time. Perfect for Paris and Eurodisney.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed for 5 nights in a ready sited tent which was well equipped and contained everything we needed. I particularly liked the provision of table/ chairs and parasol fo routside. The pitches are slightly close together but as we were using as a base for Disney this didnt bother us too much .Great toilet / shower facilities, plentiful and clean and loo roll was provided! Onsite shop was fairly well equipped but pricey, we shopped in Auchen near Disney. The pool area got really busy and it was difficult to get a sun lounger - on a plus note ordinary swim shorts were fine here! We will be returning this summer.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank MrsCraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

An ok campsite close to Disney a plus. Stayed in an Ottawa tent had ants twice and when complained was told what do you expect its a tent so not impressed with service.nice pool if a little small for the amount of people there . Tents basic but everything you need advise taking a toaster as no grill. Tent showing signs of age holes and seams coming away but others in good condition so luck of the draw.some close to amenities others you had to walk a very stony incline even with your luggage so ask for close to amenities if you can.had a nice time but don't think I would visit again

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzideri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We booked this campsite rather last minute for a week's family holiday to include Eurodisney (easy 30 min drive away). On arrival I was really impressed by how clean and pretty the site is, and how welcoming the staff are. We had read previous reviews on the pitches being on the small size so we were ready for this - the pitches are packed quite closely together, but we had enough space for our large tent, with a small area to the side for seating etc - although we were separated by a patchy hedge we did feel a bit overlooked by our neighbours. The grass pitches are not very well maintained - ours (and others I observed) were littered with stones and putting in tent pegs was quite difficult. In addition to this the pitches are very uneven - at one point I tripped over inside our tent as there was a huge dip in the ground and hurt my ankle. Our neighbouring pitch had large holes in it which were covered up by large broken patio slabs. It's a shame because if the pitches were better maintained it would be so much better. The toilet/shower facilities were fantastic - very clean, nice and warm showers. Yes the toilet roll is outside the cubicles but this isn't the end of the world - it's regularly restocked. The only thing that bugged me here is that there are no handwashing facilities by the toilets - you have to leave the toilet area and walk to the adjoining block (next door) to wash your hands - and these don't have their own soap so you have to bring your own to wash your hands after the toilet. The pool area is really nice - very clean and well maintained. We went in the summer so it was a bit of a free for all - very busy. It is not supervised which is fine but there are no limits on numbers so it felt very crowded - lots of people jumping in all around you so prepare to get splashed! There are two spacious paddling pools for little ones and a small deeper outside pool and an indoor one which are all joined together. Very well maintained. Shop on site - expensive as expected but ok range and fresh croissants and baguette very day. Local supermarkets short drive away. Bar and restaurant pretty good - menu quite limited to pizzas and a few grills but no problems and I thought the food was ok. Entertainment pretty good for kids too. Indoor soft play area to left of bar area very nice and shady when it gets hot. I was feeling quite positive about my stay despite the few niggles until a staff member was very rude to my six year old daughter. The staff member was on a battery operated buggy and was about to enter the code to the barrier to access the main entry of the site. My daughter asked me if she could enter the code for the staff member so she wouldn't have to get out of her buggy, to which I said I thought that would be a very helpful and nice thing to do. Even though I was there, the staff member asked my daughter 'why are you using our system? Who asked you to use our system? Go away and don't touch it' without any eye contact with me, driving off before I could explain/protest. My daughter was very upset and I felt this was rude and unwarranted, and dropped my review for this site from an average to a poor

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pommeuse
14.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
19.4 km away
Camping Le Village Parisien
2 km away
Chateau de Pommeuse
Chateau de Pommeuse
#1 of 3 in Pommeuse
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Le Moulin de Pommeuse
Le Moulin de Pommeuse
#2 of 3 in Pommeuse
92 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Gris

Address: 24 Place de la gare de Faremoutiers, 77515 Pommeuse, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Pommeuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pommeuse
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Gris 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campsite Le Chene Gris is perfectly located, just a 20 minute drive from Disneyland(R) Paris and 55 kilometers from Paris. From the campsite you can step onto a train to the French capital and, after just 45 minutes, you can step off the train and into the heart of the city. Opposite the small train station at Pommeuse is the entrance to campsite Le Chene Gris. You'll receive a warm welcome from the employees of Iris Parc, who will be happy to give you practical information and advice on tours in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chene Gris Hotel Pommeuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing