We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Chene Gris - October half term”
Review of Le Chene Gris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pommeuse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Chene Gris
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This was a Sun newspaper 7 night caravan holiday in France. It was the first one of these deals we had done abroad. Having checked previous reviews we went prepared for very cold nights and thank goodness we did as the day we arrived the weather in Britain and France turned to winter over night! We travelled with 4 children, flying into Paris, train into central Paris, walked to Gare de l'est train station in paris and got the train to Pommeuse/Faremoutiers on the collummiers line. Its a direct train which is double decker but turned out the top seats seem to be for smokers. the campsite entrance is outside the train station. We had exceptionally helpful staff who were mainly dutch (its a dutch holiday company), very polite, very good english and very nice people.

We stayed in a Bali caravan/chalet which was very clean when we arrived. We knew we would have to clean the caravan before leaving or get charged cleaning fees. They only supply one thick blanket per person, and square (cushion like) pillows. You need to bring sheets, pillow cases or hire them. We brought our own and sleeping bags for all of us as there are NO duvets supplied. I preferred the Bali caravan to the british ones as we have 3 young children and one teenager. We had the small double bedroom, teenager in the living room and the other 3 were in the childrens room which has a set of bunk beds and a single bed. (the british caravans seem to only cater for 2 children in a bedroom). As previously described by other travellers, there is no TV and no oven. You get a microwave, and a hob. There was no Gas fire, we had one very small electric heater in the corner of the living room. The caravan had a lovely big decking area with tables and chairs and a sun shade.

I thought it was a lovely site and would be great in the summer. Our caravan was in amongst trees and bushes and it was very pretty as it was autumn. The outdoor pool looked great for young children. Sadly the winter weather stopped any use of the pool. there was a good size padded soft play climbing area which is inside a giant marquee and our kids spent lots of time there. They really liked going to the 'kids club' with our kind dutch kids entertainer who made them all laugh and chased them around for half an hour. he also did lots of drawing with them and face painting at Halloween. There were not many people staying at the site as this was the last week it was open. A few extra people turned up around Halloween to go to Disney which we did not bother with. You can get to it by train and bus from collummiers but I think its simpler to drive. There is a very small playground in the camp site.

We spent our time travelling to Collummiers on the train which is 2 stops. has two Lidl and a pretty town park which has some wildlife and a playground and a small museum. The kids tried out French in the local bakers. We walked from the campsite into the little town/villages of Pommeuse and Faremoutiers that also had some basic shops. The shops in the villages and towns seem to shut during the early part of the afternoon and re open about 4pm to 7pm/9pm.

We got the train in to Paris for some day trips. You can buy the train tickets at the train station but the automatic machine was not working and mostly the ticket office is not open. We got paris visitor train tickets from the campsite reception. It was 10 euros for a child age 4 to 10, or 15 euros for each adult. this covered train travel up to zone 5 and all metro and bus travel for the day. (it also covered us for the little train that goes up the hill at Monmatre). The train into paris takes just under an hour.

Our biggest expense of the week was the train travel into Paris. we took packed lunches which were eaten in the parks of Paris as during the day it was clear and sunny and warm enough to be outside.

We enjoyed the week and the campsite as a base for visiting paris. It gave us (a large family) somewhere to cook meals in the evenings and let the children have a runaround and being a newspaper deal, it was very cheap accommodation. I will be trying to get a holiday here again but during warmer months and possibly on eurostar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank pleasefeedmycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed for a long weekend at the end of September . It is peaceful site hardly anybody was about. Used it as a base for Disney which is about 20 minutes by car and our sat nav avoided the toll road. our caravan was modern with 2 bedrooms one with a double bed, the other with bunk beds and a single bed. bathroom with shower and huge mirror toilet is on its own. living area with table and chairs kitchen has a microwave gas hob and a 'normal' size fridge freezer. it has an electric kettle but no toaster or oven.
plenty of storage space. we had to take our own sheets and towels & tea towels. a pillow which is square not oblong and a blanket for each bed. we had taken extra pillows thank goodness
there is one electric heater which is useful but in September the floors were cold and was chilly when you got up in the night. Plenty of crockery remember to take toliet roll as there will be none to start with. We arrived late and was met by the security guard who did all the paperwork & handed over the keys and marked on the map where it was!
It was a shame the weather wasn't warm enough as the pools looked lovely. didn't use the restaurant or bar. the staff in the office were lovely we ran out of gas for the boiler and it was replaced very quickly plus gave us the directions to the nearest petrol station when we'd almost run out of petrol in the car
it is in a lovely village typically french we were impressed that much we have booked for the half term in October. It is just a shame they are not open during the winter as the price difference between a basic 4 bedded room and this is almost nothing and much nicer to have the room & cooking facilities plus 2 bedrooms!!
There is much more to explore

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaineeBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

No, it’s not as good as staying at a hotel within the Disneyland resort, nor like being at the David Crocket Ranch, but it is a way of experiencing the magic of Disney without spending a fortune…

Regarding Le Chêne Gris, I agree with most of the previous reviewers, but I did not experience delays at the reception, probably because our holiday did not start until 18th September. Maybe that’s also the reason for not seeing any ants, or maybe it’s because we bought some black sacks and cleared our rubbish daily. My main complaint about the campsite relates to wifi. Using my own laptop, the cost was 5 euro per hour for slow access; using the site’s internet facilities, also slow, the cost was 3.5 euro per hour and pressing keys on the keyboard did not always bring desired results – when accessing my webmail, in particular.

There was also a shortage of daylight in the mobile home that we were using (No. 9), because of a high hedge that even touched the rear windows and trees that prevented much of the sun getting to the decking area. The mobile home next door almost touched ours!

We discovered that it is fairly easy to get to and from Disneyland without using the toll road (which costs 2.10 euro for a very short stretch of road), by using the equivalent of the UK’s ‘B’ roads via Villiers-sur-Morin. To enter the two parks, we needed tickets for three adults and one child. One ticket was covered by using Tesco Club reward points; the others were purchased via eBay – saving approximately £65 compared with buying the three tickets in advance via the Disneyland website.

Picnics are not allowed in the park, but there’s nothing to stop you taking snacks in your pockets. For a cooked meal, all the restaurants are expensive. We found the best price to be at the ‘British’ fish and chips restaurant, Toad Hall. We had our meal before 12 o’clock, when the restaurant was almost empty; later it became very crowded.

On a different day, we made our way to the medieval town of Provins – an interesting place. While there, we saw a re-enactment show: The Legend of the Knights (11 euro for adults and 7.5 euro for children) – well worth the money.

Would we return to Le Chêne Gris? Yes, but would request a home in a better position. As a professional proofreader and copywriter, I will also try to persuade the owners to correct the errors in translating some of their notices into English!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank DallasWillcox_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

used le chene Gris as a base for Disney, Reims and Paris. we stayed in a pre erected tent (2 adults 4 kids) and found it clean and comfortable, with lighting, fridge and cooker.
all the staff we encountered were very friendly and spoke good English. the pool area is nice as was the bar. I don't think the little supermarket was too outrageously over priced, no worse than a spar shop in the UK. Found a little supermarket just up the road too.
we paid about £55 for a ticket to Paris on the train (youngest was free) and included a day pass to the Paris metro, which I thought was good value, the train was clean and on time. buy the tickets from the reception of the campsite as the staff speak great English. I think you can also buy Disney tickets at the reception too.
a great place for a Paris/Disney base, some of the reviews on trip advisor really slate the place but its ok, it was really cheap, so don't expect 5 stars! the motorways are close by too. one gripe is only one toilet block, could do with another at the far end of the site. would definitely go again but would get the static home with toilet and shower for convenience.

Room Tip: easier to have a static caravan if you have young kids needing the toilet late at night, unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rich364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We made the grave mistake of visiting this campsite without a car. We made the decision to fly and get the train. The train station was right on the door step of the the campsite which was helpful but there was no information at reception to help with journeys and times. We managed to get to Disney ok, but the train journey in to Paris took a good hour.

We stayed in one of the 'Bali' homes and were very disappointed to find that we had to clean it, and it had to be checked before we were allowed to depart - it was like being on school camp. It was also very cold!

The food in the restaurant was terrible!!! Over priced and microwaved!

The staff were polite and helpful, but would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pommeuse
14.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel at Disneyland Paris
19.4 km away
Camping Le Village Parisien
2 km away
Chateau de Pommeuse
Chateau de Pommeuse
#1 of 3 in Pommeuse
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Le Moulin de Pommeuse
Le Moulin de Pommeuse
#2 of 3 in Pommeuse
92 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Chene Gris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chene Gris

Address: 24 Place de la gare de Faremoutiers, 77515 Pommeuse, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Pommeuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Pommeuse
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chene Gris 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campsite Le Chene Gris is perfectly located, just a 20 minute drive from Disneyland(R) Paris and 55 kilometers from Paris. From the campsite you can step onto a train to the French capital and, after just 45 minutes, you can step off the train and into the heart of the city. Opposite the small train station at Pommeuse is the entrance to campsite Le Chene Gris. You'll receive a warm welcome from the employees of Iris Parc, who will be happy to give you practical information and advice on tours in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Chene Gris Hotel Pommeuse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing