We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bougainvillea Paradise Campground(Dauis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Natura Vista(Dauis)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Bohol Bee Farm(Dauis)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$113
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$84
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
251
190
62
34
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
190
62
34
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity pooldream isletman made islandprivate jacuzzilow tidesuperior roompanglao islandkare karegolf cartsmall islandoverlooking the beachmarine sanctuarygarden squarefruit shakesalona beachprivate islandartificial island
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

We are into our last hours of our stay in Panglao Island, at Mithi Resort & Spa (previously known as Panglao Island Nature Resort & Spa). This is also the journey end to our annual winter vacation and wedding anniversary. We are thrilled that Mithi Resort & Spa was our last stop. We've been in the Philippines for approximately two weeks, visiting a total of four destinations. We are torn between Boracay and Bohol as both are special in their own way. For convenience, our transit home makes more sense to be from Bohol as it is s quick 20 minute drive to the airport where as Boracay there is travel by land, water, and again land to get to the airport.

We were memorized when we arrived at Mithi Resort & Spa. The hotel is s hidden gem with its approximately three infinity pools overlooking the ocean exactly like the online advertising! Small resort, approximately 60 suites and we never felt it was "busy". The staff are extremely kind, peaceful, and respectful. We were even taken by golf cart to our room, first class service!

The hotel obviously caters to an upper class income kind of clientele. Ourselves, just your average blue collar type from Toronto - Canada. However, the staff treated everyone the same which we appreciated. Our room was a deluxe suite with garden view - footsteps from the pools, lobby, bar, restaurant, and beach! The room was quite modern versus our very cute rustic hotel in Boracay. The room was immaculate. Our only feedback here again toward the suite was not toward customer service, but to the owners, the bathroom fixtures need regular attention. The rain shower is not fully functional as over time this type of shower head needs a proper cleaning or replacement. This is common with all rain shower heads.

The breakfast buffet (included with our arrangement) and customer service is amazing! Good selection. The happy hour runs only from 4 to 6 with 30% off select mix drinks. The restaurant offers lunch and dinner. The bar offers snacks and appetizers. Note that the food portions are much smaller at this hotel versus the other hotels of similar quality and class that we stayed at in the Philippines. The price point for the food and beverages is higher as well, not too sure why.

Only small local convenience stores and restaurants are out along the main roads. If you decide to venture out, you do need a taxi for sure to get to them and all cash, no credit card. So, you may as well eat at the resort, but again, it cost more. If you have the time, at least once, take the taxi (550 paseo) to go to the really large are approximately 30 minutes away called Alona Beach, resembles Boracay but not as nice as Boracay. The food is much cheaper though, and some credit card options. It is full of tourists and backpackers though, and some locals. With the two of us we took a motorized tricycle back to the hotel and the driver charged us 250 paseos. The taxis and tricycles are all registered and "everyone known everyone" mentality here because it is a small community, so safety is a priority for the locals.

Do your site seeing research before you stay in Panglao Island. Most of which you can take a taxi or tricycle on your own during the day, especially the Chocolate Hills. We paid a your guide which we feel was not necessary.

Besides that, an enjoyable stay at Mithi Resort & Spa. The staff are quite shy, so please engage them in conversation with good morning, how are you, and let them know they are doing a great job. They will appreciate the conversation and their hospitality will go even longer for you in addition to their already warm hearts!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank monsieuramar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear monsieuramar,

It is heartwarming to read your generous review regarding your stay with us at Mithi Resort and Spa. We are happy that you experienced "first class service" from our staff, and it is our hope that you will come back with your family and friends to stay with us again in the future. Thank you for showing kindness to our staff by expressing your appreciation about our warm hospitality and helpfulness to your needs and concerns. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Great place, great food, great service, great everything! PINR was our dating ground for 7 years.. we would watch a concert on valentines day, go for a swim on a weekend or just eat out.. so when we finally decided to tie the knot, choosing a venue for the reception was not hard for Ecko and I.
I wanted to have the party at the small islet they have at the resort but due to weather issues we had to move to the garden square.. and I was happy we did. It was so beautiful!!! Really a great place for weddings! The staff also made sure everything went well.. thankful for Chef Red and Rica!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Dear Jessa C,

Thank you for choosing Mithi Resort and Spa as your venue "to tie the knot." We are very happy that we have become a part of your journey "for 7 years!" Congratulations and best wishes to your new life together with Ecko, and we hope that you continue to celebrate your momentous events with us.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We stayed at the resort for 2 days as we had to move from another resort as they were fully booked.

Well we arrived at a resort that looks so beautiful from the moment you drive down the driveway to the resort and once upon a time must have been the most amazing resort in Panglao.

From arrival we were taken to a room that was next to another set of villas under renovations so from the hammering and singing of the contractor as not really a nice introduction to the resort, we asked to move (the room we were given should be given at a last sell as the construction in the back ground is not a nice experience and a high class standard), there were rooms available but it took 2 hours for them to prepare a room for us (which is ridiculous) and this had already put us in a bad thought for the resort. Wifi is only available in the main building and is very weak and not having the wifi around the whole resort in this day and age is very poor. The room was wonderful and such a beautiful sanctuary from the outside, beds were very comfortable, room was very large with a great comforting atmosphere, the shower was not good and did not get hot was just luke warm and this even though not that nice was ok and no wifi in the room!!

The restaurant service really lacked and a lot of the time the staff were standing around and talking to each other and seemed to have not management or direction. the food was average and not of a great standard. with a restaurant that is situated by the ocean and all seafood seemed frozen and not fresh. Menu was very un-aluring and not did not really have any interest. Breakfast only served to 9:30 is a joke even though I am a very early riser this is a low standard for a resort that wants to be a high standard. You have to present coupons for your meals as well which is also terrible and very much a 2 star standard.

The spa is such an beautiful building in lovely Spanish Colonial style but then it stopped there once we had handed over our coupon for the massage. stepping down to the massage room area the relaxation lounge was terrible, the massage room was ok (music too loud), the massage was pretty much no description and felt like I was having a back rub. At the end with our tea (Dilmah berry tea??) we were presented with envelopes to give tips (to start I'm in my robe with no money on me) and tis makes you feel uncomfortable and is a terrible standard and not a nice thing to do to your guests. When getting change a female staff member walked through the male changing rooms, not nice!!!

In all there seemed to be no management around in any area of the resort to monitor guest expectations and staff seem to work and do what ever they like.

Its a shame that a resort that is such and beautiful (was a such and more beautiful environment than the resort that we had previously moved from) and peaceful place to miss the mark so much. I would like to say that I would like to return because the room was so nice but I wouldn't as in the end after 2 days we couldn't wait to leave. I would like to say that I would recommend the resort but there is nothing to recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeBloggs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Dear JoeBloggs75,

Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that your stay with us was disrupted by the concerns that you raised. As you have noticed, we are currently upgrading our facilities, and as such, we apologize for the disturbance near the construction area. We assure everyone upon checkin that it is only during the day, when most of our guests go on tour, that construction is ongoing. Work desists towards the end of the day in order to provide the resort a more peaceful and quiet evening, when the guests come back from their tours. In spite of that, we inform our guests beforehand, but if they still find the location of their room not to their liking, we transfer them to another location according to the availability of our rooms. Part of our upgrade is to improve the quality of our wifi connection, which, eventually will be faster and will cover more area within the resort. Regarding the food at the restaurant, we try as much as we can to cater to the wide palate range of our guests with diverse preferences and coming from varied cultural backgrounds, hence we encourage our guests to express the tastes that are agreeable to them. Standard buffet time for breakfast in most hotels is 3 hours maximum for hygiene and food safety purposes. Here, we start breakfast buffet early at 6:30am to take into account our guests who will go on a countryside tour or an island-hopping tour early. Concerning the spa, our therapists have been trained to adjust to the sensitivities of our guests. We wish that you could have informed our staff to either lessen the volume of the music or switch it off; and, on the other hand, communicate to our masseuse the intensity of the massage pressure that you would have liked. The spa is equipped with cubicles that allow our guests more privacy, and it is regrettable that the presence of one of our staff in an open area offended you. Also, the tip envelopes given to our guests at the end of the massage is not obligatory (as is the characteristic of a tip), therefore, the guest has the freedom to either acknowledge or ignore the tipping for the service. Nevertheless, we are grateful for your appreciation of the beauty of our resort, and we hope to continually exert our efforts to the improvement and betterment of our services.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

My husband and I went here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. But little did I know it wasn't just a usual celebration, because he planned a second wedding proposal on the night of our anniversary. The resort staff was quite accommodating on all his requests to make his surprise really special. It was indeed a memorable experience for both of us. Despite the typhoon and sudden changes, they were able to provide him with options that is equally as beautiful as the Dream Islet. Overall, this resort provides privacy, serenity and dreamy atmosphere. Just the perfect elements to celebrate love.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear Stephanie B,

We are very happy to have made your first wedding anniversary more memorable by collaborating with your husband a plan to surprise you with a second wedding proposal! It was unique, not to mention romantic and dreamy, despite the adjustments to the original plan. Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience through this review, and we look forward to assisting you in realizing your Dream Islet second wedding anniversary celebration.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Shock--the absolutely stunning view of sea with blue-green mountains on the horizon as we step on to our deck.

Panglao Island Nature Resort and Spa was not entirely terra incognita for us—it had been highly recommended by family. Inside, a complimentary fruit platter awaited us with a handwritten note by the general manager. Much appreciated !

What made our seaview bungalow special was the deck—spacious despite the jacuzzi and the two lounge chairs, plus a corner for the sunset apéritif. Dense shrubbery gave full privacy to meditate on the deck, roll out my yoga mat.

Could have done without the TV, and didn’t use the air conditioning, as it was quite breezy this early January. The bed was heavenly: wide and comfortable, fine linens. The room was okay, but the airy garden shower was out of this world. One had the illusion of being outside in a tropical garden but without the frogs, the creepy crawlies, the lizards.

The resort’s breakfast buffet is staggeringly lavish. You can do healthy--homemade granola, fresh fruit (sweetest pineapple ever), yogurt, ham, cheese, fresh green salad, brown bread, but also less healthy, like different muffins each day, croissants, Danish made by the hotel kitchen. But wait…there were hot foods too that varied daily, fish filets with pesto, sautéed okra with tomatoes, Swedish meatballs, potato croquettes. My husband ate only vegetarian, no problem here. At the chef’s corner, you could order eggs any way you wanted, and there were other foods for Asian tastes like congee with complete condiments, noodles in soup, typical Filipino breakfast.

Food is taken seriously at Panglao Island Nature Resort and Spa—a native dish, kare-kare, looked good (not always the case) and was delicious, served unusually with real mashed potatoes. Try the Vietnamese fresh spring roll for crisp clean taste (this is not the fried version) and appeal in presentation. For dessert, the Coconut Panna Cotta, yum! The secret to the inventiveness with local ingredients, to the visual attractiveness of the dishes here, I discovered, was the Manager Renel Dimacali’s training with Alain Ducasse in Paris, no less. Le terroir, c’est tout!

Activity-wise: I left the cluster of glam pools with the swim-up bar overlooking the beach to the bikini-ed girls taking selfies and did laps in the infinity pool between the gym room and the spa--a huge pool, where I had the luxury of swimming laps alone! The resort’s clay court and the availability of ballboys made me regret I left my tennis racket at home. The spa must be visited, if only to admire the splendid hardwood floor, kamagong now being terribly rare. I had a Hawaiian lomi-lomi massage, good if you like deep muscle massage. The spa is a beautiful peaceful place, where romantic events like engagements are held in their airy upper-level spaces.

If in doubt about what tour to go on, consult Exur, friendly bartender, a fountain of knowledge about what to see in Bohol. For kids, he’ll do the signature cocktails like Chocolate Hills without the booze. The dining room can feel a bit empty at lunchtime, when clients are out touring or sunning by the pools, the staff under-occupied, so the open-walled bar is a pleasant place to hang out.

What I loved…the views of the sea, the lush garden, the space (various gazebos, the veranda, the game room, the park-like grounds, our deck), the stunning hardwood floor of the spa, the natural cave on the hotel’s land. The spacious grounds are planted with orchids, shrubs of contrasting colors and textures, native trees, many kinds of palms, coconut trees. In the shallow ponds at the front desk and the spa, water lilies bloom, koi swim lazily, and huge dragonflies of many colors whir above them.

The last two mornings of our stay were slightly marred by the noise of a machine on the beach at 6 am—the sand was being plowed over at low tide to uproot sea grass. Even paradise has to be maintained!

The pluses: I appreciated the management’s decision to add 10% to all food and beverage, requesting clients to not tip. Excellent, as the 10% benefits all staff. Appreciated also that the shuttle from the AP/back, and breakfast, were included in room price. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, yet they leave you well alone.

Suggestions to the hotel: Maybe Panglao Island Nature Resort could lean with more conviction towards the environmentally friendly. Implement the no client=no energy. The rooms have the thingie to shut down electricity with the removal of the card key, but management decided not to implement this. Label the native trees on the grounds, there is a wealth of interesting trees I could not identify and I know most native trees. Plowing up sea grass in front of the beach to heighten visual appeal and enable clients to wade in more transparent waters? It’s enough that the beach is swept clean of debris several times a day. If you want clients to visit the cave, make sure that the trash to the right of the path--electrical equipment, construction debris--is cleared up. Live up to the luxury you want to provide.

On se réjouit de revenir! We can’t wait to come back!

Room Tip: The seaview bungalows have superb views. But they accommodate only couples.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfwrites_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear mfwrites_11,

We, at Mithi Resort and Spa (formerly Panglao Island nature Resort and Spa), are extremely grateful for your profuse and generous review. The quality of our service is reflected on the details that you noticed, and we are pleased to have provided you with an enjoyable and relaxing experience. We also appreciate the suggestions that you raised, and we will take them into account for our improvement. On the other hand, please accept our apologies for the noise that disturbed you during your last 2 mornings with us. We have already instructed our staff to schedule their maintenance at a more unobtrusive time for our guests. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back! Nous vous souhaitons le meilleur à votre retour à Panglao et nous espérons bien vous revoir prochainement parmi nous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews