We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With A View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mithi Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dauis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Shock--the absolutely stunning view of sea with blue-green mountains on the horizon as we step on to our deck.

Panglao Island Nature Resort and Spa was not entirely terra incognita for us—it had been highly recommended by family. Inside, a complimentary fruit platter awaited us with a handwritten note by the general manager. Much appreciated !

What made our seaview bungalow special was the deck—spacious despite the jacuzzi and the two lounge chairs, plus a corner for the sunset apéritif. Dense shrubbery gave full privacy to meditate on the deck, roll out my yoga mat.

Could have done without the TV, and didn’t use the air conditioning, as it was quite breezy this early January. The bed was heavenly: wide and comfortable, fine linens. The room was okay, but the airy garden shower was out of this world. One had the illusion of being outside in a tropical garden but without the frogs, the creepy crawlies, the lizards.

The resort’s breakfast buffet is staggeringly lavish. You can do healthy--homemade granola, fresh fruit (sweetest pineapple ever), yogurt, ham, cheese, fresh green salad, brown bread, but also less healthy, like different muffins each day, croissants, Danish made by the hotel kitchen. But wait…there were hot foods too that varied daily, fish filets with pesto, sautéed okra with tomatoes, Swedish meatballs, potato croquettes. My husband ate only vegetarian, no problem here. At the chef’s corner, you could order eggs any way you wanted, and there were other foods for Asian tastes like congee with complete condiments, noodles in soup, typical Filipino breakfast.

Food is taken seriously at Panglao Island Nature Resort and Spa—a native dish, kare-kare, looked good (not always the case) and was delicious, served unusually with real mashed potatoes. Try the Vietnamese fresh spring roll for crisp clean taste (this is not the fried version) and appeal in presentation. For dessert, the Coconut Panna Cotta, yum! The secret to the inventiveness with local ingredients, to the visual attractiveness of the dishes here, I discovered, was the Manager Renel Dimacali’s training with Alain Ducasse in Paris, no less. Le terroir, c’est tout!

Activity-wise: I left the cluster of glam pools with the swim-up bar overlooking the beach to the bikini-ed girls taking selfies and did laps in the infinity pool between the gym room and the spa--a huge pool, where I had the luxury of swimming laps alone! The resort’s clay court and the availability of ballboys made me regret I left my tennis racket at home. The spa must be visited, if only to admire the splendid hardwood floor, kamagong now being terribly rare. I had a Hawaiian lomi-lomi massage, good if you like deep muscle massage. The spa is a beautiful peaceful place, where romantic events like engagements are held in their airy upper-level spaces.

If in doubt about what tour to go on, consult Exur, friendly bartender, a fountain of knowledge about what to see in Bohol. For kids, he’ll do the signature cocktails like Chocolate Hills without the booze. The dining room can feel a bit empty at lunchtime, when clients are out touring or sunning by the pools, the staff under-occupied, so the open-walled bar is a pleasant place to hang out.

What I loved…the views of the sea, the lush garden, the space (various gazebos, the veranda, the game room, the park-like grounds, our deck), the stunning hardwood floor of the spa, the natural cave on the hotel’s land. The spacious grounds are planted with orchids, shrubs of contrasting colors and textures, native trees, many kinds of palms, coconut trees. In the shallow ponds at the front desk and the spa, water lilies bloom, koi swim lazily, and huge dragonflies of many colors whir above them.

The last two mornings of our stay were slightly marred by the noise of a machine on the beach at 6 am—the sand was being plowed over at low tide to uproot sea grass. Even paradise has to be maintained!

The pluses: I appreciated the management’s decision to add 10% to all food and beverage, requesting clients to not tip. Excellent, as the 10% benefits all staff. Appreciated also that the shuttle from the AP/back, and breakfast, were included in room price. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, yet they leave you well alone.

Suggestions to the hotel: Maybe Panglao Island Nature Resort could lean with more conviction towards the environmentally friendly. Implement the no client=no energy. The rooms have the thingie to shut down electricity with the removal of the card key, but management decided not to implement this. Label the native trees on the grounds, there is a wealth of interesting trees I could not identify and I know most native trees. Plowing up sea grass in front of the beach to heighten visual appeal and enable clients to wade in more transparent waters? It’s enough that the beach is swept clean of debris several times a day. If you want clients to visit the cave, make sure that the trash to the right of the path--electrical equipment, construction debris--is cleared up. Live up to the luxury you want to provide.

On se réjouit de revenir! We can’t wait to come back!

Room Tip: The seaview bungalows have superb views. But they accommodate only couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfwrites_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Dear mfwrites_11,

We, at Mithi Resort and Spa (formerly Panglao Island nature Resort and Spa), are extremely grateful for your profuse and generous review. The quality of our service is reflected on the details that you noticed, and we are pleased to have provided you with an enjoyable and relaxing experience. We also appreciate the suggestions that you raised, and we will take them into account for our improvement. On the other hand, please accept our apologies for the noise that disturbed you during your last 2 mornings with us. We have already instructed our staff to schedule their maintenance at a more unobtrusive time for our guests. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back! Nous vous souhaitons le meilleur à votre retour à Panglao et nous espérons bien vous revoir prochainement parmi nous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2017

A nice resort on Panglao Island with excellent service. The best feature would have to be the 25m lap pool which was virtually empty when we stayed there - for people who like serious swimming, this is an excellent option. The room was nice but would benefit from some updating - it had rather weird electrics with light switches hidden behind furniture and the loudest air conditioning unit we have ever experienced. Despite these problems, the room was huge and had a nice private terrace. There's little option but to eat in the restaurant as the resort is quite isolated - we had two meals there, one was fairly terrible and one was excellent, so very mixed experiences concerning the food. What is a little obtrusive, however, is the loud, live music which might not be to everyone's tastes, particularly since the band come to each table in turn. It would be better to have them in one position, so that guests could choose a table either near or far away from the band.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kohlrabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear kohlrabi,

Thank you for a fairly objective review of Panglao Island Nature Resort and Spa. We will be considering the concerns that you have raised, and we will be addressing them in accordance to what is beneficial to all our guests. We hope that you will again opt to stay with us in the near future, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017

It's really beautiful place. And you can't take this from them. But as a first class resort, it still has lot's to improve. There's no WiFi in rooms. The wifi in Lobby is pretty bad. It's hard to get in and our from the place as it's distance and there's no easy transportation. Taxi and car rental at the resort are extremely expensive. After 23:00 it's hard to get transport for Alona beach restaurants and bars. The Resort restaurant is very expensive (in local standarts) and is not very good. As it's hard just to get out for a bite, the whole thing becomes a bit of a problem. Shower in room is week and doesn't get hot, and if it you make it a bit stronger, it's really cold, and it doesn't even get strong. The staff is friendly and tries to help as much as possible, but something in the higher levels is problematic. Breakfast is served until 09:30, which for a resort, is too early. Restaurant closes at 23 and there's no 24hs room service. Which for a place which is very distanced and complicated in transportation, is a problem for the late night snackers. The Sauna is paied. The massage was amazing! The jacuzzi and the room and all the place itself are really beautiful. With a little bit more of thought and detail concern, it would really become a unique and amazing venue.

Room Tip: Seaside view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Misha W,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We acknowledge your comments and we hope that you also heed our response. First, as our Front Desk Officer informs all our guests upon check-in, we are upgrading our facilities and amenities (including the Wifi connection), hence, it is limited to the public areas, i.e. lobby, restaurant, and bar. Second, the resort is in a secluded location that makes it ideal for a specific market that seeks privacy and isolation from the "hustle and bustle of city life." The taxi and car rentals are external to the resort, and it is between the transportation company and our guests, to agree on the rates. We just assist our guests in contacting these companies for their convenience. Third, the prices in the restaurant are competitive with the other resorts in the island, thus we are certain that our menu is fair with all the factors being considered. Also, we inform our guests regarding the operating hours of our restaurant upon check-in. Should they wish to have a snack outside these hours, our guests are more than welcome to arrange it with our staff. All in all, we are still grateful for your comments that will enable us to improve on our service.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Comfortable nippa roofed cottages in spacious grounds overlooking a beautiful, quiet and sheltered sandy beach provide a wonderful location for those that wish to have a peaceful break away from the crowds. But with swimming pools, tennis courts, boating services, biliards, massage spa, cave, etc., the venue endeavours to cater for all. The restaurant areas overlooking the sea provide a fairly good buffet breakfast and buffet or a la carte meals. This was our second visit and undoubtedly one of the best resorts in Bohol

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 81nigelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Dear 81nigelb,

Thank you for your continued patronage of Panglao Island Nature Resort and Spa! We are glad that on your second visit, you still consider us as "one of the best resorts in Bohol." Please do not hesitate to contact us at info@mithiresort.com or sales@mithiresort.com for regular updates on our packages and rates. We look forward to your third visit, with our upgraded rooms and facilities.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

After much pursuing of various wedding venues, including others in Boracay, Bohol and at other beach locations, we decided to get married at this beautiful resort. It turned out to be an absolutely fantastic decision and we have loved every second of it!

The islet, set within the beautiful, clear water, was the ideal location for our ceremony, followed by canapes organised for our guests by the resort on the white beach, and finishing up at intimate and beautifully decorated Garden Square, which worked better than the Verdant for our c.80 guests.

The resort staff were so helpful during the whole wedding planning, very accommodating to a number of requests and alterations we made from set ups to food.

Our guests had a blast, everyone enjoyed the few different pools overlooking the ocean, the delicious food at the restaurant and the massage at the Mithi Spa - we sadly missed out due to the hectic wedding schedule! :(..

We are super happy that we decided on this resort for our wedding and in turn would very much recommend it to anyone looking for a wedding venue or looking for some time away in a beautiful, serene and relaxing resort!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinrstaff S, Department Manager at Mithi Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

Dear Pauline M,

Thank you for deciding to stay and get married at Panglao Island Nature Resort and Spa! We are humbled by the generosity of your appreciation regarding your overall experience: from the ceremony to the reception, and to your and your guests' "enjoyable stay" with us. It is our commitment to offer the best of our efforts in order to create a "beautiful, serene and relaxing" ambience for our guests, and we are glad that we were able to provide that kind of atmosphere for you. Please do come back again to maximize the use of our facilities and amenities, including the spa! We look forward to welcoming you soon. Once again, thank you for recommending us.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauis
8.2 km away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#1 of 50 in Panglao Island
903 reviews
9 km away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 50 in Panglao Island
1,421 reviews
9 km away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 16 in Panglao
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
7.9 km away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 50 in Panglao Island
880 reviews
10.2 km away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mithi Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mithi Resort and Spa

Address: | Bingag, Dauis 6339, Philippines (Formerly Panglao Island Nature Resort & Spa)
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island > Dauis
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dauis
Price Range: €118 - €292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mithi Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of fun and relaxation is a mix of exploration and a little adventure, or simply, just to connect yourself to nature, we are inviting you to MITHI RESORT AND SPA, which is only 20 minutes away from the airport and the seaport and a 15-minute leisurely drive from Tagbilaran City, the capital of Bohol, Philippines. Nestled in a 14-hectare natural terrain, this uniquely secluded resort is endowed with half a kilometer white sand beach which is exclusively for the use of resort guests. The room accommodations are three meters elevated from the beach, which in effect, not only offers a panoramic view of Tagbilaran Bay with a mountain range as backdrop, but provides better security as well. The resort has facilities for honeymooners, wedding events, as well as conferences, company, school, family and group outings, extended vacations, weekend escapades and other types of celebrations. Apart from the excitement that the island has to offer, the resort proudly presents the Mithi Spa, a perfect haven for quiet relaxation and pampering. Spa offerings include a full menu of massage, signature therapies and beauty treatments. The Dream Islet right in front of the beach, and the resort's natural underground cave where you can take a plunge in its natural clear waters, add even more uniqueness to this piece of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mithi Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panglao Island Nature Hotel Panglao Island
Panglao Island Nature Resort
Panglao Beach Resort
Panglao Nature Resort
Bohol Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing