We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Adventure Eco Villas(Plymouth)(Great Value!)
US$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Grafton Beach Resort(Black Rock)
Book now, pay at stay
US$140
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$156
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mount Irvine Bay Resort(Mount Irvine)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Haven Hotel(Bacolet Bay)
US$144
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort(Lowlands)(Great Value!)
US$342
US$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$309
US$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$157
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Acajou Hotel(Grande Riviere)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,346)
Filter reviews
1,346 results
Traveller rating
307
497
254
164
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
497
254
164
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleatherback turtlesturtle watchfishpeter coxswim up barboat triprum punchgreat holidaynylon poola ground floor roomsunday schoolmeal timesthree startunakids poolnightly entertainmentlaying eggs
Filter
Updating list...
714 - 719 of 1,346 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I travelled to Tobago from Trinidad for 3 days. We originally chose Turtle beach as we saw it was at a very reasonable price. Once we arrived we were not disappointed, in fact we were pleasantly surprised. On check in we were offered a welcome drink (rum or fruit punch). We were given a room on the first level (we had requested not to have a ground floor when booking). The room was very nice and had a view of the sea. The pool was great and really peaceful, there were umbrellas and sun beds freely available. All the staff at the hotel were exceptional and went out of their way to help. We booked on a room only basis but ended up eating at the hotel restaurant as the food was good and good value for money.

The highlight of this hotel was the turtle watching. We were informed by the staff on arrival that as it is nesting season for leather back turtles there is a high chance they would come onto the beach to lay eggs during the night. We were then put on a list at reception for the staff to call our room if any turtles did appear. We were lucky enough to see a leather back turtle laying her eggs one night and the next night hatchlings. What i was most impressed with, is the care and attention the staff went to, to make sure the turtles were protected from people touching or coming too close to them. the staff also took care to turn surrounding lights off once a turtle was spotted on the beach to ensure they did not get too disorientated and could safely return to the sea.

We will defiantly go back to this hotel due to the staff and facilities being excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone that would like to enjoy a quiet and laid back Caribbean experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lhblondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Going to this resort is probably the biggest holiday mistake that we’ve ever made. Despite reading other posts on this site we decided to try to give Turtle Beach a try.
Initial impressions on arrival were actually quite good. Despite what we had read the front desk staff were friendly and helpful and the porter, Aubrey, was especially pleasant. Initial impression of our rooms was also favourable but that was when it all started to go wrong.
While we were settling in we found several minor faults with the room. Some of these were quickly rectified but not all.
Later, when we returned from dinner, we found that one of the bathrooms had an infestation of flying ant type insects (probably 40-50 in number) which we dealt with ourselves and that one of the pillows had a red wine type mark on it. Despite calling the Duty Manager to the room he failed to offer solutions to either problem. The following morning, after a restless nights sleep, we found that the mattresses were pretty disgusting as well.
Disappointed with the standard of the food at dinner and the generally indifferent attitude of the staff at both bars and in the restaurant, we decided at this point that we could not stay in this resort any longer than was absolutely necessary and started making arrangements to move to another resort.
We did speak to the deputy manager, Wesley, who tried desperately hard to right the wrongs but at this point we just wanted to move. He was actually a credit to his company unlike his manager who was just as indifferent as many of his employees. Whilst I understand that we were complaining about his resort and negotiating for a refund we stayed courteous and friendly throughout, even offering to discuss our problems with him, but he wasn’t interested.
I realise that you get what you pay for in this world but even at these prices you should expect better. We have happily stayed at resorts that are said to be in need of a “lick of paint and TLC” before but this place is in serious decline with peeling paint, leaking rooves on stairwells, shabby wiring in public areas to name but a few. Fortunately for others, we are told that this resort is closing in September for renovations so maybe it will be become a better bet in the future although we won’t be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Muttley56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Very beautiful and nice resort by the sea with great pool,good restaurant and great rooms all oceanview,with AC and everything else you might need or expect,plus a balcony.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kkatriina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Have just got back from a week at Turtle Beach, having fulfilled that long held dream of a Caribbean holiday. We'd been reading the varied opinions on this site for many months, but having seen bad reviews of the more expensive Coco Reef and Blue Haven, decided to take the plunge and book. 'If they're all being called tired and dated, we'll just go with the cheapest then'.
At Turtle Beach, yes, the fit and finish of the rooms is a bit shabby. But the basics are all covered. You will have a clean, comfy bed, air conditioning that works very well, a new looking toilet and a fantastic view. When you're watching the sun dropping down in the bay and falling of the world from your balcony or patio, it will not matter that the screws around the light switches are rusty and that a bath doesn't appeal.
The restaurant, pool and lounge areas are all very nice places to be, the food, although a bit samey is better than it needs to be, but it was dissapointing that the a-la-carte desserts were not available during our stay.
The service is all either good or good enough. Staying B&B, eating at the restaurant when we needed to worked very well for us. You can walk to both Plymnouth and Black Rock, although I'd have to caution you about walking along the beach to Plymouth: 1: you need to paddle through a river estuary 2: There's not much there and 3: you may come accross a scruffy couple of beggars who work a double act. He has greying hair, bloodshot eyes and a missing tooth, she carries a bag of coconuts. He will block your path and tell you that he needs money for food, she will be calling him to leave you alone, but later do a similar thing. He's not actually frightening because frankly it looks like you could knock him down with a sneeze and just walking on determindley and pretending not to understand did the trick.
Overall we were very happy with our holiday at Turtle beach and everyone else we spoke to was enjoying themselves as well. The occupancy rate was very low (nice from a guest's point of view), which reflects on the economy in general rather than on Turtle Beach in partucular.
Turtles? Yes! Two nights running: first a Mother and then hatchlings. Wonderful.
Rainy Season? We saw showers on 3 of the 7 days we were there and it really wasn't a problem at all. The sea was calm and wonderfully swimable.
Airline? Virgin. Premium Economy out: excellent - lots of 'surprise and delight'.
Economy back. Horrific. Never, ever again. Shabby, cramped cabin, terrible food, dangerously little to drink and couldn't care less service. Shame on you Virgin. The connecting EasyJet that got me home to Inverness was vastly superior.

Room Tip: The 'new wing', further from the public areas is quiet and has fewer trees to obscure the lovely view of the bay.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I was there in December 2011. It was a enjoyable experience. The food was amazing. It is 20- 30 drive from Store Bay. The beach front view was definitely worth it. The beach at Hotel was very rough though and thus it wasn't advisable to bathe. That was disappointing but the gigantic swimming pool compensated for that. It is close to Mt Irvine Bay and a few other beaches. There are no 120w plugs in the rooms. You should definitely should rent a car for your own independence and mobility if you are staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fariah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews