We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$218
View deal
Expedia.com
US$210
View deal
Destinia.com
US$199
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/09/21
Hotels.comUS$210
eDreamsUS$218
PricelineUS$230
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
362
186
41
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
362
186
41
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool small beach living room small kitchen salt water reception area coffee machine self catering wedding cliffs algarve beaches caves hob kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2020

This was my second stay at Suites Alba. The location is priceless, one of the most beautiful spots I have ever seen. The suites are spacious with two bedrooms and offer a cozy, charming and individual atmosphere, a pretty unique, a bit traditional style and set-up which fits perfectly within the surrounding. For instance there is a fireplace in the living room and the bathroom has local tiles.
Unfortunately the resort has been sold to a new owner last year and this is the beginning of an upcoming misery. Instead of keeping the unique assets of the suites, they started to rebuild them by dividing one suite into 2 smaller units. There will be a tiny double bedroom which is looking and feeling like a standard small hotel bedroom all over the world - super faceless. Second unit is a studio with one double bedroom and a living room, so a bit more spacious. The new design is cold, clean, without any charme and even stupid ideas like placing the bathroom sinks next to the bed. Who wants that?
This loss of individualism, space and character will be accompanied by considerably increased prices. Good example how the greed for money of the new owner destroys something very special. What a shame!
Really wish the new owner would come to his senses and keeps the place or at least big parts of it at the curent layout. Nothing against a gentle refurbishment/ modernization or some smaller units for single occupancy with ensuite bathroom. But this rebuilding will end up in losing all loyal customers who loved this place for it‘s generosity in space and charme. No surprise that the loyal stuff is concerned and some will probably leave - even more assets to get lost.
So, if you loved Suites Alba as is is, don‘t come back - the new design and style makes it loose everything special and will just make you cry.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonnenschein74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites Alba Resort, Agência/Consultor at Vila Alba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2021

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to let a comment regarding your experience in Vila Alba.
For what we can read, the low classification is not about our services but about your concerns about the future of the Resort.
We would like to inform you that two blocks have been already refurbished and that the feedback that we are receiving from the most loyal guests is extremely positive.
Our goal is to make of this special place, something even more special and unique in the Algarve.
We hope to receive you visit again in the future.
Best wishes
Maria Morais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2020

This place is simply amazing. As it’s a boutique hotel not a chain, the attention you get from all the staff is much more personal. After a couple of days they knew our favourite drinks, dishes and were able to make accurate recommendations based on our preferences. People who work here always had time for a pleasant conversation and if you were interested in their stories and opinions, and tipped them for their hard work, you could get some extras such as top shelf spirit tastings. We were given to try a bottle of beautiful top shelf port and dessert wine, which were truly excellent!

As we’ve visited in these unprecedented times, we’ve noticed everything felt very safe, sanities and clean. The pool area was cleaned every morning, the sun beds and side tables were sanitised each time a guest left and there were fresh towels always available to use around the pool and then to drop them off for cleaning when you’re done. All staff were wearing masks, guests had to wear masks inside of the restaurant and reception area, there were appropriate distances between tables, sun beds and one way system in the buildings. The check in was single person, the cleaning was upon request and a supply of fresh towels was provided in the rooms to last throughout your stay without the need for housekeeping visit other than if you needed more toilet paper, it would be dropped off at your door. The breakfast was served in the room and easy to book with special forms you hang out on the door knob each evening. Dinner was served in the restaurant at very low capacity so it ja to be prebooked via reception desk. Hand sanitisers were available everywhere. Any requests were dealt with on the phone to the reception desk, and there was someone always available to answer and quickly deal with your request. For example, when I phoned in to request more toilet paper, by the time I put down the phone and walked to the front door, toilet paper has been already dropped off.

Special mention goes to Vitor and Thiago who provided us with exceptional customer care, some amazing spirit tastings and a great chat.

The rooms are more like apartments - with separate bedrooms, kitchen with dining room, and a living area with tv and fireplace.

The restaurant offers some of the best dishes I’ve had and a real good variety of fish, meat and vegetarian. During the day you can choose from an extensive snack and grill menu, while dinner is a fine dining experience with some of the best local flavours, accompanied by a long wine list, cocktails and other spirits. Our favourite drink was white sangria served traditionally with citrus fruit and ice. My husband had the beef loin every night and my top dish was a slow cooked monkfish served with saffron risotto.

There are three salt water pools in total; infinity pool, baby paddling pool and a lower level smaller pool. The beach is just 5min walk away with beautiful hidden coves you can access through the caves when the tide is low. We’ve snorkelled there and it was just spectacular- the water was crystal clear with so many various fish to observe! The path to the beach runs along some of the most spectacular cliffs and rock arches, perfect for watching sunsets! There are many other coves and hidden beaches along the cliffs if you’re up for a hike.

Finally, if you’re after a place away from crowds where you can relax amongst stunning views and attentive staff, this is your place! And we will definitely be back as soon as the travel conditions allow.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paulina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites Alba Resort, Agência/consultor at Vila Alba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2020

Dear Mrs. Paulina,
On behalf of the Suites Alba Team I would like to thank you your amazing comments regarding your stay.
We are delighted to know that we meet your expectation and to read how much you enjoy our Resort, hits facilities and this amazing location. Is with truly satisfaction that i will share your feedback with the staff, because is coments like this that motivate us to give the best of ourselves.
We hope to continue earning your trust and having your preference when choosing your holidays in the Algarve.
Best wishes
The administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

Pros:
A smallish development on the cliffs with access down to a beach.
Cons:
Construction work - hammer drilling etc going on, even all day Sunday, when I complained it wasn't taken seriously and nothing was done.
On arrival it was mentioned that the restaurant, one of our reasons for booking - only served two set dinner menu choices. On the night when one of the two main choices was octopus, from our POV, that was no choice at all.
Large snacky lunch menu, but with only about 10 covers, it took an hour for our burger order to arrive. Burgers were cold, on tasteless dry white buns, and even after reheating still tepid.
Breakfast very 3 star, cheap orange juice.
If the hotel had informed us of the works and severly restricted eating choice before hand we would have booked elsewhere. Its a minimum 15 minute drive to fins another restaurant, so this is important.

Room tip: Check for construction work and what menus the restaurant actually offers
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AcerFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuitesAlbaResort, Diretor de Vendas at Vila Alba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We sincerely regret that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Your comments will be passed to the responsible of the department and will assist us on our constant improvement process.
We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused.
We truly hope that you return the Hotel for a pleasant stay this time.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020

The Lagoa Region, Portugal, 2019

A vehicle travels down a dusty narrow track to an idyllic oasis situated on a cliff edge.
The resort compound is beautiful with manicured gardens. An infinity pool overlooks the sea complete with adjoining restaurant and pool bar over a subterranean gym, spa and indoor pool.
Friendly staff and delicacies such as pina coladas await the successful voyager should they gain entry...
Swashbuckling worldly wise archaeologist types complete with dusty fedora, satchel, revolver and bullwhip may gain access if they pass the tests...
Access to the reception area is unhindered. Should you have sent word of your arrival in advance via online booking it is even expected and your name will be listed in the great ledger...
Unfortunately you are duped into a false sense of ease as the first of your trials is about to begin.
Uttering your name and the fact that an important gathering is taking place at a very specific time is met with a friendly smile but an apology-no your room you have paid a Queens ransom for is not ready despite it being very high noon-more early evening if truth be told.
You may proceed to the pool and bar area and will be notified when your room is prepared. Having eaten what it has to be said is a quite tasty lunch you return to gain access to your lodgings for the night but nay!! none shall pass. Seamus Kingston Manana, genetically predisposed to a sense of urgency long past bordering on the horizontal, in fact more invading or annexing the state of mind with osmotic gusto, repeats that you will be called when your abode is available. As the hour is now fast advancing it could quite soon morph into a less salubrious establishment that charges by the hour based on how little time you will actually spend inside. Unfortunately this will potentially be without a happy ending.
At this point all sense of decorum and restraint sublimates from your body, you will know this as your body temperature will reach previously unexperienced limits, and you will refuse to leave until the sacred key has been pressed into your palm.
Miraculously the instrument of ingress will materialize, you will frantically rush to your suite, machete your visage, briefly hose your epidermis before whipping on clothing that instantly adheres due to the free stress that is complimentary as a part of the arrival process.
Much like the quest for the holy grail, the promise and expectation of a gold, silver or platinum chalice encrusted with precious stones was misplaced as, while the vessel is well presented, unfortunately when you scratch the surface it more closely resembles clay. Five star facilities with an amazing two star customer service at check in.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Owen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuitesAlbaResort, Diretor de Vendas at Vila Alba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2020

Dear Owen,
Thank you for sharing your opinion.
We are sorry to know that we did not meet the entire of your expectations.
Our check-in starts at 16.00, however, when it is possible, the guest can do the check-in earlier - unfortunately was not your case, we are sorry for the inconvenience.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2019

We recently stayed at Suites Alba with our grown up sons to attend a wedding nearby. The resort is quiet, peaceful, relaxing, had direct access to a small beach and lovely cliff views a short walk from the resort. The rooms are like a small apartment, 2 bedrooms, a lounge and small kitchen. There isn't a lot of cutlery/plates etc but sufficient for a few nights stay. The breakfast was very good, included champagne which is nice. We had lunch in the restaurant on the day we arrived and it was very nice, pricey but nice.
There was only one iron for the whole resort so getting ready for the wedding meant other wedding guests staying at Alba were messaging saying 'who's got the iron'. Maybe a few more irons would be helpful. Easy parking at your apartment which is handy.
The shower takes a long time to heat up. My son wasn't allowed to swim in the indoor pool without a swimming cap.
Overall a great stay and i would recommend.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuitesAlbaResort, Diretor de Vendas at Vila Alba Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank your review regarding your recent stay in Suites Alba.
We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and we really appreciated the suggestions given.
We hope to continue earning your trust and having your preference when choosing your holidays in the Algarve.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews