We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Soul Surfer(El Cotillo)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Rural Mahoh(Villaverde)
US$118
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Booking.com
View Deal
Warung(Lajares)
Booking.com
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,872)
Filter reviews
1,872 results
Traveller rating
567
706
375
129
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
706
375
129
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult poolhired a carcrater parkfree buswater parkbed villamini golfclimbing wallorigo marewave machineself cateringkids clubwet suitscrazy golfwet roomwashing machine and dishwasherfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 1,872 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018

So, to start I think people should know the history behind the resort, Origo Mare was setup / built around 2006, and was to be private villas. But due to legal issues with a environment organisation many of the villas were unable to be sold, and planned 5 star hotel and 2 golf courses never appeared.

Back to the present and in 2014, the resort was re imagined, with Pierre vacances taking over about half of the villas and building a new centre to provide bar / food / pool facilities. So the resort feels a bit different to a standard Spanish holiday.

Villas: these are nice and very spacious (as intended as a house) beds are comfortable. Maid service is only every 3 days thou (seams strange for 4*) we had a lovely terrace, but only 1 sunbed (seamed old to have such a nice space but lack of sun beds)

Pools: there are small pools around the resort (built with the villas) but only one was open (not an issue as we were there in feb) the main crater park swimming area is good (setup like a small aqua park) the site has been constructed to stop the wind, so if situated at the right place, it felt very nice. Water was cold (as expected, same with other hotels on island) a few kids had wetsuits on. (To be fair more people were using them than expected.

Food: we were half board, food was ok, same as per other hotels at this level in Spain that we had gone too.

Bars: the main in door bar was busy at night with only 20 tables or so (probably not an issue in the summer as entertainment is done near the adults pool)

Shopping: the on site shop was not the biggest, we had a hire car so could drive to a super market (not an issue for us, but bear it in mind)

Location: as per above this resort was built separately to anything else so there is nothing else around it! It’s about 25mins to correlco in a car

Overall: we paid £750 for 7 days for 2 adults and 1 child, we felt this repsented very good value for money, and we would recommend the place (with the caveat that you need a hire car)

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank adencool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Origomare, Director General at Pierre & Vacances Village Fuerteventura Origo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at Origo Mare and for having chosen us as the destination of your holidays.

We are pleased to know that your stay at the hotel has been satisfactory regarding our location, facilities and villas. Our goal is to ensure our guests just think about enjoying this wonderful island and the facilities and unique services of the hotel.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back soon.

Sunny regards from Fuerteventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We wanted a chilled holiday on quiet side of island so we chose this. It wasn't a bad choice. It's about 15 minutes from the nearest town Lajares and 25 minutes away from the main tourist town of Carrelejo. The check in was pleasant and efficient. We checked in at around 2pm although the website says 5pm. We had a standard villa which has a nice large double bed and a good sofa bed in the lounge. There is a small kitchenette which was adequate for making small meals. Large standing fridge and dish washer were welcomed convenience. At the center there are pools, restaurant, grocery store although I didn't use any of those. Wife attended the morning yoga and stretching sessions and she thoroughly enjoyed them. There is a gym but none of us use. There are many activities through the day so if you don't want to go out you can join them or just chill in your apartment. We were allowed to park our car right outside our villa so it was very convenient. We ate several times at Lajares and there were few good restaurants and cafe we enjoyed. See my other reviews for Fuerteventura. There is a dormant volcano at Lajares so you can do a little climb there too. The beach just outside the resort appears to be a popular surf beach and there seems to be a beach cafe for anyone who wants to venture there. I see lots of surf vans going there even in cold February. The cleaners come to clean the room everyday. Only small issue is the bath room water drainage might not have been welled designed. The sink out pipe is higher than the sink so the flow is slow. The shower drainage is a bit small so it was flooded when I turned on the shower full blast. Also they charge for safe box which I think is a little cheeky. Note this is in February so it may be quiet and suits us. I imagine it could be busier and noisier in better weather.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HT1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Origomare, Director General at Pierre & Vacances Village Fuerteventura Origo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this nice review.
We are really glad to read that you did enjoy your stay with us and we will be more than pleased to welcome you back soon.
Sunny regards from Fuerteventura.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Where do I start?! This place is such a mixed bag.
We are a family of 4 and stayed for 10 days over the Feb half term all inclusive.
We were aware of the remote location but with the facilities the hotel had to offer we were happy to book there.
Before we left we paid €50 to book a specific villa and with the thought that the crater park would be very busy we paid another extra €130 for a VIP upgrade to Oasis 5 where we knew the Oasis pool would definitely be open. With the VIP "experience" we would get a washing machine, nespresso coffee machine, bath robes and sunbeds at the villa. HOWEVER- you have to pay for the nespresso pods which is absurd, none in the shop other than decaf, there's no bottled water in the villa and the robes were not changed once in 10 days stay. Bed linen only changed once. The security of villa is laughable, you can open the patio doors from the outside when locked and you need to pay if you want to use the safe. Not VIP in my opinion, not worth the money.
The private pool was freezing and the lifeguards attitude was one of disdain when we went up there, I got told off for walking in the stones, so did my son, he made us feel like a nuisance so we only used it once more at the end of the holiday. The villa was 0.70km so a bit of a walk. We were not offered ANY help with our bags on check in - we all walked with our cases in the dark in a cold torrential rain storm. Unbelievable. 4 star service? No way.

Initial thoughts of the hotel were ok. However it quickly became apparent this is NOT a hotel, it is holiday village. Think centre parks and you'll be on the right track. The place is vast.

The food was consistently GREAT. Lots and lots of fresh fruit, salads, hot food not always to everyone's liking but let's face it, you're never going to please everyone! What I loved about the food was that none of our family got any type of tummy bug and secondly the local, Spanish touches! I didn't feel like I was being fed churned out English stuff because that's what they think we like. Consistently there were fresh sardines, mackerel, chocolate y churros, tortilla, salchichon, chorizo sausages, sangria available. Heaven! Yes, the kids struggled a bit as it was a bit "different" but we are abroad in the canaries and there was always chips and something English at the kids area. So food for me- big thumbs up!
The dining area had a canteen feel to it and when busy it felt very stressful as it was the only restaurant unless you paid for food at the sports bar.

Alcohol and drinks were ok. We stuck to wine /beer at dinner and although local gin was fine the tonic was flat at the bar which I was told "yes we know" and got a shrug from barman. Mavericks bar is great but small so if it's busy get there early. The tonic wasn't flat here!
The staff here were the ONLY staff who gave any level of customer service.

I need to point out that all other staff work hard, very, very hard but are rarely smiling and have that air of annoyance when you ask for anything or get in their way. They don't seem to like guests much at all! However whilst we were there to be honest looking at some guests how they acted (sadly namely English) I kind of can see why they look at us all with such disgust. There were some seriously awful groups of people who were loud, drunk most of the time and abusive to other guests. We worked hard to avoid them and went out of our way to stay out of the bar in the evenings.

The bar itself is FAR too SMALL for a lot of people! This is the first holiday where our kids did not get involved with the mini disco. We couldn't sit in the bar area, the groups of hardcore mini-disco-ers made sure they got one of the approx 20 tables (for 250 or so people?!!) so by the time we finished dinner it was standing room only! Absurd! The bar had ONE person serving from it, it is tiny. Massive queues, kids screaming and running around, 2 rows deep of people standing watching a tiny stage, 6 sofas in the lobby area- far too small to accommodate everyone comfortably. There's a pretty outside area with sofas but you need the warm weather to sit there and for us evenings barely hit 14 degrees.

The crater park is clean, well kept but the floors are SO slippery. We bought wet shoes with grips with us for the kids but me and my husband went over on the tiles - I slipped outside our villa! I was wearing trainers and nearly broke my arm.
Wet shoes and wetsuits a MUST for the kids as the water is not cold but freezing and we watched in excess of 10 kids a day slipping on the hard tiles and in the pool. The hotel should address this!!!!
Sunbeds are a bun fight, if you want one it's a similar situation to the bar, get there very early to get a space. Stressful in my option and not a 4 star experience.
Lifeguards work very hard but had the same air of annoyance, I didn't see one crack a smile or speak to a guest.

Kids club was ok, again the staff work very hard but didn't have the warm, welcoming feel to others we have been to. Other activities are all pay for (and quite pricey!) like mini golf, go-karts etc but the gym was free and relatively well kitted out, good range of barbells, dumbbells, 3 cardio machines, aerobic studio.

To conclude, for us customer service is our big thing when we go away and here this was seriously bad. To be made to feel like a nuisance sadly overrides the positives of this place which are the food and cleanliness.
If you visit here you should avoid busy times - you will then no doubt get a seat in the bar, a sunbed at the pool and get a better level of service, the staff are seriously overworked during school holidays and it shows. You'll either love it or hate it!
We will not return.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Origomare, Director General at Pierre & Vacances Village Fuerteventura Origo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Rachael,

Thank you very much for taking some of your time to share your experience after your recent stay at Origo Mare.
We appreciate reading your comments regarding gastronomy and cleanliness but we are very sad to know that we did not meet your expectations regarding other aspects.
Our team is always working hard to provide unforgettable experiences to our guests and is, undoubtely, great part of our success. We usually receive the best words for them so we truly regret that your feelings are different.
We would like to confirm that the floor in Crater Park is anti slipping and respects all the security standards.
Of course we will take good note of your comments in order to improve our service and be able to offer you the best possible service and facilities in your following visit to Origo Mare.
Sunny regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Just returned from a week here with my husband and two children 8 and 14.
Having read several reviews in this place I would like to add my own views.
The holiday village is very large but very remote , if you don’t have a car there is literally no where else to go for a change of scene so if you want to go out for a change if scenery or a meal forget it if you don’t have a car
The place is very clean and tidy , the 2 bedroom villa was lovely and couldn’t fault it , we were in the oasis 9 area which is a bit of a walk to the reception / restaurant/ entertainment area. The staff very nice and friendly , good maid service daily .
Some of the pools were drained presumably due to it being out of season , our nearest pool was empty but to be honest it was to cold to swim and very windy , the water park was great and kids will love it bit none of the pools are heated and literally freezing cold.. well in February anyway .
The entertainment area was far to small to accommodate the amount of people there , impossible to get a table , very small stage and the actual entertainment appeared very poor standard however the animation team work hard and try their best and the little kids will love it but we didn’t see anything that would appeal to adults and teenagers .
Our main criticism of the whole holiday was the food , it was really awful quality and bearly warm !! I have read reviews on this same issue several times and it is sadly true which is why we would never return here as once here without transport you are stuck here for the duration of your holiday , my whole family were glad to leave for this reason only.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Wendythomson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Origomare, Director General at Pierre & Vacances Village Fuerteventura Origo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Wendy,

Thank you very much for taking some of your time to share your opinion.
We are glad to read that you could enjoy the comfort of your villa and our staff amability. All the Origo Mare Team works hard every day to make your holiday memorable.
We are sorry if we could not meet your expectations in other aspects like gastronomy and entertainment and we will take note of your comments in order to keep improving our service.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Lovely resort with lots to do. Water park in resort was a big hit with the kids (though the water was freezing when we went in January). Staff were very helpful and accommodating, villa was very clean and offers your own space while having the security and amenities of a hotel. Food was good. As others say this is remote but free bus takes you into a busy town nearby. The only downside was the evening entertainment, often not of 4 star quality but overall a great place for family holidays.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank SSamantha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Origomare, Director General at Pierre & Vacances Village Fuerteventura Origo Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Dear Samantha,

Thank you very much for your review and your nice comments.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon for another great family holiday.

Sunny regards from all the Origo Mare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews