We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,333)
Filter reviews
2,333 results
Traveller rating
1,100
744
311
106
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,100
744
311
106
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prego splash pool kids club seasonal tastes heavenly bed private beach sala pool villa sea view buggy service spg platinum golf cart asian restaurant heavenly spa shuttle bus patong beach swim up bar tour desk
Filter
Updating list...
1,851 - 1,856 of 2,333 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Westin Siray Bay was offering a very good rate during their opening and we took the opportunity to book 4 nights with them. The reviews on Trip Advisor were not exactly positive but how bad can it be since it's Westin, right?

We arrived in the morning and took an airport taxi to Westin for Baht1,000. Upon arrival, my daughter changed into her swimsuit and went swimming in their lovely pool though our room was not ready. Our room was finally ready at 3.00 pm. We were not disappointed - the room was beautiful and the bed was heavenly. My daughter was very fascinated with the bathroom and the balcony has a breathtaking view. The Kids Club was a success - the staff were very good with the kids. There are 3 pools in total but only 2 are opened at the moment. A lot of walking is required in the resort but they have buggies that are quite efficient.

The hotel shuttle to Phuket Town is reliable though they only make 3 trips to Phuket Town which is approximately 10 minutes from the hotel. The shuttle leaves the hotel at 11.00 am, 3.00 pm and 6.00 pm and back to hotel at 3.30 pm, 6.30 pm and 9.30 pm. We pre-booked the shuttle services in advance since they can only accommodate 14 people. There is a supermarket near where the shuttle dropped us where we got some groceries. I went for my massages at Kim Massage - they are cheap, decent and pretty good.

Food in Westin is very much like any hotel food. However, there are 2 restaurants that are walking distances from the resort. As you walked out of the resort, 1 (cannot remember name) is located at the end of the road on the right and the other (Look Mai or something like that) is located down the road on the left (same road when you are driving into the resort). Food is good at both but the restaurant at the end of the road on the right is very expensive by local or Asian standard. Look Mai restaurant is very reasonable in price and the food is good - we paid Baht1,800 for 6 people plus beverages.

After 4 nights, we can truly said that we had a very enjoyable stay at the report. We are still thinking of the resort - my daughter is already asking when we can go again.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dejavu-Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear Dejavu-Malaysia,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent experience at Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket. Your compliments towards the staff are greatly appreciated and especially to the Kids Club staff it will certainly inspire our teams across the resort.
We plan to open the northside of the resort in late October so all facilities will be up and running.
Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming to our resort in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Sean
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

One of the biggest (and valid) gripe about this hotel is it's location - it's located in the middle of nowhere and options to travel to Phuket Town is either via the free hotel shuttle (you need to book it in advance though, it's constantly full) or an overpriced 'local taxi'. To Patong Beach is only possible on the taxi that they call for you, which is a rip off and overpriced (600baht). On a metered taxi is only about 150baht. It just baffles me how a hotel with such a reputation will stoop to such a level to cheat it's customers - 5 star hotel or not, it's a matter of principle.

Rooms were good, I was booked on their standard room for a total of 5 days. Beds are too soft, something I'm not entirely used to, but I still had a good night's sleep. Toiletries and towels provided are of good quality, but water pressure in the bathroom was slightly problematic (water pressure was intermittent). While the toilet may look luxurious, a closer look into things will say otherwise. Being a hotel that is only a month old, the metal lining st the bottom of the glass panes in the shower area was already showing signs of rust. There were a few spiders at the corners of the bathroom, and one was disturbingly huge. Construction marks could be seen on some of the bathroom fixtures, and the tap was poorly designed - it's impossible to wash your hands without making the entire area around the basin wet.

Good tea and coffee (free) were provided in the mini bar area, other payable items in the mini bar were overpriced (expected of a 5 star hotel) - it's advisable that you buy some drinks and snacks to keep with you in the room when you travel out, unless you are desperate enough to want to pay the very marked up prices.

Dining options in the hotel were limited - only one restaurant (Seasonal Taste) is open for breakfast, and while the restaurant provides some spectacular views of Siray Bay, the quality of the buffet breakfast wasn't fantastic for it's price (750baht before taxes and service charge). Same goes for lunch - only the same restaurant is open, if I recall correctly. I was usually stuffed from breakfast that I do not feel like eating anything for lunch. Dinner provided another option - EEST restaurant which offered a variety of dishes from Asia. Portions are mediocre however, and it's a pity that the hotel failed to offer more Thai dishes - one of the reasons I travel to Thailand is because of the cuisine, and obviously Westin has failed to draw the strength of the Thai cuisine. There's another option - international buffet or a la carte dinner at Seasonal Tastes. Quality is above average, not fantastic. Service at both restaurants are ok - the wait staff are obviously inexpienced.

Service elsewhere at the hotel is inconsistent, while the front line staff are extremely friendly and try to be as accommodating as possible - service provided by the drivers of the golf cars is a different story. They are courteous at best, but usually disinterested and nonchalant. I guess one cannot blame them - driving around under the hot sun for hours at end, I don't expect much anyway. They are the same people who hang around the concierge area, calling those overpriced taxis for you.

I didn't try their 'Heavenly Spa' - prices are out of this world. I pay less for similar spa services in Singapore - and that says a lot! One can get cheaper (and I believe of similar quality) spa services in downtown Phuket Town, for only less than a fraction of the price. I honestly wonder who'd pay over US$100 for a men's facial at the spa.

Overall, this is a hotel that does not pay attention to the small details, and comes across as a top end chain hotel that relies on its branding and marketing. I don't think I'd stay there again, it's poor location being the biggest deterrence. While It has comfortable rooms with a spectacular view and good facilities such as the infinity pool and a small gym looking out to the sea, it needs to iron out some issues such as providing more frequent shuttle services to not only Phuket Town but also to Patong Beach, better quality food and a more consistent service. It's a good hotel, but far from being a great one.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dksenofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear dksenofi,

Many thanks for your review of your recent experience at the Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket. We appreciate that you have taken time to share your feedback.

I am sorry to learn that you did not feel our hotel and room condition were up to your expectations. As we have just opened we are operating a maintenance program throughout the resort to ensure that our rooms and facilities are fully rectified.

The management team takes all comments seriously, sharing them with our associates so we may resolve the issues highlighted. Again, thank you for the comments, which will help us in our going efforts to improve our service.

Yours Sincerely,
Sean
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We recently spent 3 nights at the newly opened Westin in Phuket to celebrate our engagement. We got a cheap deal via an internet travel site, thank goodness as it would not have been worthy of the usual 5star rates. We requested a pick up from our previous hotel, twice by phone and twice by email as we didnt receive any confirmation. The pick up did not arrive and we had to pay for a taxi service instead. When we arrived we realised it was the first day of operations and were willing to make the allowance for the confusion with our pick up request.
However on entering our room, we discovered a layer of dust across the furniture due to the still ongoing building works across a lot of the site. The view was stunning of the bay and the facilities in the room were of a high standard.
We decided to have dinner in the Japanese restaurant as we thought the quality of the food would be better than the buffet. We were mistaken! The starters took over 40 minutes to arrive and we didnt appear to be the only ones experiencing a long wait and then when it arrived we discovered that the chicken satay dish was in fact still raw in the middle. The main course steak which was requested to be well done, was dripping in blood when it arrived and had to be returned twice to be rectified, by which time one of us had completely finished eating, not quite the romantic meal we were expecting!
The atmosphere was lacking somewhat as a large part of the resort was still being built and so many of the amenities werent accessible. Only 2 shuttle services to town on offer and a lot of guests wanting to do and see more of the island, so a lot of waiting around in the meantime. Finally a very difficult check out process during which 4 of our credit cards were refused, we are not sure why but can only presume it was a system fault as there was no problem with the cards themselves, all very embarassing however.
The staff themselves were helpful and tried to overcome the issues, although the management team were not very visible after the welcome reception. The reception staff seemed to be struggling with the processes as our newly acquired starwood preferred guest cards appear to be registered to people in the Netherlands and The Far East rather than the UK. Overall we made the best of being there, enjoyed the breakfast buffets and the view, but would have been upset to have paid full price for the service we received.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4starbackpackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear 4starbackpackers,

Sawasdee Krab from Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket.

Many thanks for your detailed review of your recent experience at Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket. As with any opening hotel we do our best to ensure everything is to the Westin brand standard and it is unfortunate that we did not meet those entire standards during your stay. Since you departure we have refined our procedures and received more equipment for the hotel including increasing shuttle services into Phuket Town.

I do hope that we will have a chance to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Sean
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Good value for money can be found at the Westin Siray Bay during its soft launch, but you pay in other ways. Not all the facilities are open, most notably for me was the gym still being closed, and the staff are still learning their roles.

It is the staff, however, that make this an acceptable property. I warmly welcomed, my needs were attended to and was always treated well by the staff.

At present, the property seems generic. Yes, it's a lovely resort with interesting designs, but nothing in the hotel makes it seem like a Thai property. You could just as well be in Mexico looking out on the gulf. Also, the property is removed from everything. No walking to dinner outside the hotel, no quick jaunts to the 7/11, NO OUTSIDE TAXI SERVICE. (Just the astronomically, outrageously and disrespectfully over-priced hotel private cars - bleeping atrocious!)

So, if you're looking to come to Thailand to be served by a great Thai staff but never see Thailand, this could be your hotel. If you like paying multiples for your transport, this could be your hotel.

Time will tell whether the finished hotel adds some Thai flavor, and whether the hotel changes its policies to be more customer oriented. Time also will likely bring adjacent businesses, such as outside dining, bars and shopping, but that is going to be a few years off.

I have great hope for the hotel because I have such a fondness for its staff, but can't give this property a thumbs-up just yet.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emmyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westinsiraybayphuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2010

Dear Emmyx2,

We appreciate you taking your time to post your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket. Your compliments towards the staff are greatly appreciated and it will most certainly inspire them.

As with any opening hotel we do our best to ensure everything is operating and in good working condition but unfortunately we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Since you departure we have refined our procedures, received more equipment and have fixed most of the initial teething problems of the hotel.

Thank you for your recent visit and we hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.


Yours Sincerely,

Sean
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

The hotel is a very new resort with intermittent finishing work still underway. Although the brand is Westin the finish detail and service does not truly fit the brand. The site is based on a steep terraced villa-block layout which ends up very inconvenient. Rooms are modern, neutral and fairly spacious with the feeling of a 5 star city hotel. The 'heavenly' bed is very soft so will not suit back pain sufferers or those used to firmer asian style beds. Views of the bay from rooms are quite nice but getting to the restaurants and reception and pool is inconvenient regardless of the golf cart style pickup offered. One of the central features of the site design is a Jurassic Park style bridge over a pointless water feature. This is a major obstacle for the heavily depended golf buggies to cross and I found my eyes rolling as I crossed it for the umpteenth time (I hope the Architect reads this).

If you plan to stay in your room a lot (if you know what I mean) then this hotel is perfect and there are good deals available. The aircon in our unit was relatively noisy though and the bathroom had some water pressure issues. There was still building rubble outside the bathroom window but it was shielded by a blind. Indiana style gardeners with cowboy hats were walking in front of our windows with no prior privacy warning.

Breakfast buffet quality and variety is very good but the waiting staff are amateur and lack training, supervision and confidence acting as individuals rather than a team. Dinner portions are too small if they are serious about keeping guests freely eating on-site without feeling trapped (eg. Phad Thai was like a handful of food in a wide brimmed bowl for modern presentation rather than satisfaction).

If you plan to go out and explore from here then you are miles from anywhere meaningful (ie. mostly the established west coast tourist regions where you have choice and convenience). Phuket town is not a tourist spot, it's the island's commercial hub and there are only a few tourist streets with little to offer. In order to make this site really work then Westin needs to be realistic about keeping guests completely on-site with a better VFM pricing structure (Dinner, Lunch Breakfast 'table d'hote' addons) and more on-site facilities (but there is little room left for that). There are no convenience stores near the hotel (they need one on-site). Complimentary water in the room is Nestle (processed mineralized mains water) rather than a Thai natural spring water.

The free shuttle to town is small and infrequent and you really have to book in advance. It's probably not a place where you would want to stay so long anyway. Scooter is an option but they won't order one for you from the front desk (There's a nice lady sitting under a tree with scooters 100m left out of the hotel gates). I believe front desk will arrange rental cars.

As the hotel is new there are few local services yet apart from two local open shack-like seafood resaurants less than 1km away which are not so great. Westin Siray Bay is good for 1-3 day stays but you may soon be bored with the place after the novelty of the bay view fades. The beach is not great; the water is understandably silty as it is a large bay with Phuket town's light commercial port on the right side of it. The sand has an oily tide line on it and the steps on one side of the beach leading to the pool area were not finished safely (but open none-the-less.)

The management is semi responsive to resolve issues but mostly just pacifying and not seen much during service to lead the new staff who would benefit strong supervision and prompting. Westin need to review this site to make sure it is feasible long term as I don't think it will be 'sticky' enough to benefit from many repeat visitors unless they keep their prices at the level of the opening offers. If you always visit five star resorts you won't be impressed by WSB but if you get a cheap deal then you will probably feel it's nice for a short stay.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews