We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,290)
Filter reviews
2,290 results
Traveller rating
1,075
730
310
105
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,075
730
310
105
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prego splash pool kids club seasonal tastes heavenly bed private beach sala pool villa sea view spg platinum buggy service golf cart asian restaurant heavenly spa upgraded to a suite shuttle bus patong beach f b
Filter
Updating list...
1,532 - 1,537 of 2,290 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stayed here with my husband and four teenage sons in January 2012. I loved the location and the lay out of this resort. The views are spectacular. It is in a very quiet part of the island so not a fun and buzzing place for teenagers. Our check in experience was not very pleasurable. There was a lack of warmth which we had experienced in Chiang Mai a few days earlier. This is a large and impersonal resort, so I suppose you can't expect the same personal attention that you get in a boutique hotel. We were not happy with our rooms. They were dark and one had a nasty damp smell. Once we complained, we were moved quickly.
The breakfast buffet is great and kept everyone happy with a large selection to suit all tastes. The pools and restaurants were nice which is important as you are a taxi drive away from any other place to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmccDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear cmccDublinIreland,

Thank you for taking your time to share experience with us and we are pleased you enjoyed the layout of the resort as well as the breakfast, restaurants and pools. Your feedback regarding your check in process will be passed onto the relevant department heads to ensure we improve the experience.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I was able to get a good rate hence my very good rating.

Pro
- Very efficient and flexible room service and house keeping
- Very comfortable and clean spatious rooms, very good but soft beds, nice balconies
- Very nice bathroom
- Fantastic breakfast
- Go for hotel airport transfer It is very good
- Nice views, also from rooms
- Nice pools
- Very friendly reception staff

Con
- Secluded but can also be a good thing
- English of most staff is minimal
- Beach is poor, sometimes sewage smell close to beach area
- A LOT of stairs but carts work well, no issues, just call and they are there
- Seafood restaurant close to hotel mentioned by some reviewers TO BE AVOIDED Almost as expensive as hotel but of much less quality. I have been sick all night. Many, many mosquitoes as well at restaurant location.
- Expensive SPA
- Noise insulation of rooms good be better

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globe_trot_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Travelerworldbelgium,

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us and your comments will be passed onto the relevant team members. Your comments will help us in our going efforts to improve our service and facilities for future guests.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The room is lovely... Auto aircon cut off the moment you open the balcony glass door. View is superb as it faces the sea. The buggy service to send you to your room is a nice touch as all room are perched along the hill.

Private beach is clean though small. Staffs are nice...Special mention goes to the Front office manager who came out to greet us. Food at the hotel was nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

At first glance, the hotel grounds are beautiful. Breathtaking really. The lobby and much of the guest suites and pools face the bay. Watching the sunset here is amazing. But given that I probably wouldn't return unless I was traveling with my boyfriend. And even then, not sure I'd choose something so far from town.

On the positives, the breakfast buffet was a great value. The restaurants were very good both in service and quality of food. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. There's free wi-fi in the lobby and in the pool areas. And the pools are all infinity pools overlooking the bay. There were also daily events for the guests like yoga in the morning and surf lessons etc. Though we were too busy sightseeing to bother with those activities.

On the negative, the rooms are showing a little wear and tear. Shower had a funny smell but only for the first day or so. Not a big deal overall but definitely not a 5 star hotel standard. Pools are small and so are the number of lounge chairs available so get out early. The private beach is rocky and small, not a memorable place. And because the hotel is secluded, you're at the mercy of taxis or the hotel shuttle (which you need to reserve in advance) to get into Phuket Town. If you're looking to just hide away for a few days, that's fine and dandy. But if you want to mix it up on your trip, you're better off staying in Kata or Karon Beach. Also the hotel overcharges for tour packages so better if you head into town and book something there.

And the piece de resistance? There were ants in our room. They came out when we tossed some fruit into the garbage can. Took less than an hour! The cleaning lady then came in and sprayed bug repellent on that side of the room. Kind of gross. I would have changed rooms but was too tired after a day of traveling. Just goes to show that the rooms are showing wear if their walls/corners are letting bugs in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear kimmi8,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we are pleased you enjoyed the grounds, pools, sunsets, breakfast and food. Your feedback will be passed onto the team to ensure improvement in the areas you mentioned. Please accept our sincere apologies for your discomfort. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention.


Kind Regards,
Stephen Morahan
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Hi,
It was bad experience. Service level is below exceptions. I dont expect something like that from Westin. Talked few times with StevenM who claims to be General Manager. Didnt help.

On last conversation was told "We are in Thailand and relatively new hotel". Is this really excuse for bad service in 5-star Westin hotel?

Bottom - dont recommend. Go for Le Meridien if you SPG member or any other hotel. This one has pure value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olegv24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodPhuket, Manager at The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear olegv24,

We appreciate you taking your time to post your comments regarding your stay with us at the Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa, Phuket. We are sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding some of our services and facilities across the resort.

As with any opening hotel we do our best to ensure everything is operating and in good working condition but unfortunately we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and recent visit.

Yours Sincerely,
Sean Raine
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews