We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Karon Resort Phuket
Ranked #19 of 136 Hotels in Karon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed at the Centara as part of our honeymoon. We spent 3 nights in KL and then went on to Bangkok for 2 nights. We had 8 nights at the Centara in a Cabana room.

After reading reviews on here we upgraded our room to a cabana with a private pool and we're so glad we did. The 'Terrace' part of the hotel is a high rise block and doesnt look half as nice as our area.

when we arrive there was sparkling wine, a tropical fruit platter and a chocolate cake with 'happy honeymoon' iced on to it! The room was amazing and the pool was great.

We had a wonderful time at the Centara and would recommend it highly. The only niggle we had was that the housekeeping staff would put our dirty roomservice trays outside on our terrace and they would be left there for sometimes quite a long time. The worst ebing when we had 3 room service trays waiting to be collected after 2 days, they were finally taken after 2 phone calls to complain. The other thing was the pool sun loungers, there just werent enough and we didnt get a sun bed untill our third day there. There are rules at the pool to say that after 30 minutes of not being used the beds would be cleared for other people, this was not enforced and people would leave towels there all day and return 3 or 4 hours later!

The staff were lovely, very friendly and welcoming. We ordered a barbecue on our terrace and whilst we were out they transformed our terrace with a huge barbecue, laid table, chairs, loads of salad, breads, a side table full of dips, oils, seasoning and dressings. Later on they brought the fresh food, we had 2 rock lobster, 2 blue crab, 6 huge prawns, cockles, mussels, clams, tuna steak and sword fish steak. It was amazing and with the best meal we had all holiday. They even brought us a spotlight to make cooking easier. It was very romantic and a wonderful idea, the whole thing cost £20 for the both of us!!

In the Cabanas you get the option of having breakfast brought to the room for no extra charge, we used this quite oftern as the breakfast buffet was quite busy and hot. the breakfast menu was nicer on the room service menu too.You also get complimentary cocktails and canapes brought to your room between 5 and 7pm.

The buffet breakfast was very nice though, good quality, large selection and good service. We normally went around 8.30am and found no queues btu we did see people queuing about 10am.

The one big disappointment of our stay was not being able to swim in the sea. We much prefer the beach to the pool but didnt go as it was too rough to swim.

Apart from the few small niggles we loved it here, we had a wonderful honeymoon and would recommend the centara. however I have noticed that people staying at the terraces have felt differently.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizzAnnHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,393 - 3,397 of 4,004 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2009

nobody helped us at the reception, the room we reserved was not availablethey, so the room they gave us was very dirty it had like a blood over the courtains. the room was not the best for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reha00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

My husband and I stayed with friends at the Centara Karon Resort for 8 nights as part of a two centre break in May 2009.
On arrival we were both upgraded to a Lagoon Poolside rooms. This proved to be great as we could just open patio doors and virtually walk straight into the pool, just one of the three pools available at the hotel. The room was large and airy, spotlessly clean and was cleaned daily. The gardens were lovely as were mix of bars and restaurants. We did not have one bad meal. The buffet breakfast was amazing, so much variety for all tastes and nationalities and the food was very fresh. ALL the staff were so very gracious and nice with great sense of humour, and this really did apply to all the staff, and the waiters and waitresses always seemed to remember what we preferred to drink. We could not find any fault at all with this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it.
The hotel is really lovely, in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the beach.
A must on the beach is a Thai Massage - £6.00 for an hour. Both my husband and I had one - lovely!
As for the restaurants in Karon Town, there are many good ones to choose from.
Would I go back to same hotel - WITHOUT A DOUBT, and I really hope I will have the opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HFP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

If you've booked a holiday to the Centara Karon Resort Hotel and are now looking at Trip Advisor, you're probably wondering why it shows it as a 3 star Hotel, but the Hotel website claims it to be a 4 Star Hotel. Well. having just spent 12 days at this hotel, rest assured, you won't be disappointed.

The Hotel is an oasis of landscaped gardens set back from the main road through Karon Town. The grounds are beautifully maintained and are home to frogs, lizards and birds - nothing to be scared of though as I'm sure they are all harmless. The town of Karon is typically Thai, with a plethora of bars, restaurants, massage parlours and tailors all vying for your custom. The hotel is way more upmarket than the surrounding town, but that's just Thailand for you.

I was holidaying with my wife and two grown-up off-spring, and had booked 2 Tropicale rooms through Gold Medal Travel. I booked the airport transfers via the hotel as this saved a bit of cash too. The transfer was smooth, and check-in was friendly, welcoming and went without a hitch. We were taken to our rooms in the "golf" buggy, given tons of useful information, and left to our own devices. We had two adjoining rooms which were spacious and comfortable, and despite so many other reviews mentioning hard beds, we found them absolutely fine. Our room had an enormous king-size bed, and my off-spring had a large double each in their room.

As other correspondents have reported, there are 3 main pool areas in the hotel. We stuck to the Tropix pool which was quieter - it had fewer kiddie attractions and therefore attracted more adults and couples. The pool is lovely, but the sun loungers desperately need replaced as most if not all can surprise you by giving way when you sit on them. (My off-spring accused me of breaking them all, but honestly, they were like that before I sat on them!). There's also a shortage of staff to wander round the pool taking refreshment orders - this could simply be due to our visit being in low season, but is was a pain to have to walk or swim up to the bar to order a drink.

Most lunchtimes we ate in the Azure Restaurant by the Lagoon Pool. The lunches were the best meals we ate on holiday - a great choice of light, tasty and beautifully presented meals.

As my son has a serious nut allergy, we were wary of eating at restaurants where the menu's weren't clear or the staff struggled with English. We did try "The Two Chefs" but were seriously unimpressed. The "Bamboo Kitchen" was far better and is worth a try.

Back at the hotel, the main Lotus Restaurant serves up a fine breakfast and the dinner menu is extensive, with some great meals, but also some mediocre ones. Ordering drinks was a bit of a hit and miss affair - our G&T's one night were as flat as pancakes, and on another occasion, the wine arrived after we had finished eating.

Another reviewer mentioned the fact that Happy Hours are staggered across various bars at the hotel. In effect, you can enjoy happy hour between 4pm and 11pm, with an hours gap between 9 and 10 to grab something to eat - a great way to work your way through the entire cocktail menu!

At the end of each night we enjoyed a drink in the Mix Bar - cool and tranquil, with no pesky mosquitoes nibbling at your ankles. The staff in the Mix were truly brilliant and made us feel very welcome.

Our visit also coincided with the Hotels Baht Bonanza promotion. By lodging a sum on your room account, say 20,000 Baht, your account was credited with an additional 12,000 Baht. I guess this is a low season promotion and might not be applicable to everyone. Between the Happy Hour ruse and the Baht Bonanza, we had a tremendous holiday that was great value for money.

And is it 3 or 4 star? I would say that the facilities are 4 star, and the service varies between 3 and 4 star. Highly recommended and if life wasn't so short, I would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SnoopD4ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Stayed at the Centara Karon Resort from June 6th to June 21st 2009, all I can say is I read the reviews here on trip advisor before we booked and took a lot of what people said as good advice and a big thank you to you all, as your reviews were spot on.

The Hotel & resort are absolutely bang on for the money, this was our first trip to Thailand and booked the Centara resort as a B&B package, we opted for the CABANA, YES the CABANA, its a must if you stay here as the cost quite simply for traveling that far is minimal. The CABANA it self was modern, spacious and the plunge pool you get in your garden is a blessing having spent hours on the beach.

They do have a habit of upgrading you as you arrive and then moving you back to your original booked accomodation, myself and my wife had a nice suprise with three days in the penthouse cabana before we moved to our one bed cabana.

With a cabana booking you get free complimentary cocktails every night worth £4 each based on the hotel price, they also do some great special offers limited to cabana guests, fruit bowl on arrival, discounted meals, spa treatments, they will even send a chef round to do a BBQ for you, how cool!!!

The rest of the hotel is as other reviews stated nice pools, lovely manicured gardens, pool bars and a few different restaurants. I agree with other reviews its not a 4 star resort, more like a 3.5 really, they were doing a few upgrades around the place when we were there, no inconvenience caused either? The staff are really friendly as all people in Thai resorts and will try to do anything for you.

We ate at the hotel a couple of times, it is more expensive than in Karon centre, but you would expect that anywhere, the quality of the food is quite high, breakfast is a buffet affair with everything from Asian to European tastes, the fried eggs are fab and they also have a guy making fresh pancakes. It does get quite busy between 8.30am to 9.30am, although breakfast does run from 6.30am to 11am, or just have it in your room. The Thai evening (Thursday night) is a must, and a Steak on the Terrace restaurant (Tuesday night) was the best steak I've ever had.

You can also go round the hotel bars from 6pm to 10pm, picking up all the different happy hours, from the pool to the Mix bar to the lobby, if you time it right you save a fortune?

We stayed in June which is supposed to be the Monsoon season or low season, let me just say we had one day when it p***ed it down all day, the other 13 days were glorious with a fantastic light breeze, although humidity and heat were still +87 during the day and +80 at night.

Karon itself is typical Phuket, you'll be asked if you want a suit, massage or a Tuk-tuk about 1000 times before you leave, best thing to do is have a little banter with the locals, they'll soon get to know you and back off, the beach at Karon is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, its a fab beach, great for a tan. However please be aware that the tidal current can be dangerous during the low season so take the advice of any locals or local notices.

We hooked up with a sunbed guy directly opposite the traffic island as you cross the main road to the beach, his beds are marked ARM or XXAXX. This guy did everything for us during our stay, he got us beers food, gave advice on sea conditions, took photo's of us and moved our beds when needed. All this for 200 BHT for the Sunbeds and umbrella's 90 BHT a beer and 80 BHT for various lunchtime food offerings, Thai Chicken with rice or Phad Thai were my favourites.

Karon at night is a mix of bars, seafood/Thai & European restaurants, massage parlors & shops, our favourite restaurants were RED ONION and THE BAMBOO, both situated about 2 min walk from the hotel, go left and left again by the pancake street seller (you must try those too at 30 BHT) the food is cheap and of fantastic quality at both, and I never spent over 800 BHT at both for myself and my wife, that included drinks?

There are a few good trips to take, white water rafting and elephant trekking are a must, Phi Phi island where the film The Beach was shot and Phananga bay where they filmed James Bond - Goldfinger its best if you barter with one tour company like SIM'S or SIMBA as they will do a buy 2 get third trip free deal.

Would I go again, absolutely loved every minute of it..........:-)

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 4550Deve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Karon hotels
1.1 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Phuket
0.6 km away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,204 reviews
0.4 km away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket
1.2 km away
Hilton Phuket Arcadia Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Karon Resort Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Karon Resort Phuket

Address: 502/3 Patak Road | Karon Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Central Karon Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Karon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Karon
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Karon
#10 Spa Hotel in Karon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Karon
#12 Family Hotel in Karon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Karon
#18 Romantic Hotel in Karon
Price Range: €41 - €226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centara Karon Resort Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Karon Town, with an abundance of eateries and entertainment options at its doorstep and Karon Beach a short stroll away, the resort is perfectly located to experience the many facets of Phuket. As a destination in its own right, Centara Karon Resort Phuket fulfils every holiday aspiration, from pure bliss at Spa Cenvaree to active holidays and family fun with activities galore, yoga sessions, three swimming pools, waterslides and a kids’ club. This four-star resort, laid out within beautiful gardens backed by green hills, is comprised of four very distinctive residential zones. Couples and small families will find the rooms and Honeymoon Suites at the Terraces a comfortable retreat, and enjoy the option of ocean view or a private outdoor Jacuzzi; while families and groups of friends are spoilt for choice with spacious guestrooms set moments away from the waterslide and games of the Lagoon pool. The generously-sized one- and two-bedroom Cabanas feature a private terrace with a plunge Jacuzzi. As a fun place for families, the resort has a kids’ club with daily activities and three expansive swimming pool areas complete with three children’s pools for the younger ones to splash in, two waterslides and pool games. Pool parties are held regularly, and other activities include tennis and football. The resort also has two restaurants, a sports bar, and three swim-up pool bars A scheduled shuttle service takes guests from the resort to Patong, and Phuket International Airport is reached in less than one hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Karon Resort Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Karon Resort Phuket Hotel Karon
Centara Karon Hotel Phuket
Centara Hotel Karon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing